We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location but only one restuarant”
Review of The Westin Seattle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Seattle
Ranked #43 of 104 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 31, 2013

To start with great location, the staff was courteous and helped with a room on the 35th floor which offered an amazing view into the waterfront. The season was also very helpful with some good sunshine (as against the sober climate of Seattle) offering unlimited scenic views. Very close to the Pike Market Place, the hotel offers both Business and Vacation travellers with equal comfort. Well connected by Metro, Bus, cabs and Rental companies, there can be no complaints on the neighbourhood.
For Tourists the place has many local attractions within walking distance, like the Pike market, Space needle, music academy, theatres, pliantly of shopping arenas and good foods
Unlike other cons the biggest limitation which I found was that the Hotel had only one restaurant offering standard American fast foods. The cost was a touch higher but I guess the location makes for it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ash_kannan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,746)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,438 - 2,444 of 2,746 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2013

We booked The Westin because of the location and the deal we got thru the hotel website. We drove to Seattle to see a Mariners game.
The location can't be beat.
Check in was ok,not overly friendly,but not rude. Simple
Be sure if you have kids to ask for the kids club Westin bag,it's one of if not the only freebie.
Parking is expensive,but to be expected - valet was quick.
There was a tray of food (ewww) and drinks in the hallway all day,no joke. Did not enjoy walking passed it.
Elevators were very slow.
Also,there is no coffee maker or fridge in room.
There was also a leak in the faucet for the shower. I called to have it taken care of. Had to call again...finally someone arrived,but since it wasn't a big leak it did not get fixed.
The kids enjoyed the pool and hot tub. There was an outdoor lounging area which I thought was a nice touch.
I don't think we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missmi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsMgrTWS, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Seattle, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are disappointed your check-in experience was not warm and friendly, a room service tray was not removed from the hallway in a timely manner and the water leak was not repaired. We apologize for the inconvenience and your observations will be shared with our leaders so we may improve our service.

For your reference, coffee makers are located in the cabinet below the television and mini refrigerators are available upon request for a nominal charge. Our refreshment centers are only designed to cool sealed products.

We hope to have another opportunity to be of service when your travels bring you back to Seattle. Thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Although beautiful rooms and great location, there are some negatives. There are two towers and 47 floors in each. I was on the 24th floor of the North Tower and continually had to wait for elevators....up and down. 4 elevators to serve all these floors are not enough. On several occasions on the way down, the elevator doors opened to a crowd and angry voices yelled "we are full". Also, lengthy waits at times for the reception desk and concierge. They seem understaffed which was surprising.
If you don't mind crowds, the rooms are beautiful along with a nice city view.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
3  Thank RugglesTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsMgrTWS, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Seattle, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Thank you for your review. We apologize for the long wait for elevators. There are occasions when meetings start at the same time so guests depart their rooms within short period of time. Thank you again and we are truly sorry for the delays you experienced.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The Westin is in a great location in Seattle to walk anywhere. All of the staff is friendly and very help with all of our needs. A little expensive but it was all nice. It was easy to get around walking.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sprocket77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsMgrTWS, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Seattle, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Thank you for your review and the positive comments on our great location and friendly staff. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Seattle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I was in town for a conference for which my lodging was paid for by others (always a positive!), so I can't talk about value, but this hotel worked well for my purposes. I generally rate hotels in this class as Very Good if they do what they're supposed to for business, but don't have some really special zing that would cause me to improve the rating by a notch or do something ornery that would cause me to dip farther down into the rating bucket. This hotel did neither, so Very Good it is.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnArborMiBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsMgrTWS, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Seattle, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are disappointed to learn we did not create a memorable experience and hope to have another opportunity to provide the personal and instinctive service we strive for in every encounter. Thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I get that the Westin is a large hotel in a big city, but they didn't have to charge for EVERYTHING. We had one of those fridges that automatically charges if you remove items. Wanting to use a fridge we looked to see if we could remove and put back things. Yep, for a $7 a day or $25 a day charge (depending on which sign you read). We called for a fridge and got one, for a $5 delivery charge. Internet was $9.95 for 24 hours for each device. You could go and use it for free in the lobby, but the lobby was packed always. Cheap plastic glasses and coffee cups were out, although we did have 3 glass ones (no real coffee cups). Parking was $46 a day, or we could try the lot down the street. Very disappointed with all the charges, and had to call the front desk often to ask about things as there wasn't a hotel book explaining any of this.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen4682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsMgrTWS, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Seattle, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Thank you for your review. We apologize for any misunderstanding regarding the refreshment center. Our refreshment centers are only designed to keep sealed products cooled. We have mini refrigerators available upon request at $7.00 for the entire stay. If we are asked to empty the refreshment center, there is a $25.00 restocking fee.

Internet and parking pricing are posted on our website to preclude any surprises. Our pricing is competitive with similar hotels in the downtown Seattle area. We welcome our guests to visit our site and to contact us with any questions.

As many of our guests choose to take their coffee with them as they depart the hotel for meetings, activities or the airport, we try to make it as convenient as possible and are disappointed this is viewed as lesser quality than coffee cups.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to have another opportunity to be of service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This hotel was booked through Princess Cruises for a post-cruise stay. The hotel is centrally located, rooms are spacious and clean. However, they have opportunity with customer service which doesn't make it a memorable hotel. There are great restaurants around area...I would reommend it for business travellers.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gabopr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsMgrTWS, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Seattle, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Thank you for your review. Please accept our apologies for our lapses in service. We are disappointed to learn that we did not provide exceptional service and will share your comments with our leaders. We understand customer service differentiates us from the many choices in hotels. It is our hope you will allow us another opportunity to regain your confidence. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Sheraton Seattle Hotel
#33 of 104 in Seattle
4,702 reviews
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 104 in Seattle
3,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belltown
Pan Pacific Seattle
Pan Pacific Seattle
#16 of 104 in Seattle
1,609 reviews
Belltown
Seattle Marriott Waterfront
W Seattle
#34 of 104 in Seattle
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Seattle

Address: 1900 5th Ave., Seattle, WA 98101-1204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Belltown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Seattle
#23 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#33 Family Hotel in Seattle
#41 Business Hotel in Seattle
#42 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: $147 - $520 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Seattle 4*
Number of rooms: 891
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Downtown Seattle Hotel is the front door to shopping, dining and the vibrant downtown Seattle experience. Leave the car at home and walk to the Space Needle, Pike Place Market, the Great Wheel, the Aquarium and more all within just blocks of our hotel! Take the light rail to and from the airport for just $3 each way. Our brand is truly focused on healthy living while on the road. We feature our 10 layer signature Heavenly Beds for the most comfortable night's sleep. Our RunWestin program takes guests on a guided 3 mile run every Tuesday and Wednesday morning through Seattle's best attractions. With Gear Lending, no need to pack your gym gear, for just $5 guests can borrow fresh New Balance clothing and shoes including brand new socks that are yours to keep! Enjoy our fitness center, indoor pool, and outdoor pool deck. Grab a smoothie or fresh juice at our barista stand, or stay for lunch or dinner at our Relish Burger Bistro serving salads, burgers, and fresh, locally sourced cuisine. For families our Westin Family program provides kids with an interactive journal to document their visit to Seattle with fun games and coloring activities. And don't leave your pet at home! Pets stay free with us as we know they're just like family and our guests can even request a heavenly dog bed and dog food and water bowls at check in. Come enjoy Seattle and take comfort in knowing our staff values you like family. Explore our freshly renovated meeting and event space for your next event or head out for a night on the town with so much to see and door right outside our door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Seattle Hotel Seattle
Westin Seattle
The Westin Hotel Seattle Wa
Seattle Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing