We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of The Westin Seattle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Seattle
Ranked #44 of 104 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 20, 2013

What a great hotel. Excellent location and great service. Rooms were large with great beds. Only drawback is that there is only one restaurant in the hotel, but since it is located downtown there are tons of restaurants nearby. Great hotel and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,734)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,404 - 2,410 of 2,734 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2013

I recently spent three nights at the Westin Seattle while attending a conference. All in all, it's a great hotel.

My check-in and check-out were handled very efficiently without any lengthy wait times. And the staff members were very friendly and helpful.

The location made for easy walking to the public market, space needle, upscale and boutique shopping, and many dining choices.

My "deluxe city-view" room was very spacious and had terrific views of the city including the ferris wheel at the market and the comings and goings of the Bainbridge Island ferries. The linens were high quality, the bed was comfortable, and the room was extremely clean. But one of the best parts? The air conditioning was silent. I was able to keep my room very comfortable without the constant cycling that I suffer with at other hotels. The only thing that kept me from a completely restful sleep was the city noise. Even though I was on the 35th floor I could still clearly hear the sirens and horns that come along with city dwelling. The rainfall shower head (saves water) was nice, but I really appreciated the additional handheld unit that had a bit more pressure to quickly rinse my hair.

I took advantage of their "green housekeeping" option. Each night I hung a notice on my doorknob indicating I did not need any housekeeping services the next day. With just one person in the room, there really wasn't a need for anyone to make my bed or tidy my bathroom. In exchange, no one entered my room and I received a coupon worth either $5 at a hotel restaurant or 500 points on my Starwood account.

The 24-hour (thank you) fitness rooom had lots of equipment that was well maintained. My only suggestion there is that they add some fans or decrease the temp a bit. If people are exercising their body temps rise, so we don't need the room to be quite so warm.

The meeting rooms were comfortable - good temperature, padded chairs, good wireless signals. All important when you're sitting through meetings.

Overall experience - great!

Room Tip: The city noise is noticeable, so the higher you go the more removed you are. South tower rooms give...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bookworm426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsMgrTWS, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Seattle, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Thank you for your review and for the many positive details of your stay. We appreciate you choosing The Westin Seattle to refresh and unwind, and look forward to our next opportunity to be of service. Thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We had an amazing experience at the downtown Seattle Westin. The hotel is located only a few blocks away from the world famous Pike's Place market and the Seattle Space Centre (Needle). You could park the car and walk.

The hotel itself was a 5 star. It was clean, had a nice gym etc. However, I thought charging $41 for parking per night was excessive. Additionally, they wouldn't let my teenage son sign for room service even though I ordered everything for him and told the hotel management it was OK. They probably got burned by somebody previously, there teenage kid ordered in surf and turf with a bottle of Dom, or something to that effect.

Anyway, I would definitely recommend this hotel and we will be back.

I probably would have given this a 5 star rating

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silverwoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsMgrTWS, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Seattle, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to learn you enjoyed your visit and found our location centrally located to Pike Place Market and the Monorail to the Space Needle. Our apologies you feel the parking charge was excessive. The rates are competitive with similar hotels in the downtown area and we post the rates on our website to inform our guests in advance. Your comments regarding in-room dining for your son will be shared with our team so we may improve our internal communication. We are sorry for the inconvenience this incident created for you. Thank you again for your review and we appreciate you returning on your next visit to Seattle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Close to all Seattle attractions, including the cruise ship piers and Pike Market Place. Very clean and lobby is always busy with group travel guest. Hotel is very accommodating to special request like late check outs. Has shuttle to Seatac for a fee, rooms are large, clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joshua H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsMgrTWS, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Seattle, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your positive feedback on our location, cleanliness and special requests. It is rewarding to receive your high rating. Thank you again and we look forward to being of service on your next visit to Seattle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for 4 days on a business trip. The hotel was very conveniently located to get to the Convention Center, Pike Place Market, and many local attractions and restaurants. The room was large and modern, clean and well outfitted with snacks and drinks for purchase. Beautiful view, cozy bed, overall great.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsMgrTWS, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Seattle, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit with us and appreciate your high rating. We look forward to welcoming you back on our next visit to Seattle. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Stayed here last year and already booked to stay again in September. The Westin is in a great location to walk to Pike's Market and catch the tram to the Seattle center (Space Needle and Experience Music Project & Sci-fi Museum). It's a nice hotel with all the amenities you would expect from a Starwood Property.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CuriosityCocktail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Husband and I went to Seattle at the end of June and stayed at the Westin. The location was perfect for us. We really just wanted to enjoy the heart of the city. I really enjoyed the program/incentive they have going on in terms of housekeeping. If one decides to go without housekeeping service, one will in turn, receive credit to use at the hotel. I used mine at the downstairs eatery to get a Chai Latte every day. Otherwise, everything was fairly standard. There was no balcony to speak of but the view of the city was quite nice. Waiting for the elevator was a daunting task. The shower had decent pressure. The bedding was comfortable. The room was large. We didn't use any of the extra facilities.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank queenofapology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Sheraton Seattle Hotel
#33 of 104 in Seattle
4,688 reviews
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 104 in Seattle
3,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belltown
Pan Pacific Seattle
Pan Pacific Seattle
#15 of 104 in Seattle
1,608 reviews
Belltown
Seattle Marriott Waterfront
W Seattle
#34 of 104 in Seattle
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Seattle

Address: 1900 5th Ave., Seattle, WA 98101-1204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Belltown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Seattle
#23 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#41 Business Hotel in Seattle
#42 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#48 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: $149 - $520 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Seattle 4*
Number of rooms: 891
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Downtown Seattle Hotel is the front door to shopping, dining and the vibrant downtown Seattle experience. Leave the car at home and walk to the Space Needle, Pike Place Market, the Great Wheel, the Aquarium and more all within just blocks of our hotel! Take the light rail to and from the airport for just $3 each way. Our brand is truly focused on healthy living while on the road. We feature our 10 layer signature Heavenly Beds for the most comfortable night's sleep. Our RunWestin program takes guests on a guided 3 mile run every Tuesday and Wednesday morning through Seattle's best attractions. With Gear Lending, no need to pack your gym gear, for just $5 guests can borrow fresh New Balance clothing and shoes including brand new socks that are yours to keep! Enjoy our fitness center, indoor pool, and outdoor pool deck. Grab a smoothie or fresh juice at our barista stand, or stay for lunch or dinner at our Relish Burger Bistro serving salads, burgers, and fresh, locally sourced cuisine. For families our Westin Family program provides kids with an interactive journal to document their visit to Seattle with fun games and coloring activities. And don't leave your pet at home! Pets stay free with us as we know they're just like family and our guests can even request a heavenly dog bed and dog food and water bowls at check in. Come enjoy Seattle and take comfort in knowing our staff values you like family. Explore our freshly renovated meeting and event space for your next event or head out for a night on the town with so much to see and door right outside our door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Seattle Hotel Seattle
Westin Seattle
The Westin Hotel Seattle Wa
Seattle Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing