We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good LocationT”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Westin Seattle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Seattle
Ranked #47 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
GreenLeadersGold level
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good LocationT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

The Westin is in a great location in Seattle to walk anywhere. All of the staff is friendly and very help with all of our needs. A little expensive but it was all nice. It was easy to get around walking.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sprocket77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsMgrTWS, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Seattle, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for your review and the positive comments on our great location and friendly staff. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Seattle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,056 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    732
    835
    339
    99
    51
See reviews for
460
535
63
722
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (645)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
845 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 491 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

I was in town for a conference for which my lodging was paid for by others (always a positive!), so I can't talk about value, but this hotel worked well for my purposes. I generally rate hotels in this class as Very Good if they do what they're supposed to for business, but don't have some really special zing that would cause me to improve the rating by a notch or do something ornery that would cause me to dip farther down into the rating bucket. This hotel did neither, so Very Good it is.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnArborMiBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsMgrTWS, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Seattle, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are disappointed to learn we did not create a memorable experience and hope to have another opportunity to provide the personal and instinctive service we strive for in every encounter. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

I get that the Westin is a large hotel in a big city, but they didn't have to charge for EVERYTHING. We had one of those fridges that automatically charges if you remove items. Wanting to use a fridge we looked to see if we could remove and put back things. Yep, for a $7 a day or $25 a day charge (depending on which sign you read). We called for a fridge and got one, for a $5 delivery charge. Internet was $9.95 for 24 hours for each device. You could go and use it for free in the lobby, but the lobby was packed always. Cheap plastic glasses and coffee cups were out, although we did have 3 glass ones (no real coffee cups). Parking was $46 a day, or we could try the lot down the street. Very disappointed with all the charges, and had to call the front desk often to ask about things as there wasn't a hotel book explaining any of this.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen4682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsMgrTWS, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Seattle, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for your review. We apologize for any misunderstanding regarding the refreshment center. Our refreshment centers are only designed to keep sealed products cooled. We have mini refrigerators available upon request at $7.00 for the entire stay. If we are asked to empty the refreshment center, there is a $25.00 restocking fee.

Internet and parking pricing are posted on our website to preclude any surprises. Our pricing is competitive with similar hotels in the downtown Seattle area. We welcome our guests to visit our site and to contact us with any questions.

As many of our guests choose to take their coffee with them as they depart the hotel for meetings, activities or the airport, we try to make it as convenient as possible and are disappointed this is viewed as lesser quality than coffee cups.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to have another opportunity to be of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guaynabo, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

This hotel was booked through Princess Cruises for a post-cruise stay. The hotel is centrally located, rooms are spacious and clean. However, they have opportunity with customer service which doesn't make it a memorable hotel. There are great restaurants around area...I would reommend it for business travellers.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gabopr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsMgrTWS, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Seattle, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for your review. Please accept our apologies for our lapses in service. We are disappointed to learn that we did not provide exceptional service and will share your comments with our leaders. We understand customer service differentiates us from the many choices in hotels. It is our hope you will allow us another opportunity to regain your confidence. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
330 reviews
239 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 726 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Well, the location is very nice. It's a block and a half from a light rail station which takes you straight to the airport, a block from the monorail to the space needle, and also easy walking to the Public Market and the convention center. The concierge and bar staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and comfortable. But there were also a lot of things about this hotel I didn't like:
(1) The hotel has two towers, with the rooms located in floors 10-47 (note that there are no floors 6-9, however, so one should really subtract 4 from all floors to get the true floor). As an SPG Gold member, I don't expect to be upgraded to a suite, but I was given a regular room on the 14th floor when I checked in, despite my online request for a higher floor. I'm not expecting much, but they couldn't even get me in the top third--or even the top half of the hotel?
(2) The first room we got had connecting doors and was very noisy. Our neighbors got up at 5:30 AM and we could hear all of their constant jabbering for hours. When we came back from breakfast at almost 9:30, they were still at it. We went down and asked to be reassigned to a different room, and the clerk told us that only the bottom three floors had rooms which were NOT connecting rooms, so we ended up on the 12th floor. If the clerk was telling the truth, be prepared for a noisy experience unless you're on one of the bottom three floors. In the second room, we could hear hallway noise, but at least we didn't hear our neighbors talking.
(3) I don't think that four elevators are enough for 47 (or really 43) floors. The elevators usually took a long time, and they were sometimes so full we couldn't even get in.
(4) The bathrooms are really cramped for a 4* hotel. As you can see from the attached picture, if you're sitting on the toilet, you're in front of the sink.
(5) The swimming pool temperature was quite cold. The hot tub was at a nice temperature but small and often too full get in.
It's too bad this hotel has all of those negatives, because the location is great, and my experience could have been much better with a little more effort on the hotel's part (although I'm not sure how they would solve the elevator problem).

Room Tip: The pool, hot tub, and gym are in the north tower (5th floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lebelgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

To simplify this, I am a member of SPG (proudly). I have never disappointed at any previous locations that I had chose to stay with...and I anticipated on lowering lower the expectations. For the price and value - It's the best in town. The indoor pool, jacuzzi, and sunbathing deck are great bonuses. The hotel does need a little update, but it's worthy for the rate and it has plenty of room to accommodate, yet I didn't feel like I was being neglected. Centrally located to everything (Pike Market, Restaurants, Shops, Metro/Light Rails (to Airport and others), Space Needle, etc)...Every room has a view, and if you are lucky, you will get the Waterview and Space Needle in one. I would stay here again.
Safe Travel !

Room Tip: SPG Member status is definitely recommended (get a better view for your room and later check out tim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iHearTravel74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

The good: Great view of the space needle from the 24th floor. Nice, comfortable bed with clean linens. Great counter space in the bathroom. Coffee maker in the room. Plenty of power outlets.

The not-so-good: The wait for an elevator was always long, sometimes more than 5 minutes. We found this quite annoying (as did other guests), for a hotel of this caliber. The daily charge for parking was more than we paid to rent a full sized car. Low water pressure in the bathroom.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Sheraton Seattle Hotel
#39 of 100 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,812 reviews
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,844 reviews
Hyatt At Olive 8
#11 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belltown
Seattle Marriott Waterfront
Belltown
Hotel Andra
Hotel Andra
#13 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,996 reviews
W Seattle
#38 of 100 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Seattle

Property: The Westin Seattle
Address: 1900 5th Ave., Seattle, WA 98101-1204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Belltown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Seattle
#23 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#41 Business Hotel in Seattle
#42 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#48 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Seattle 4*
Number of rooms: 891
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Downtown Seattle Hotel is the front door to shopping, dining and the vibrant downtown Seattle experience. Leave the car at home and walk to the Space Needle, Pike Place Market, the Great Wheel, the Aquarium and more all within just blocks of our hotel! Take the light rail to and from the airport for just $3 each way. Our brand is truly focused on healthy living while on the road. We feature our 10 layer signature Heavenly Beds for the most comfortable night's sleep. Our RunWestin program takes guests on a guided 3 mile run every Tuesday and Wednesday morning through Seattle's best attractions. With Gear Lending, no need to pack your gym gear, for just $5 guests can borrow fresh New Balance clothing and shoes including brand new socks that are yours to keep! Enjoy our fitness center, indoor pool, and outdoor pool deck. Grab a smoothie or fresh juice at our barista stand, or stay for lunch or dinner at our Relish Burger Bistro serving salads, burgers, and fresh, locally sourced cuisine. For families our Westin Family program provides kids with an interactive journal to document their visit to Seattle with fun games and coloring activities. And don't leave your pet at home! Pets stay free with us as we know they're just like family and our guests can even request a heavenly dog bed and dog food and water bowls at check in. Come enjoy Seattle and take comfort in knowing our staff values you like family. Explore our freshly renovated meeting and event space for your next event or head out for a night on the town with so much to see and door right outside our door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Seattle Hotel Seattle
Westin Seattle
The Westin Hotel Seattle Wa
Seattle Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing