We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Completely Centered”
Review of The Westin Seattle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Seattle
Ranked #46 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 428 helpful votes
“Completely Centered”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

It's always nice to be in the middle of everything, the center of attention. The Westin is all that and more. We recently spent three nights here for a conference and had a splendid experience. Staff were sharp and attentive, rooms were updated and comfortable and it is close to all the things you'd care to do in Seattle. This is a BIG hotel so be advised. It does feel a bit formal and stark, so if you're looking for small and cozy, look elsewhere. The Westin does know how to take care of guests and that does feel personal. We had breakfast at Urbane and found the food and service impeccable.
You can walk to at least a dozen great restaurants. The monorail runs right out front and the station is down a couple blocks. That opens up Seattle Center as an activity destination. Waterfromt and Pike St Market are also easy to access. This is a great urban hotel in a captivatingly beautiful city. Come, stay, enjoy.

Room Tip: Get a room above floor 10 on the West side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jay r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsMgrTWS, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Seattle, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for your review. It is rewarding to learn you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. While we are a large hotel, our goal is to provide warm and personal service to our guests. We are glad you had the opportunity to experience some of the many attractions Seattle has to offer and look forward to your return. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    844
    944
    375
    114
    59
See reviews for
533
612
70
827
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (696)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
424 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as a jumping off point for an Alaskan cruise. The room had a great view of the city and was centrally located downtown. We were in walking distance to the city's above ground tram system, restaurants and Pike Place market . We used the tram to travel to the Space Needle. Drinks and little appetizers were available in the lounge area. Definitely stay here again if we're back in Seattle.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HenryChin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsMgrTWS, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Seattle, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your positive comments and glad you enjoyed your stay with us prior to your Alaskan cruise. Should your travels bring you back to Seattle, we hope you will choose The Westin Seattle to be your home away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

We checked in on May 18 and had great service from the SPG gold desk. The hotel was very full for the weekend, but the check-in person went beyond expectation in accommodating a special room request. When dropping by the desk with a question two days later, she cheerfully responded and pulled up my bill without me ever sharing my name or room number.

I have stayed in many Starwood hotels and was very impressed with my service experience at the Westin Seattle.

The hotel also is in a good location for easy walking to the downtown and market attractions. Several excellent Tom Douglas restaurants are nearby. Would definitely visit again!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Notourhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsMgrTWS, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Seattle, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for your review. It is rewarding to learn you enjoyed your stay and received great service from our front desk staff. We will share your comments with our team along with our thanks. Thank you again for the positive review and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Nice hotel, just down the street from stores, restaurants and attractions like the Space Needle.
Rooms were very clean and nice. Pool was great. The only complaint I had was that the elevators weren't working properly. I am not sure if they are fixed or not now, but they weren't working well when I was there. Otherwise, great hotel!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davhb221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsMgrTWS, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Seattle, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for your review. Our location near the Monorail to Seattle Center, restaurants and shopping make us a great choice for a Seattle getaway. We apologize for the delay in elevator service. We look forward to welcoming you back and thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here 3 nights on weekend. The location is good. You can walk most spots or get on light rail. There are other options equally as good though. The hotel is VERY big and commercial. Definitely geared towards business folks. They did give us a great view of the sound. But that was the extent of our good service. Never saw a bell hop, concerige not much help. Staff a little snotty and you can tell they don't really care. You are just a number here. I had concerns about safety issues here. They have several entrances and no security that I can see. Seattle itself to me is a little seedy. The hotel is in an ok location but to me the whole city seems unsafe so the hotel location itself isn't much different. The location is very close to several good restaurants including most of the Tom Douglas restaurants. The restaurant in the hotel Relish is good for a quick bite and we did get great service there. We also payed WAY to much for this hotel. If you get a good price it is prob worth it. The whole city was booked up this weekend though and so we took what we could get. And paid around 250 a night. I found myself wishing we were staying at Hotel Andra which was around the corner and looked more personal. I also found the hotel cleaning staff to just do the minimum. Nothing more than making the bed really. Also sheets and food left in halls and ON THE ELEVATOR for long periods of time. Not really what I expect from a Westin.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margiemom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsMgrTWS, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Seattle, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for your review. We work hard to provide high quality service to our guests and disappointed you found the concierges and other staff members were not warm, helpful and welcoming, and your room was not thoroughly clean. Please accept our apologies and be assured your comments will be shared with the leaders in the areas of concern. The safety and security of our guests are our top priority. We have security officers on duty 24 hours a day who tour the entire hotel and respond immediately to emergencies. Should you ever experience a disturbance of any type while staying with us, a call to the operator will result in the dispatch of security officers and management staff to the scene. Additionally, all our staff members are trained to report anything out of the ordinary. Thank you again for your review and we hope to have another opportunity to be of service when your travels bring you back to Seattle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

PLUSES:
This hotel was a wonderful place to stay, It is perfectly located in downtown Seattle and is a short walk from the Pike Place Market. Room was clean and the view of Seattle was awesome, we upgraded at check-in for a high room and we were not disappointed ($10). The room actually looked just like the picture on their site, I was amazed. We stayed one night prior to our Alaskan cruise and this hotel was great.

The Minuses (as always):
They have no airport shuttle and no breakfast (other than room service) I wouldn't even bring it up, but the price we paid I was hoping for at least a little breakfast before we left. THEY DID HAVE A NICE COFFEE MAKER!

I really can't say anything bad about this hotel, other than the above mentioned little wants... Everyone was very helpful, service was awesome and the location could not have been better for the short stay we had. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaJules67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsMgrTWS, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Seattle, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for your review and positive comments on our close proximity to Pike Place Market, room cleanliness and view, the coffee maker and our service! We apologize you didn’t have a chance to try Relish Burger Bistro while you were here. They serve breakfast, lunch and dinner with a take-out area in the front of the restaurant for our guests on the go. For future reference, check out www.relishbistroseattle.com. We look forward to welcoming you back soon and thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharpsburg, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Only after boarding a flight to Atlanta did I realize I left my iPad in the room! The front desk manager, Josh, was waiting for my call, overnighted it to me the next day. Nuff said. They are always courteous and professional to the nth degree! Thanks guys.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wes64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsMgrTWS, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Seattle, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are so glad to hear Josh was able to return your iPad to you. We will share your comment with him and add our appreciation for his efforts. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Seattle. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Sheraton Seattle Hotel
#36 of 101 in Seattle
4,166 reviews
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 101 in Seattle
3,034 reviews
Hyatt At Olive 8
#9 of 101 in Seattle
2,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belltown
Seattle Marriott Waterfront
Belltown
Hotel Andra
Hotel Andra
#10 of 101 in Seattle
2,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Seattle

Property: The Westin Seattle
Address: 1900 5th Ave., Seattle, WA 98101-1204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Belltown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Seattle
#22 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#41 Business Hotel in Seattle
#42 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#48 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Seattle 4*
Number of rooms: 891
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Downtown Seattle Hotel is the front door to shopping, dining and the vibrant downtown Seattle experience. Leave the car at home and walk to the Space Needle, Pike Place Market, the Great Wheel, the Aquarium and more all within just blocks of our hotel! Take the light rail to and from the airport for just $3 each way. Our brand is truly focused on healthy living while on the road. We feature our 10 layer signature Heavenly Beds for the most comfortable night's sleep. Our RunWestin program takes guests on a guided 3 mile run every Tuesday and Wednesday morning through Seattle's best attractions. With Gear Lending, no need to pack your gym gear, for just $5 guests can borrow fresh New Balance clothing and shoes including brand new socks that are yours to keep! Enjoy our fitness center, indoor pool, and outdoor pool deck. Grab a smoothie or fresh juice at our barista stand, or stay for lunch or dinner at our Relish Burger Bistro serving salads, burgers, and fresh, locally sourced cuisine. For families our Westin Family program provides kids with an interactive journal to document their visit to Seattle with fun games and coloring activities. And don't leave your pet at home! Pets stay free with us as we know they're just like family and our guests can even request a heavenly dog bed and dog food and water bowls at check in. Come enjoy Seattle and take comfort in knowing our staff values you like family. Explore our freshly renovated meeting and event space for your next event or head out for a night on the town with so much to see and door right outside our door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Seattle Hotel Seattle
Westin Seattle
The Westin Hotel Seattle Wa
Seattle Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing