We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, nice view, a bit swaying when windy”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Westin Seattle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Seattle
Ranked #47 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
GreenLeadersGold level
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great location, nice view, a bit swaying when windy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Great location in downtown Seattle with many attractions (Pike Place Market, Space Needle, etc) within walking distance. When windy, the towers sway and creek a bit, but I guess that is to make them earthquake proof.

Housekeeping forgot to refill shampoo/soap during my weeklong stay, so I had to leave a note reminding them that I had run out of shampoo. At checkin I mentioned this to the receptionist, and she promptly compensated with an additional 500 Starwood points. (Thanks :) )

Internet speeds vary a bit; at some times it was a bit slow. (Something that plagues most hotels I guess).

All-in-all, a good stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristofer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,056 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    732
    835
    339
    99
    51
See reviews for
460
535
63
722
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (645)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

My husband is here for a week long conference and I'm tagging along with our 3 month old. We are 3 days into our 7 day stay. The good: absolutely everyone we've contacted at the hotel has been kind and accommodating. Also the room is clean and the bed is comfy. The view from our 30th floor window is beautiful! The bad: there is no closet space or drawer space for people staying here for a week, our room is super messy already due to lack of appropriate storage. The television channels are all fuzzy and the room service menu is posted on the TV, so while I normally eat quite a few meals in my room when I travel, I can't do that here because I can't see the menu. If there is supposed to be a hotel services guide in the room somewhere, I don't see it. Finally, the only place to get a meal in the hotel is a burger joint. That was fine on the first day, but I don't want to do that every day! I think this room would be fine for someone spending a night or two, but it is uncomfortable for a week. Hence my rating.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Elh4572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsMgrTWS, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Seattle, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our service and room; however, we apologize for the inconveniences you experienced. Our Service Express team is happy to deliver a hard copy of the in-room dining menu to you upon request and the concierges can assist with providing information on nearby restaurants. We do have a Visit Seattle guide in our rooms and apologize if it was missing. Please don’t hesitate to contact us with any questions during your visit. Thank you again and we hope to have another opportunity to be of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

We traveled to Seattle for a concert and picked the Westin primarily for its central location very close to the Pikes Place Market and other attractions in downtown. What a great choice this hotel turned out to be though - very luxurious and well appointed rooms, great staff and service but what really made this a standout and a "definite return" was the view we had. Our room had a fantastic view of the harbour / waterfront which was spectacular day and night. The restaurant and room service at the hotel was superb also which made taking advantage of the view all the more pleasurable. We'll be looking for excuses to return!!!

Room Tip: Choose the harbour view as high as possible for best view
See more room tips
Green Features: Can't really comment here - seemed very good though with options to forego room make up, replacement of towels etc
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Intrepidtravellersx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsMgrTWS, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Seattle, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for your review and rating. Downtown Seattle is beautiful during the holidays with festive sights and sounds. Please check our website for special offers at the end of this month. Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

This is your typical downtown convention hotel, no surprises here. Our room was nice, spacious bathroom and nice view. The reason for the average rating was it was what I expected it to be, nothing more, nothing less, predictable, but sometimes being boring and predictable is a good thing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gogogal55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsMgrTWS, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Seattle, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for your review. We look forward to exceeding your expectations on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

We were definitely spoiled at this hotel! From the rooms, to the bedding, the toiletries, the TV channels, and the service, there was nothing bad about this place. It's also in a central and ideal location for walking around and touring the city!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Bugger345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsMgrTWS, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Seattle, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are so glad to learn you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your return. Please visit our website for holiday specials coming next month.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Legnano MI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Great location for an hotel that seems like many other, comfortable, clean, good service. Rooms clean and wide. Location is fantastic, couple of minute walking from pike market and the city center.
Used to get out for diner and lunch so I'm not able to judge restaurant and dining in general.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gianlucagravina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsMgrTWS, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Seattle, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your kind comments and look forward to your return. Perhaps you will have an opportunity to dine in Relish next time. In addition to full service dining, Relish offers a takeout menu as well as grab and go items to accommodate your schedule.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stayed one night here in October 2013. The location is great, close to the main shopping downtown and an easy walk to Pike Place Market. As for the hotel itself, it feels like an older property that has been outfitted with modern furnishings typical of a Westin property. Though some of the oldness still peeks through here and there (like the elevators). Some of the shortcomings I ran into:

- Could not find an available power outlet near the desk in my room.
- The pool is small - too small and shallow to swim laps. Really best suited for family splashing.
- The gym is contained in two rooms - one contains the cardio equipment and has plenty of it. The other is a *tiny* room with freeweights and two cable machines - and is clearly insufficient. This room could not accomodate more than 3 people at a time comfortably.

Overall I would say the property feels more like a Sheraton than being up to Westin standards.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank cooljw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsMgrTWS, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Seattle, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for your review. We agree our location is perfect for downtown shopping and an easy walk to Pike Place Market. We continually work to improve our service and facilities. Last year, our guestrooms were completely renovated and we added new meeting space. This year we opened our new restaurant Relish Burger Bistro. Our apologies you did not easily locate the bank of electrical outlets on the side of the desk in your room and that the fitness center did not meet your needs. Note the bedside lamps also have outlets for your convenience. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to have another opportunity to be of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Sheraton Seattle Hotel
#39 of 100 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,809 reviews
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,842 reviews
Hyatt At Olive 8
#11 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belltown
Seattle Marriott Waterfront
Belltown
Hotel Andra
Hotel Andra
#13 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,996 reviews
W Seattle
#38 of 100 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Seattle

Property: The Westin Seattle
Address: 1900 5th Ave., Seattle, WA 98101-1204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Belltown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Seattle
#23 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#41 Business Hotel in Seattle
#42 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#48 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Seattle 4*
Number of rooms: 891
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Downtown Seattle Hotel is the front door to shopping, dining and the vibrant downtown Seattle experience. Leave the car at home and walk to the Space Needle, Pike Place Market, the Great Wheel, the Aquarium and more all within just blocks of our hotel! Take the light rail to and from the airport for just $3 each way. Our brand is truly focused on healthy living while on the road. We feature our 10 layer signature Heavenly Beds for the most comfortable night's sleep. Our RunWestin program takes guests on a guided 3 mile run every Tuesday and Wednesday morning through Seattle's best attractions. With Gear Lending, no need to pack your gym gear, for just $5 guests can borrow fresh New Balance clothing and shoes including brand new socks that are yours to keep! Enjoy our fitness center, indoor pool, and outdoor pool deck. Grab a smoothie or fresh juice at our barista stand, or stay for lunch or dinner at our Relish Burger Bistro serving salads, burgers, and fresh, locally sourced cuisine. For families our Westin Family program provides kids with an interactive journal to document their visit to Seattle with fun games and coloring activities. And don't leave your pet at home! Pets stay free with us as we know they're just like family and our guests can even request a heavenly dog bed and dog food and water bowls at check in. Come enjoy Seattle and take comfort in knowing our staff values you like family. Explore our freshly renovated meeting and event space for your next event or head out for a night on the town with so much to see and door right outside our door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Seattle Hotel Seattle
Westin Seattle
The Westin Hotel Seattle Wa
Seattle Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing