We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is an Old Westin”
Review of The Westin Seattle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Seattle
Ranked #43 of 104 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 21, 2013

If you are a frequent traveler you will note this is an old property that needs updating. The gym is laughable. Not up to Westin standards at all. The rooms are JUST ok. Need updating. They are clearly not putting money into this property, which is a shame. $10 for WiFi? Stop nickel & dining people. It was just ok. I'm in no hurry to stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelNatL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsMgrTWS, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Seattle, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Thank you for your review. We apologize you did not enjoy the fitness center and room. We completed our guestroom renovation just last year and are disappointed you feel the room needs updating. In order to keep pace with demand for high speed Internet and families traveling with multiple devices and accessing the web at the same time, the bandwidth necessary has increased over the years. Similar to the charge for parking, instead of building the cost into room rates, we only charge guests who require the service. For future reference, our rates are posted on our website. Thank you again and we hope to have another opportunity to be of service when your travels bring you back to Seattle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,745)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,501 - 2,507 of 2,745 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2013

This hotel was huge and our first stop on a Pacific coast roadtrip. I had called in advance to request a high floor with a view and was greeted very friendly and told I would be accommodated if space were available. Unfortunately when I got to the hotel, I was told that it would be an additional $30 to upgrade to a high floored room with a view. Naturally I was slightly disappointed since the cost upgrade was never mentioned when I phoned. In fact, since I am a Starwood rewards member, I was told that upgrades would be given to members on a preferred basis. We paid the $30 anyway and were not disappointed, the room had the best view and having been to Seattle for the first time it was amazing to see the city from the 43rd floor (yes, that's right, 43rd). Everything else at this hotel went well - although since it's so big, waiting for the elevators was a pain, but to be expected. Also kind of annoying that for the price, WIFI isn't included, but I'd still consider the overall experience very good. Would recommend to others. However would suggest that hotel staff notify people over phone of potential additional charges so they aren't surprised at the front desk when this option is provided.

Room Tip: Get high floor with view of the Space Needle and Puget Sound
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lulu2828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsMgrTWS, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Seattle, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Thank you for your review. The view from the 43rd floor is spectacular and we are thrilled to hear it did not disappoint. We do upgrade our Starwood Preferred platinum and gold members on a complimentary basis based on space availability. Preferred members receive the best rooms in the category they reserve and can buy up to a higher category based on availability. Your experience will be shared with our reservations and front desk teams so we may improve our service and communication to eliminate any confusion for our guests. We apologize for the delay in elevator service and that you were not aware that Internet access is an additional charge at the time of booking. For future reference, Internet access rates are posted on our website at www.westinseattle.com and www.starwoodhotels.com/westin/seattle. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

First off I'd like to say my wife and I had a wonderful staycation at the Westin Seattle while we had some work done on our home. But the grand lady is showing her age.

Originally the Washington Plaza, The Westin Seattle been a landmark on the skyline since it was built in 1969. It has hosted presidents and many dignitaries over the years, but it is sort of in that awkward age--not old enough to be classic but too old to be first rate. The technology and the rooms feel dated and the hotel could really use a complete makeover to compete with the best in Seattle.

The star of the show here is...Seattle. We had a west-facing room on the 39th floor and the view was breathtaking. From the Space Needle, over Puget Sound, and much of downtown, The Westin is a fabulous place to take in the sights. The location is very good, with three Tom Douglas restaurants in within a couple of blocks, a few more to the Nordstrom flagship store.

The Lobby Bar has been a meeting point for decades and it does not disappoint, with lots of space and room for ad hoc get togethers.

I wish there was a 3 1/2 that I could give because I can't go 4 and 3 seems a bit light. Bottom line is that is you stay here you'll enjoy it but it may leave you pining for just a little bit more.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bruceww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

My boyfriend and I booked a night at the Westin as part of a birthday celebration and traveled all the way from Boston. This was a really nice hotel in a great area. The room was bright, clean and renovated. We were walking Distance to Pike's place and walking distance to the tram to the space needle. We booked the romance package and got a great deal for the room. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsMgrTWS, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Seattle, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Thank you for your review. The Westin and Seattle is a great place to celebrate a special occasion. We are glad you had the opportunity to visit Pike Place Market and the Space Needle. There are many more area attractions and our concierges are available to assist with recommendations for your next trip. Thank you again and happy belated birthday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

This is a popular hotel for people going on a cruise so mornings are crazy. Took us 30 minutes to finally catch an elevator that one of us could fit on with the two large bags. The other two people had to walk down 10 flights of stairs with the rest. Need people to help control the chaos. Room was very nice.

Thank Deana S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights last July. The location is the best part of the hotel! You can walk to most places and its very close to Pikes market, coffee, bars and if course tons of restaurants. We do enjoy staying downtown when we travel though.
The room was spacious and we upgraded to the deluxe with a water view. The windows are floor to ceiling so we really had an amazing view.
The downside to the hotel is that it's extremely crowded all the time. This was our 2nd stay here (another time in October for a Seahawks game) and there's a lot of people everywhere. If you're looking for a quaint hotel, this is NOT it.
Also, it was a little overpriced for a Westin. We are Starwood members so stay at them often. This sent one of my favorites but it will do because of the service and views.
Overall, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Upgrade for a room with a water view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ilove-europ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Unfortunately this hotel did not live up to the “Starwood” reputation. I am a really easy person to please, but this hotel was horrible. There were dogs in the room next to ours that barked incessantly. Security showed up at our door at 8PM to say that the dog-owners said we were being too noisy. We immediately brought up the barking dogs and they seemed uninterested. We called security 2 more times to complain about the barking dogs…still nothing. Beware of all the fees too. Parking is outrageous $41 overnight to self park at the hotel – we ended up using a lot down the street that was less expensive. Beverages and snacks in the room are extremely overpriced ($5.00 for a coke). And take note that you WILL be charged for items if they get moved even 1 centimeter…really inconvenient when you have small kids who like to touch everything. There is also a $7.00 charge to put anything of your own in the fridge, which is weighted so they will know! What a rip-off. $10 for WiFi. Did I mention the beds are small, saggy and uncomfortable? We stopped in Seattle again a week later and chose not to stay here again. Trust me when I say this: Stay at the Hyatt Place! Free Internet, Free 24 hour shuttle within a mile (they took us to dinner and picked us up and also took us to the aquarium), Free hot breakfast, Free use of the fridge, SUPER friendly staff, nice little café with wine, beer, coffee menu items, parking here is only $20. Best of all…..the bed at Hyatt Place was better than our bed at home!

Room Tip: Ask if you are being placed next to a pet-friendly room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cd5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Sheraton Seattle Hotel
#33 of 104 in Seattle
4,702 reviews
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 104 in Seattle
3,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belltown
Pan Pacific Seattle
Pan Pacific Seattle
#16 of 104 in Seattle
1,609 reviews
Belltown
Seattle Marriott Waterfront
W Seattle
#34 of 104 in Seattle
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Seattle

Address: 1900 5th Ave., Seattle, WA 98101-1204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Belltown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Seattle
#23 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#33 Family Hotel in Seattle
#41 Business Hotel in Seattle
#42 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: $147 - $520 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Seattle 4*
Number of rooms: 891
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Downtown Seattle Hotel is the front door to shopping, dining and the vibrant downtown Seattle experience. Leave the car at home and walk to the Space Needle, Pike Place Market, the Great Wheel, the Aquarium and more all within just blocks of our hotel! Take the light rail to and from the airport for just $3 each way. Our brand is truly focused on healthy living while on the road. We feature our 10 layer signature Heavenly Beds for the most comfortable night's sleep. Our RunWestin program takes guests on a guided 3 mile run every Tuesday and Wednesday morning through Seattle's best attractions. With Gear Lending, no need to pack your gym gear, for just $5 guests can borrow fresh New Balance clothing and shoes including brand new socks that are yours to keep! Enjoy our fitness center, indoor pool, and outdoor pool deck. Grab a smoothie or fresh juice at our barista stand, or stay for lunch or dinner at our Relish Burger Bistro serving salads, burgers, and fresh, locally sourced cuisine. For families our Westin Family program provides kids with an interactive journal to document their visit to Seattle with fun games and coloring activities. And don't leave your pet at home! Pets stay free with us as we know they're just like family and our guests can even request a heavenly dog bed and dog food and water bowls at check in. Come enjoy Seattle and take comfort in knowing our staff values you like family. Explore our freshly renovated meeting and event space for your next event or head out for a night on the town with so much to see and door right outside our door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Seattle Hotel Seattle
Westin Seattle
The Westin Hotel Seattle Wa
Seattle Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing