We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent view, staff, and hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Seattle

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Westin Seattle
Ranked #52 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
GreenLeadersGold level
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent view, staff, and hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

This is the second time I've stayed at this property. Its very big -- but the staff are still attentive. We stayed on the 43rd floor and the views were amazing .. we skipped the Space Needle since we felt like we were staying at the same height. Its a great location - very walkable to Pikes Place Market and Lake Union.

Room Tip: A room with a view of the water and the space needle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew_and_Kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsMgrTWS, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Seattle, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for your review and high rating! We appreciate you returning to our hotel and that our staff was attentive to your needs. In addition to views of the Space Needle, we have amazing city views of downtown Seattle with festive holiday lights through December. Please come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    521
    674
    269
    86
    41
See reviews for
355
434
55
502
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (542)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We checked in quickly and were very pleasant. Hotel looks a little dated, but was clean lobby wise. They gave us a room on the 47th floor (top) of the north tower. When we arrived in the room we started unpacking a few things and noticed the trash can had not been emptied. Also there was a used hand town lying on the bathroom counter. Also the soap dish was filthy. Then after a closer inspection the room (4737) air vents were nearly clogged with filth. I called down to the front desk and they did offer to move me to another room, but was late and exhausted so she offered breakfast vouchers to be sent up. Well we waited for an hour before getting ready for bed. The next morning we called and the agent had the vouchers ready. And on that note the Relish breakfast was good but it was 21.00 a person and the vouchers we received were 20.00, kind of funny. Valet was pricey so we parked in garage right next to the hotel, which has a sky bridge into the Westin but not affiliated to the Westin for 25.00 a night, Westin wanted 45.00 a day for valet.
Avis has a location right across street from hotel, so we took a taxi to hotel and back to the airport.
Probably would not stay here again until a remodel. I am usually a huge fan of Westin.

Room Tip: North Tower was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ndalsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsMgrTWS, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Seattle, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for your review and contacting us directly. We apologize for falling short in room cleanliness and timely follow through with the breakfast vouchers. We will review our pricing to ensure guest satisfaction. All our guestrooms were renovated last year and we opened Relish Burger Bistro earlier this year. We will be following up with you shortly. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Views from the 37th floor were a highlight. A great location on 5th Ave, close to Pike Place Market, Nortdstrom, Westlake Centre, Seattle Centre.
The room was not cleaned properly when we arrived (long hair on the shower walls) but was attended to it pretty quickly when requested.
'Service express' was not express, several times had requested things which either took 30 minutes or so, or didn't arrive at all. A nice hotel, but less than expected for the money.
The indoor pool was too cold to enjoy.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsMgrTWS, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Seattle, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad to learn you enjoyed the view from your room and want to apologize we fell short in room cleanliness and deliveries from Service Express were delayed or not completed. Your comments will be shared with our teams so we may make improvements. Thank you again and we hope to be of service in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed in a room with double beds on the 39th floor overlooking the Space Needle and view of the water. The room was clean and modern. The staff made us feel welcome from the time we arrived at the front drive of the hotel. The hotel elevator would probably need renovations and the mini-fridge was old too. Overall, the stay was excellent.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyVacati0nTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsMgrTWS, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Seattle, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us with a few exceptions. Please come visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
107 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

You can't beat the location of this downtown Seattle location. You can walk to the Space Needle, a couple blocks to the Light Rail and a great mall....I mean really this place is in the center of much.
You pay for that...and the fact that it is a Westin.
But that is where I had a problem...being a Westin I expected a nice clean room, and it wasn't. Our room (with a great view of the city and super comfy beds and linens) felt like it needed to be cleaned; from the hair on the floor to the bits of trash on the floor...felt a bit dirty.
The indoor pool definitely needed to be kept warmer as well...too chilly and too chlorinated!!
I was quite pleased with the workout rooms, yes a cardio room and a weight room, nice set of equipment and choices there.
Service was friendly and did I mention the view- spectacular from our room!
I liked the upscale feel of the lobby and decor, but the room didn't quite match that.
Again, nice location, very good sleep, just needs some cleaning and warming of the pool.
And oh, don't touch the stuff in their mini-fridge filled with mega priced candy and drinks- it'll set their triggers off and you'll see it on your bill; which they'll take off when you tell them you were just looking, but didn't take.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovetotravel001_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsMgrTWS, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Seattle, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you found us conveniently located to shopping, local attractions and transportation. We apologize for the condition of your room and want to assure you this is not the norm. Our maintenance team has been alerted to check the pool temperature and will make any necessary adjustments. There is a tag on refreshment centers alerting our guests of the sensors. Again, our apology if it was missing in your room. Thank you again for your review and we hope to be of service on your next trip to Seattle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakima, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

I stayed here for business purposes, and was let down. Although the location is fantastic and you're within walking distance to pretty much everything, the hotel itself needs to be updated. If you're expecting a microwave and a mini-fridge, you'll be disappointed. They do offer mini-fridges if you ask, but they'll run out quickly if it's a busy time of theirs. Also, don't eat in their restaurant, it's overpriced. You're better off walking to the westlake center and going to the food court. All in all it was a decent stay, but I wouldn't recommend it.

Room Tip: Try to get a room not facing the other tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scarlet1798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsMgrTWS, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Seattle, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are disappointed we did not meet your expectations. Our guestroom renovation was completed last year and we opened our full service restaurant Relish Burger Bistro this year. There is a wide variety of restaurants with different price points to choose from in the downtown area. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

We used spg points to upgrade to suite on 45th floor. Amazing view..so much so we questioned whether or not to even go up in space needle. Actually it was hard to get hubby or teenage daughters to leave room...wanted to just sit in chairs at window, gaze at view of water and city below and chill. Dining room plus kitchen area along with 2 bedrooms...super spacious and luxurious.

Breakfast buffet amazing $19 each person..thick bacon, fresh beautiful fruits, lots of choices and a chef making eggs to order. Wait staff so friendly and accomodating.

Location great..one block down take right lots of upscale stores..drugstore right beside hotel, easy walk to Pikes market and aquarium. Ate at Italian restaurant behind hotel expensive but good.

If we would have flown into Seattle we would not have rented car..no need once at hotel..even space needle, chihuly gardens and museums easily reached by monorail that you board 1 block from front door of hotel.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank sh51287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Sheraton Seattle Hotel
#41 of 101 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 stars 3,107 reviews
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#7 of 101 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 stars 2,377 reviews
Hyatt At Olive 8
#13 of 101 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 stars 1,933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belltown
Hotel Andra
Hotel Andra
#10 of 101 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 stars 1,860 reviews
Belltown
Seattle Marriott Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Seattle

Property: The Westin Seattle
Address: 1900 5th Ave., Seattle, WA 98101-1204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Belltown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Seattle
#23 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#41 Business Hotel in Seattle
#42 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#48 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Seattle 4*
Number of rooms: 891
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Downtown Seattle Hotel is the front door to shopping, dining and the vibrant downtown Seattle experience. Leave the car at home and walk to the Space Needle, Pike Place Market, the Great Wheel, the Aquarium and more all within just blocks of our hotel! Take the light rail to and from the airport for just $3 each way. Our brand is truly focused on healthy living while on the road. We feature our 10 layer signature Heavenly Beds for the most comfortable night's sleep. Our RunWestin program takes guests on a guided 3 mile run every Tuesday and Wednesday morning through Seattle's best attractions. With Gear Lending, no need to pack your gym gear, for just $5 guests can borrow fresh New Balance clothing and shoes including brand new socks that are yours to keep! Enjoy our fitness center, indoor pool, and outdoor pool deck. Grab a smoothie or fresh juice at our barista stand, or stay for lunch or dinner at our Relish Burger Bistro serving salads, burgers, and fresh, locally sourced cuisine. For families our Westin Family program provides kids with an interactive journal to document their visit to Seattle with fun games and coloring activities. And don't leave your pet at home! Pets stay free with us as we know they're just like family and our guests can even request a heavenly dog bed and dog food and water bowls at check in. Come enjoy Seattle and take comfort in knowing our staff values you like family. Explore our freshly renovated meeting and event space for your next event or head out for a night on the town with so much to see and door right outside our door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Seattle Hotel Seattle
Westin Seattle
The Westin Hotel Seattle Wa
Seattle Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing