We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mysterious Room Service”
Review of The Westin Seattle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Seattle
Ranked #42 of 104 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I and my family stayed from August 21to 22 as members of Meitesu-Kanko Panorama Tour. We checked in late on the first day and didn’t know where to eat out, so we decided to order room service. “In-room Dining Menu” told me to dial “Service Express” when necessary, so I pushed the “Service Express” button on the push-button telephone in my guest room. The first person who got it said “I’m sorry I cannot help you with room service.” So I hung up and re-dialed “Service Express,” saying “Where should I call if I need room service?” To my surprise, the second person (different person) who got my call said “I’m at your service, sir.” Why two persons from the same section said different things? Is that because my English pronunciation was too bad? But the delivery was quick and the dishes were extremely good.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank KiwiWays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,775)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,438 - 2,444 of 2,775 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2013

the Westin Seattle is very well located for those who shop within the downtown business core. Every room has a magnificent view (from the 5th floor and higher), I personally enjoy the view towards Bainbridge Island. The Pike Street Market which is a short stroll away is a pleasant way to spend the afternoon, be certain to stop by and watch the flying fish. oh yes, the heavenly towels and robes are very comforting at the Westin. The Westin typically offers shoppers' bargains during the winter months with $100 vouchers at a nearby mall

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renegade225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We love staying at the Westin anywhere as we know the beds will be wonderful. We had a great room on the 34th floor, only downside was it was a room for the disabled which meant food delivery people were ringing the doorbell thing outside our door which scared the crap out of me as I thought our building was on fire as it made the fire alarm thing ring and a light blink - and we were right outside of the ice machine dispenser, which meant we could hear every time somebody collected ice.

Other than all of that, the location was great and we walked everywhere, took the lightrail easily back and forth to the airport.

Room Tip: No disability rooms or rooms near ice machines.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArizonaLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We spent two weekend nights at the Westin using Starpoints. We were "upgraded" to an SPG floor, but didn't notice any unusual perks. If there are any, it would be good for the reception person to let us know so we can appreciate them! The room was spacious, and the bed was great, as usual for the Westin (and Starwood properties in general). The bathroom was tiny but functional and in good condition. It seems that across the board, Starwood hotels do NOT provide free wifi in the rooms, and this hotel is no exception, so we relied on our smartphones, which had good coverage in the room. Be sure to allow plenty of time for the elevators - when it's busy, it can take a long time until one arrives. The hotel is within easy walking distance of lots of restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VickyBee333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I stay at Westins a lot for work so I decided to try one on vacation. It's an older property but decent facilities all around. It just needs a super cleaning crew for a few days. Every light bulb seems to be covered in dust and cobwebs, including the bathrooms. The towels were grey (formerly white) and threadbare. Hotels should change towels every so often and they need to do this here. One of our pillows smelled of....well let's just say we noticed the second we got into bed. I realize that hotel reuse shampoo bottles (which I support to have a smaller carbon footprint), however, when they're covered in dark green gunk, you need to replace them! We used our own btw, but it was gross to see them in the shower and sink. Elevators are slow and about 1/3 of the bulbs in the panel didn't work. The pool area is nice but again, needs a thorough cleaning. All of this would lead me to rate this as a 3 star not a 4. Staff seems like they want to do better but are held back by cheap or neglectful management. Location is as good as it gets though.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Travellerwithakid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed for Blue Jays game and absolutely enjoyed it.

Wi-fi: not complimentary in room, but in lobby

Room: we got higher floor with ocean view! Loved heavenly bed and heavenly shower. Room was large enough for traditional room but comfortable. We found some hair in bathroom, but we didn't care that much.

Restaurant: we did not try a restaurant in hotel, but we tried in room dining. It was ok for late snack but we did not understand they charge 18% service fee, $4.50 delivery fee AND fine print says "these are not tips for employees".... How much are we expected to pay additional? Anyway, we will never order room service, just stop being lazy and go down the restaurant:) breakfast was fantastic though!

Staff: bell mans were very helpful and friendly. Front desk staff needs to be more knowledgeable about what they are going... Housekeeping staff was charming and did great job.

Location: greatest location in Seattle in my opinion. 30 sec walk to west lake centre to get on trains or buses!

Parking: fair price as Westin. If you choose self parking, you have to park in separate building and quite far. Better not drive when you come to seattle.

We will definitely come back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jojo1015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

What a great hotel. Excellent location and great service. Rooms were large with great beds. Only drawback is that there is only one restaurant in the hotel, but since it is located downtown there are tons of restaurants nearby. Great hotel and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Sheraton Seattle Hotel
#33 of 104 in Seattle
4,752 reviews
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 104 in Seattle
3,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belltown
Pan Pacific Seattle
Pan Pacific Seattle
#17 of 104 in Seattle
1,620 reviews
Belltown
Seattle Marriott Waterfront
W Seattle
#31 of 104 in Seattle
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Seattle

Address: 1900 5th Ave., Seattle, WA 98101-1204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Belltown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Seattle
#23 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#33 Family Hotel in Seattle
#41 Business Hotel in Seattle
#42 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: $178 - $539 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Seattle 4*
Number of rooms: 891
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Downtown Seattle Hotel is the front door to shopping, dining and the vibrant downtown Seattle experience. Leave the car at home and walk to the Space Needle, Pike Place Market, the Great Wheel, the Aquarium and more all within just blocks of our hotel! Take the light rail to and from the airport for just $3 each way. Our brand is truly focused on healthy living while on the road. We feature our 10 layer signature Heavenly Beds for the most comfortable night's sleep. Our RunWestin program takes guests on a guided 3 mile run every Tuesday and Wednesday morning through Seattle's best attractions. With Gear Lending, no need to pack your gym gear, for just $5 guests can borrow fresh New Balance clothing and shoes including brand new socks that are yours to keep! Enjoy our fitness center, indoor pool, and outdoor pool deck. Grab a smoothie or fresh juice at our barista stand, or stay for lunch or dinner at our Relish Burger Bistro serving salads, burgers, and fresh, locally sourced cuisine. For families our Westin Family program provides kids with an interactive journal to document their visit to Seattle with fun games and coloring activities. And don't leave your pet at home! Pets stay free with us as we know they're just like family and our guests can even request a heavenly dog bed and dog food and water bowls at check in. Come enjoy Seattle and take comfort in knowing our staff values you like family. Explore our freshly renovated meeting and event space for your next event or head out for a night on the town with so much to see and door right outside our door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Starwood, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Seattle Hotel Seattle
Westin Seattle
The Westin Hotel Seattle Wa
Seattle Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing