We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of The Westin Seattle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Seattle
Ranked #43 of 103 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed February 4, 2014

The hotel was in a great location in downtown Seattle. It is an easy walk to the harbor and shopping. The staff was extremely friendly/helpful and the late checkout was a real bonus for me. I loved the room. The bed was comfortable and breakfast came exactly when I requested it - which was great because the kitchen had only opened 15 minutes before so the desk clerk had warned me when I ordered the night before that I might not get it on time. They made it happen. The only negative for me is that I find the lobbies of W hotels impossibly dark and impossibly noisy for check in etc. Once I was in my room all w

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank segmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyGuestServices, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Seattle, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Thank you very much for the excellent review. We are thrilled that you found The Westin Seattle to have an ideal location, exceptional service and a comfortable sleep with our heavenly bed. We apologize about the noise upon check in and will pass your comments to our staff regarding the dim lighting. We really appreciate the feedback as we are always looking to meet the needs of our guests. We hope you will stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,641)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,138 - 2,144 of 2,642 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2014

Perfect location to my favorite store...Nordstrom as well as the space needle. Great walking distance down to the fish market and some nice restaurants. This location is also great access to getting on the highway and out of the city as I had to every morning to meet a client. I prefer Westin and although it was quite hectic due to a young teenager conference it was still enjoyable with the floor to ceiling windows. The elevator can be somewhat of a wait/issue, so just add in some time for that.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelife22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Our room had a great view of the Space Needle and the water. The room was clean and quite. The was a cheaper parking lot right next to the hotel that had a skyway bridge into the hotel. The fee was $25 a night.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rungirl74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We spent 3 nights at this hotel. It is centrally located, has friendly staff and less expensive parking right next door. ($25) Our room had a beautiful view of the sound and our request for a room away from the ice machine was well-founded and thankfully met. The one on our floor was broken, but the one on the floor below was very noisy.

My only concern is that the bed was overly soft and to make matters worse, instead of using a fitted bottom sheet, a too small top sheet was used. This meant that the sleeping surface was not smooth and added to the uncomfortable sleep.

The $7 charge to put something into the fridge was a ridiculous money grab.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevator and far from the ice machine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kaalvictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyGuestServices, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Seattle, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Thank you very much for sharing your stay with us and the TripAdvisor Community. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our central location, friendly staff and beautiful views. We apologize that you experienced an uncomfortable sleep. If possible, I would like to discuss this with you further to ensure that we fix the issues with that particular bed to avoid the same complaint in the future. As we actively seek to improve our service, we hope you will consider staying with us again in the near future. Thank you again for taking the time to review The Westin Seattle.

Ashley McFarland
ashley.mcfarland@westin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

The Westin is conveniently located in downtown Seattle, walking distance to attractions like Pike Place Market. So if you're traveling by car, this is great.

As a business traveler, it's a rough start. The Westin is not close to Sea-Tac Airport (no FREE shuttle for individuals), so I took a cab (almost $50). It took nearly 30 minutes to get to the Westin.

However, once there, you are greeted by a plush, modern hotel. The first thing I noticed were quotations on the carpet that encouraged wellness. It gave a positive vibe. Check in was a breeze, and the receptionist was friendly and helpful. The Westin is a two-tower structure, each over 30 floors. Fortunately, the receptionist's directions were clear. Elevator was nearby, and I was in my room in minutes.

Upon entering the room, I was comforted by the expansive size of the room. When I looked out the window, I could see the Space Needle and the Puget Sound. It was a nice view.

For each day that you don't request housekeeping service (e.g. towels, sheets, etc.) you receive a $5 food voucher. So, after 3 nights, I earned $15 which I used for the yummy "All you can eat" buffet, which was $20.

Here's the negative. And we were forewarned by a note on the table. Since the towers were constructed to withstand earthquakes, whenever a strong wind hits the building, it creates an eerie, disturbing noise. It woke me up several times during the night.

However, the strengths of the Westin overshadow the weakness. This is a perfect location for business travelers; families may enjoy it, too. (e.g. Swimming facilities and nearness to downtown Seattle). But it is geared for businesses -- my 3-day conference took place in a huge meeting room. Catering was excellent and tasty (I enjoyed the clam chowder, but there were many healthy options).

Returning to the airport, I reserved a shuttle online, which made the return much easier. (And, it was half the price of a cab).

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SageTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel a year or so ago and picked it again due to it's location to several attractions we wanted to spend some time visiting. It is easy walking distance to either the Space Needle, Pike Place market or the south side of town. It is actually fairly central. We were lucky to have a good weekend with no rain so walking was perfect. We had a double room (wanted a king room but as I had booked the wrong Westin, they didn't have any available due to the busy football playoff weekend). The front desk was very nice and accommodated us as best they could which was a City View (not great) on the 36th floor (nice). The rooms are OK size, however the bathroom is really so tiny. When you open the door to the bathroom, it almost hits the toilet . Only room for one person at a time in that bathroom!

Overall, the beds are very comfortable which is why we pick the Westin brand.

Had drinks at the lobby bar which were good. Very nice service there too. However we did not eat at the restaurant in the lobby due to our prior visit a year ago when the food was not great and the service was so slow. I understand they may have updated the lobby restaurant and hopefully the food too. Maybe next time.....

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DNAZ_SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyGuestServices, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Seattle, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

We are glad to hear that you found our location very central and in walking distance to many of your favorite activities. We are also very pleased that you received great service in our lobby bar. Our staff is here to ensure you enjoy every moment of your stay with us. We understand the importance of friendly and attentive service, and we want our guests to experience nothing short of that. We hope that during your next visit you will get a chance to try Relish Burger Bistro, our new restaurant. We can assure you the food and the service will not disappoint. Thank you again for your feedback. We hope to have you join us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

I have stayed here twice and I am going back in June 2011 &2012 The hotel is wonderful I found the staff also very good and helpful. The only problem I have was charge for internet. They is no reason they should charge for this. There is a great place to shop across the street. It has everything. You are very close to everything and that is why I am coming back. Please drop the internet charge. I did not stay here in July 2013 but I wanted my review to go through

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maryglynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyGuestServices, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Seattle, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Thank you very much for your excellent rating and review! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I do understand your feedback on the lack of complimentary internet access. As it is a Westin brand standard to charge for internet, we do have to maintain that fee for now. But, I want to thank you for your feedback as it is a way we can pinpoint where we can improve. I am happy to hear that you found our staff to be very helpful and friendly. We hope that as we seek to improve our service you will still choose to stay with us in the future. Thanks again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Sheraton Seattle Hotel
#32 of 103 in Seattle
4,558 reviews
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 103 in Seattle
3,175 reviews
Belltown
Seattle Marriott Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt At Olive 8
#10 of 103 in Seattle
2,478 reviews
Belltown
Warwick Seattle
Warwick Seattle
#45 of 103 in Seattle
1,942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Seattle

Address: 1900 5th Ave., Seattle, WA 98101-1204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Belltown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Seattle
#22 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#41 Business Hotel in Seattle
#42 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#48 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: $178 - $500 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Seattle 4*
Number of rooms: 891
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Downtown Seattle Hotel is the front door to shopping, dining and the vibrant downtown Seattle experience. Leave the car at home and walk to the Space Needle, Pike Place Market, the Great Wheel, the Aquarium and more all within just blocks of our hotel! Take the light rail to and from the airport for just $3 each way. Our brand is truly focused on healthy living while on the road. We feature our 10 layer signature Heavenly Beds for the most comfortable night's sleep. Our RunWestin program takes guests on a guided 3 mile run every Tuesday and Wednesday morning through Seattle's best attractions. With Gear Lending, no need to pack your gym gear, for just $5 guests can borrow fresh New Balance clothing and shoes including brand new socks that are yours to keep! Enjoy our fitness center, indoor pool, and outdoor pool deck. Grab a smoothie or fresh juice at our barista stand, or stay for lunch or dinner at our Relish Burger Bistro serving salads, burgers, and fresh, locally sourced cuisine. For families our Westin Family program provides kids with an interactive journal to document their visit to Seattle with fun games and coloring activities. And don't leave your pet at home! Pets stay free with us as we know they're just like family and our guests can even request a heavenly dog bed and dog food and water bowls at check in. Come enjoy Seattle and take comfort in knowing our staff values you like family. Explore our freshly renovated meeting and event space for your next event or head out for a night on the town with so much to see and door right outside our door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Seattle Hotel Seattle
Westin Seattle
The Westin Hotel Seattle Wa
Seattle Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing