We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in downtown Seattle”
Review of The Westin Seattle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Seattle
Ranked #46 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Vernon, B.C.
Level 6 Contributor
651 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in downtown Seattle”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We had an amazing experience at the downtown Seattle Westin. The hotel is located only a few blocks away from the world famous Pike's Place market and the Seattle Space Centre (Needle). You could park the car and walk.

The hotel itself was a 5 star. It was clean, had a nice gym etc. However, I thought charging $41 for parking per night was excessive. Additionally, they wouldn't let my teenage son sign for room service even though I ordered everything for him and told the hotel management it was OK. They probably got burned by somebody previously, there teenage kid ordered in surf and turf with a bottle of Dom, or something to that effect.

Anyway, I would definitely recommend this hotel and we will be back.

I probably would have given this a 5 star rating

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silverwoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsMgrTWS, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Seattle, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to learn you enjoyed your visit and found our location centrally located to Pike Place Market and the Monorail to the Space Needle. Our apologies you feel the parking charge was excessive. The rates are competitive with similar hotels in the downtown area and we post the rates on our website to inform our guests in advance. Your comments regarding in-room dining for your son will be shared with our team so we may improve our internal communication. We are sorry for the inconvenience this incident created for you. Thank you again for your review and we appreciate you returning on your next visit to Seattle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    838
    943
    374
    113
    59
See reviews for
531
606
70
826
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (695)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kauai, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Close to all Seattle attractions, including the cruise ship piers and Pike Market Place. Very clean and lobby is always busy with group travel guest. Hotel is very accommodating to special request like late check outs. Has shuttle to Seatac for a fee, rooms are large, clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joshua H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsMgrTWS, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Seattle, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your positive feedback on our location, cleanliness and special requests. It is rewarding to receive your high rating. Thank you again and we look forward to being of service on your next visit to Seattle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington, United States
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for 4 days on a business trip. The hotel was very conveniently located to get to the Convention Center, Pike Place Market, and many local attractions and restaurants. The room was large and modern, clean and well outfitted with snacks and drinks for purchase. Beautiful view, cozy bed, overall great.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsMgrTWS, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Seattle, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit with us and appreciate your high rating. We look forward to welcoming you back on our next visit to Seattle. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Stayed here last year and already booked to stay again in September. The Westin is in a great location to walk to Pike's Market and catch the tram to the Seattle center (Space Needle and Experience Music Project & Sci-fi Museum). It's a nice hotel with all the amenities you would expect from a Starwood Property.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CuriosityCocktail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
az
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Husband and I went to Seattle at the end of June and stayed at the Westin. The location was perfect for us. We really just wanted to enjoy the heart of the city. I really enjoyed the program/incentive they have going on in terms of housekeeping. If one decides to go without housekeeping service, one will in turn, receive credit to use at the hotel. I used mine at the downstairs eatery to get a Chai Latte every day. Otherwise, everything was fairly standard. There was no balcony to speak of but the view of the city was quite nice. Waiting for the elevator was a daunting task. The shower had decent pressure. The bedding was comfortable. The room was large. We didn't use any of the extra facilities.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank queenofapology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
318 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

so what does this mean. it means the is hotel would make a very easily 4 star sheraton. for a westin it's on 3 stars. I expect more. so very much more from Westins. nothing bad, but nothing worth writing home to.

PROS:
decent location to get to the rest of downtown
great views of Seattle.
nice large bar to meet with family, friends or staff.

Cons:
Elevators here are very frustrating, their are 4 elevators per building and 47 floors per building. thanks a lot of people moving you ned up waiting a long time.
my airconditioner in my room could not get below 76degrees,i like cool, so even set at 62 it stayed at 76.

for events the load in, into this space is a pain, street level and I mean street, then a freight elevator to the ballroom. This ballroom isin more need of a remodel. It was just in horrible conditions. Tiles missing in ceiling, walls beaten up, it was a mess.

I have stayed here for business, I will not stay for personal again.It needs some seriously love to get it back to a proud SPG property.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clyde_Betts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We arrived for a one-day stay prior to returning home after a cruise. The bell person was helpful with our luggage as we were two couples travelling together. The lobby was very nice and spacious.

The room was open and modern, so was the washroom which was very large in size. Our room looked onto the monorail and the Seattle Streetcar. We did not hear any problematic noise from both transportation modes.

The location was perfect as it was walking distance from Pike Place Market, LRT line to Pioneer Square and the airport, downtown stores, the Seattle Streetcar across the street and a two block walk to the Monorail to take you to the Space Needle.

We had a quick bite in the lobby restaurant, Relish Burger Bistro, which was clean and convenient.

We unfortunately, did not get the chance to use the pool.

We would definitely stay here again if we were to travel to Seattle again.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the monorail would have a privacy issue if your curtains were not drawn late at nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank le-metro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsMgrTWS, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Seattle, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to learn of your high rating and that you enjoyed many aspects of the hotel to include service from the bell attendant, spacious lobby and guestroom, convenient location and dining experience in Relish Burger Bistro. Your kind comments will be shared with our team. Thank you again and we look forward to being of service when your travels bring you back to Seattle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Sheraton Seattle Hotel
#37 of 101 in Seattle
4,143 reviews
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 101 in Seattle
3,017 reviews
Hyatt At Olive 8
#10 of 101 in Seattle
2,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belltown
Seattle Marriott Waterfront
Belltown
Hotel Andra
Hotel Andra
#9 of 101 in Seattle
2,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Seattle

Property: The Westin Seattle
Address: 1900 5th Ave., Seattle, WA 98101-1204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Belltown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Seattle
#22 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#41 Business Hotel in Seattle
#42 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#48 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Seattle 4*
Number of rooms: 891
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Downtown Seattle Hotel is the front door to shopping, dining and the vibrant downtown Seattle experience. Leave the car at home and walk to the Space Needle, Pike Place Market, the Great Wheel, the Aquarium and more all within just blocks of our hotel! Take the light rail to and from the airport for just $3 each way. Our brand is truly focused on healthy living while on the road. We feature our 10 layer signature Heavenly Beds for the most comfortable night's sleep. Our RunWestin program takes guests on a guided 3 mile run every Tuesday and Wednesday morning through Seattle's best attractions. With Gear Lending, no need to pack your gym gear, for just $5 guests can borrow fresh New Balance clothing and shoes including brand new socks that are yours to keep! Enjoy our fitness center, indoor pool, and outdoor pool deck. Grab a smoothie or fresh juice at our barista stand, or stay for lunch or dinner at our Relish Burger Bistro serving salads, burgers, and fresh, locally sourced cuisine. For families our Westin Family program provides kids with an interactive journal to document their visit to Seattle with fun games and coloring activities. And don't leave your pet at home! Pets stay free with us as we know they're just like family and our guests can even request a heavenly dog bed and dog food and water bowls at check in. Come enjoy Seattle and take comfort in knowing our staff values you like family. Explore our freshly renovated meeting and event space for your next event or head out for a night on the town with so much to see and door right outside our door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Seattle Hotel Seattle
Westin Seattle
The Westin Hotel Seattle Wa
Seattle Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing