We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall good hotel - great location”
Review of The Westin Seattle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Seattle
Ranked #44 of 104 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed May 17, 2013

The staff was very helpful and friendly, the concierge particularly was amazing. This is the perfect location; there are several great restaurants nearby and is walking distance to Pikes Place etc. The balcony windows do not open whch was disappointing but the view was good. The only real complaint we had was the mini bar where all the items are weighted so you cant use it as a fridge. We found out afterwards that you can request a mini fridge be brought up, but not sure if there is a charge for that or not..Also, there was no fan in the bathroom so it got really steamy. Other than that I would definitely recommend staying here as neither of those are really serious issues.. The parking is expensive ($40 a night) but we found a deal for free valet parking for both nights we stayed, so that was a real bonus. Also this hotel is great for pet owners who want/need to travel with their pet, since not all hotels allow pets.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mar H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsMgrTWS, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Seattle, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed our proximity to area attractions, room with a view and we are pet friendly (we have Heavenly Dog Beds available for your dogs!). Our apologies for the inconvenience of not being able to use the refreshment center to store personal items. Small refrigerators are available upon request for a flat fee of $7. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,693)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,495 - 2,501 of 2,693 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2013

Positives: the round towers enable all rooms to have good views; good location

Negatives:. First they couldn't locate my reservation then one day the wake up call system didn't work. Luckily I set a backup on my ipad otherwise I would have missed my flight. Desk attendant said they sometimes have trouble with 5am wakeup calls. Hotel is nothing to write home about but inoffensive.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HotelDivas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsMgrTWS, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Seattle, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Thank you for posting a review. We apologize for the difficulty at check-in and the missed wake-up call is unacceptable. We realize the stress we added to your day, not to mention the potential for further inconvenience. Your insights have been shared with our Service Express and hotel managers so we may investigate and improve our wake-up call system. Thank you again and we hope to have another opportunity to be of service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

No wifi in the rooms. They charge a $10 fee for in room wifi, but offer it without a charge in the lobby-which seemed strange. AND they charge to use the mini fridge. Which apparently is weighted, so they will know if you put your own beverages in there. The sheets were crunchy. Ick.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsMgrTWS, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Seattle, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Thank you for your review. In order to accommodate the demand of high speed Internet for streaming video, audio, gaming, downloading large files and use of Skype, along with families traveling with multiple devices and accessing the web at the same time, the bandwidth necessary has increased over the years. Similar to the charge for parking, instead of building the cost into room rates, we only charge guests who require the service. this information is posted on our website.

Our refreshment centers do automatically post charges for items moved off of the sensors to improve efficiencies and there is information posted to alert our guests. This automation generates a report each day so that we may quickly replenish the appropriate items for our guests. I am sorry if the signage was missing from your room.

We apologize the linens were not soft and comfortable. They can be slightly firmer due to our ironers being hotter than residential products.

We hope to have another opportunity to be of service. Thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

This is one of four hotels I stay in when in Seattle. The rooms are decent sized but somewhat odd shaped because of the circular layout. Walls are a little thin and sometimes the folks next door are audible. Like their conversations are audible, word for word. Restaurants are nothing to scream about. Room service is fair and fast enough but can get a little long at rush times. Rooms are getting close to needing a soft renovation.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor water view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alaskanabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsMgrTWS, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Seattle, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Thank you for your review. It is disappointing to learn of noisy neighbors but glad you enjoyed in-room dining. We apologize your rest was disrupted and will share your comment regarding soft goods renovation with our team. Thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Staying on a family rate, but still did not expect to wait 40 minutes for a room service menu. Is this what to expect for our whole weekend? I had to call the desk 3 times.... I'm writing this review as I continue to wait. We initially called at 10:45pm it's now 11:29pm....

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jwilliams09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsMgrTWS, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Seattle, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Thank you for your review. Please accept our apologies for the long wait to receive a room service menu. We work hard to provide the highest quality in service to all our guests and be assured service is not based on your room rate. Your comments will be shared with the appropriate leaders for immediately retraining. Thank you again for bringing this to our attention and we hope to have another opportunity to be of service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Had a great stay at the Westin in Seattle. Great people, great service, great view! You can walk to Pike Place Market from the hotel, but find out how to get to the pier before going off on your own. It is easy to do once you have directions.

Room Tip: Go for the north tower facing the Space Needle!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank txchick71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsMgrTWS, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Seattle, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the four greats for stay, people, service and view! It will be our pleasure to have you with us again on your next visit to Seattle. Thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

What a great location! We opted for an water view room, and loved it!
Easy to walk to lots of close by attractions (monorail, pike place, waterfront). If you like the Westin, you will enjoy this hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CP_travels_RP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsMgrTWS, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Seattle, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your positive comments on our location and room. We hope to have another opportunity to provide accommodations when your travels bring you back to Seattle. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Sheraton Seattle Hotel
#32 of 104 in Seattle
4,651 reviews
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 104 in Seattle
3,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belltown
Seattle Marriott Waterfront
Belltown
Pan Pacific Seattle
Pan Pacific Seattle
#16 of 104 in Seattle
1,601 reviews
W Seattle
#34 of 104 in Seattle
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Seattle

Address: 1900 5th Ave., Seattle, WA 98101-1204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Belltown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Seattle
#23 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#40 Business Hotel in Seattle
#41 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#47 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: $144 - $498 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Seattle 4*
Number of rooms: 891
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Downtown Seattle Hotel is the front door to shopping, dining and the vibrant downtown Seattle experience. Leave the car at home and walk to the Space Needle, Pike Place Market, the Great Wheel, the Aquarium and more all within just blocks of our hotel! Take the light rail to and from the airport for just $3 each way. Our brand is truly focused on healthy living while on the road. We feature our 10 layer signature Heavenly Beds for the most comfortable night's sleep. Our RunWestin program takes guests on a guided 3 mile run every Tuesday and Wednesday morning through Seattle's best attractions. With Gear Lending, no need to pack your gym gear, for just $5 guests can borrow fresh New Balance clothing and shoes including brand new socks that are yours to keep! Enjoy our fitness center, indoor pool, and outdoor pool deck. Grab a smoothie or fresh juice at our barista stand, or stay for lunch or dinner at our Relish Burger Bistro serving salads, burgers, and fresh, locally sourced cuisine. For families our Westin Family program provides kids with an interactive journal to document their visit to Seattle with fun games and coloring activities. And don't leave your pet at home! Pets stay free with us as we know they're just like family and our guests can even request a heavenly dog bed and dog food and water bowls at check in. Come enjoy Seattle and take comfort in knowing our staff values you like family. Explore our freshly renovated meeting and event space for your next event or head out for a night on the town with so much to see and door right outside our door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Seattle Hotel Seattle
Westin Seattle
The Westin Hotel Seattle Wa
Seattle Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing