We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be sure to pay that little extra for the water views!”
Review of The Westin Seattle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Seattle
Ranked #46 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
763 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 432 helpful votes
“Be sure to pay that little extra for the water views!”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We'd left our cruise ship after 42 days cruising from Sydney to Seattle so decided to extend our "splurge" experience and pay for a room with water views. And we were SO glad we did! I'm an SPG member anyway but, even so, the management at check-in excelled themselves. We were given a room on the 38th floor (of 40) in the South Tower and it had "drop-dead gorgeous" views of the whole of Puget Sound (if you ignored a certain "rear window" effect at night looking at an apartment block directly below us). The two queen beds oozed comfort, but the clothes drawer space was surprisingly limited (three small drawers immediately below the very capacious in-room safe), and the overhead lights didn't encourage reading other than at the executive-style desk. The toiletries were adequate (aloe vera soap in the shape of a large leaf, shampoo, conditioner and moisturizer in those little round plastic bottles) and the supply of coat hangers more than ample for our 4-night stay. I thought that $22.50 for an American breakfast was OK until I read that there would also be a $4.50 delivery fee and the usual 18% gratuity which brought the likely total cost up to $29.00. I opted instead for the take-away granola and yoghurt at the nifty little "to go" shop in the lobby ($6.50) and serve-yourself house decaf ($2.50). Nine dollars was far more satisfying than $29.00! But the hotel is well located, the staff highly personable and well-trained, and the experience overall a cut above the average for an SPG property, even if the buildings were erected some decades ago.

Room Tip: I recommend South building, Room #3952: you won't be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mccorquinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    843
    943
    375
    114
    59
See reviews for
533
610
70
827
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (696)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Silicon Valley
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

This is the biggest hotel in Seattle and close to everything. It is made up of two cylindrical towers with every room facing out, which is great. I had one of the newly remodeled rooms which was very well apportioned with a nice desk facing out. It looked at the other tower which wasn't the best view but being cylindrical you have nice views past the other tower on both sides. The lobby is huge with lots of space to relax and a friendly bar. The fitness room and pool are great. While I prefer small boutique hotels, this is a very good business hotel choice.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Staten7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

I stayed a week at the Westin Seattle for a conference

Good situation for Washington State Convention Center

Better than average burger restaurant on site. Decent bar and gym

The Westin Seattle is a good hotel but it is a borderline 3/4 stars. Although everything was good for our stay, the Westin Seattle is close to being outdated. The rooms are in need of an upgrade, looking dated now

Positives are situation, location everything in easy reach of downtown Seattle and the convention center

Hotel needs an upgrade but I give it the benefit of the doubt for now

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Garage parking fees are a big rip-off when parking is available. There was a special event during my stay and the regular parking garage was closed and I was forced to use valet. I was charged for Wi-Fi which should be included for the price of the room. At check out I was informed I had a lounge bar bill but I had never used their bar. I was told it would be removed but on receipt of my invoice via email the charge remained. I am contesting this bar bill as I had never used their bar or lounge. Why was I told it would be removed then still charged? Had I known this would happen I would have asked to see the actual bar bill with my signature. I will not stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank k7acz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyGuestServices, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Seattle, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you for sharing feedback from your recent visit. We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. Please contact me at ashley.mcfarland@westin.com to provide further details.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

Would give this 5 stars except $450 for one night is insane! $46 for valet? Crazy! Staff was super nice, bed is SPG super comfortable of course. Paid Wi-Fi? In $400 room? Incredible views and great location. TV is flat LCD with tons of HD channels do that is a plus. Two restaurants to choose from for room service. See my pictures for more. I'm a huge hotel nut, really picky and I would day this is a 4 star hotel overall.

Hope if you're visiting or staying local this helps you.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank jasonstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014

stayed here for a conference. The bedroom was big and clean and we had a great view from 47th floor. Staff were very helpful and attentive. I felt the hotel was tired and dated.
Our room had interconnecting doors on both sides, which were so poorly insulated that we could hear the people talking in the rooms next to us (as well as baby crying in the midle of the night.)
The conference rooms were extremely variable in temperature. One was freezing (even the guys were bringing jackets to wear!), another was too hot and stuffy...
Great location, but not sure its worth the money, especially as no breakfast included in price.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenBNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014

We were in Seattle on vacation and arrived April 2014. We stayed on the 37th floor in a deluxe king view with a breathtaking city view, it was heavenly! The location was perfect, monorail to the Space Needle right outside, a 10 minute walk to Pike Place Market and the Great Wheel. Can't say enough good things about this hotel. The only downside was the hotel restaurant which was a Relish, I would have expected a much better restaurant with a better menu at such a lovely hotel. I would recommend this hotel to anyone for the views, for the comfy and spotless rooms, the comfy beds and the great location for tourists! Well done Westin!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jilly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyGuestServices, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Seattle, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you very much for your fantastic review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the views and location of our hotel. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Sheraton Seattle Hotel
#37 of 101 in Seattle
4,155 reviews
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 101 in Seattle
3,022 reviews
Hyatt At Olive 8
#9 of 101 in Seattle
2,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belltown
Seattle Marriott Waterfront
Belltown
Hotel Andra
Hotel Andra
#10 of 101 in Seattle
2,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Seattle

Property: The Westin Seattle
Address: 1900 5th Ave., Seattle, WA 98101-1204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Belltown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Seattle
#22 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#41 Business Hotel in Seattle
#42 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#48 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Seattle 4*
Number of rooms: 891
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Downtown Seattle Hotel is the front door to shopping, dining and the vibrant downtown Seattle experience. Leave the car at home and walk to the Space Needle, Pike Place Market, the Great Wheel, the Aquarium and more all within just blocks of our hotel! Take the light rail to and from the airport for just $3 each way. Our brand is truly focused on healthy living while on the road. We feature our 10 layer signature Heavenly Beds for the most comfortable night's sleep. Our RunWestin program takes guests on a guided 3 mile run every Tuesday and Wednesday morning through Seattle's best attractions. With Gear Lending, no need to pack your gym gear, for just $5 guests can borrow fresh New Balance clothing and shoes including brand new socks that are yours to keep! Enjoy our fitness center, indoor pool, and outdoor pool deck. Grab a smoothie or fresh juice at our barista stand, or stay for lunch or dinner at our Relish Burger Bistro serving salads, burgers, and fresh, locally sourced cuisine. For families our Westin Family program provides kids with an interactive journal to document their visit to Seattle with fun games and coloring activities. And don't leave your pet at home! Pets stay free with us as we know they're just like family and our guests can even request a heavenly dog bed and dog food and water bowls at check in. Come enjoy Seattle and take comfort in knowing our staff values you like family. Explore our freshly renovated meeting and event space for your next event or head out for a night on the town with so much to see and door right outside our door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Seattle Hotel Seattle
Westin Seattle
The Westin Hotel Seattle Wa
Seattle Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing