We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Hotel and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Seattle

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Seattle
Ranked #52 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Hotel and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

I'm was here on a work related conference and I must say my experience here was an excellent one. From the location to the service. This is a must stay at hotel. I'm from Boston and the city of Seattle is a very nice one. The only negative thing I have to say about the city is that it has a lot of homeless people, and somewhat shady looking crowd around the downtown area.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlon24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    535
    695
    279
    86
    44
See reviews for
371
453
55
514
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (554)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I recently had occasion to visit Seattle for a couple of days of R and R. It was an amazing. I actually booked the hotel through a website to obtain a discount rate, and was very impressed with how well everything was looked after.

The hotel was quite busy, a lot of conference business going on but never did I feel overwhelmed or crowded. The room I was placed in (after requesting a king bed and a water view which were all accommodated) was lovely. Clean, fresh, and spacious enough for the purpose. The service from the hotel staff overall was very good as well.

this is a great hotel in a great location for walking around to shopping, entertainment, the market and beyond.

Room Tip: I called ahead and requested a water view room on a higher floor. Request a room at the end of the...
See more room tips
Green Features: Standard environmental practices as far as hotels go.
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ntrtaynr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsMgrTWS, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Seattle, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for your review. It is rewarding to learn you enjoyed your stay with us and found your room clean, fresh and comfortable, and service was very good. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England USA
Level Contributor
144 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Attended a conference here for a few days. I read the reviews and I agree with many of the statements of great views and very helpful staff. I must say the staff are great and will do what it takes to help you. So they are well trained. I gave my visit a 3 from a 4 because my experiences were difficult. In other cities I stay, the hotels amenities and appeal are distinctive. Here it was basic.

Here's the good: The rooms are well appointed, and due to my membership in westin, my Wifi was free every day. The bathrooms have a deep bathtub and the views out to the city were okay. Being on the 30's floor level gave it a nice over view of the city. However, no views of the space needle, harbor or mountains that others in the north tower see. If I had my kids here, I would stay here if the price was right. I like the $5 off for not cleaning the rooms. The closet space is okay, and the iron was clean and working.

Valet parking is on the EAST side of the hotel, and the main entrance is on the WEST side of the hotel. Self parking is NORTH. this is all confusing to a new visitor. A friend of mine had to circle around the hotel several times to find where to park, ending up at valet. The hotel is surrounded by one way streets.

The location is GREAT because all of the transits stop nearby or just across the street. You can take the train from the airport to one block away for about $5. The GO shuttle will cost $18, and a cab will be over $40. The journey takes about 45 minutes to an hour. There is a McDonalds, Bank of America, pharmacy and other conveniences nearby. If you want to eat outside the hotel, the ICON Grill is a good spot.

Here's what annoyed me: The south tower elevators do not stop at the conference rooms on the 4th floor so if you are attending a conference DO NOT STAY IN THE SOUTH TOWER!!!! I struggled carrying bags from the south to the north tower to set up my booth.. what a mess! Also, the wifi as described by other in the lobby or hall are terrible. I found my laptop crashing in the lobby and meeting rooms for some strange reason, and once I did not connect to the hotel's "free" service in the main areas, I was able to work.

While the rooms are well appointed, the Digital TV shows only analog shows, including local TV!!! The hallways are circular so get a room away from the elevator or ice machine because the noise is loud. In addition, the panoramic windows are awful for a light sleeper because the city noise and related vibration is very loud even in the 30's. A fire engine, airplane, or noisy car going by or a car horn blowing is heard clearly. That means to me the hotel is worn and need of updating their window seals and caulking. The Bistro Burger/Breakfast Buffet is small, so if you are at a conference, you need to get in line quickly or you will wait. If that happens, the ICON Grill is just across the street for breakfast as well.

If you are here with family, this is a fun location. For a conference, stay on the north tower facing northwest. My guess it is quieter and much better views!

Room Tip: Stay at North Tower, northwest corner away from elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WarmVacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsMgrTWS, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Seattle, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your positive comments as well as constructive criticism. We are glad you enjoyed the view from your room and service from the staff. The North and South Towers are connected through the lobby and mezzanine levels of the hotel but not through the third and fourth level meeting areas. We apologize it was difficult to move your equipment from your room to the meeting space. For future reference, we do have Service Express attendants available to assist you 24 hours a day. Additionally, we can assist with troubleshooting Wi-Fi connectivity, so please contact us if you need assistance. The comments regarding street noise have been forwarded to our engineering team to investigate and apologize your rest was disrupted. We hope your conference was a success and look forward to another opportunity to be of service when your future travel plans bring you back to Seattle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverdale, Wa
Level Contributor
125 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We are locals and two or three times a year stay in the city for a "staycation". This past week-end we decided to see Jersey Boys at the 5th Ave and stay close by. We chose the Westin this time as we had not stayed there before. We were able to get a AAA bed and breakfast rate which was decent. We had a great room on the 25th floor and from the moment we walked up to the front desk to check in we were greeted with a smile and just the right amount of small talk so that we felt truly welcomed. The room itself was a standard King and was very nice. The room was large, very very clean and had a spectacular view of Seattle and the Puget Sound. We enjoyed a good nights sleep and then had two choices for our breakfast portion of the package.The breakfast could either be room service (eggs, toast, juice, bacon) or you could enjoy the breakfast buffet in Relish the onsite restaurant. We chose to enjoy the buffet. The buffet itself was lovely, not overly large but plenty of nice hot choices for the morning. Our server was very friendly and helpful. The only issue was that after our buffet we gave the server our "vouchers" for the breakfast but she still dropped the bill at our table on which it stated "Please pay the balance" so we inquired about this and she waved it off and said that some people like to keep the reciept but we owed nothing. Of course we left a tip but I thought it was odd that they handed us a reciept asking for payment when none was needed. Not a big deal though or so I thought. When I checked my email receipt for our stay I found that we had indeed been charged for our breakfast! I immediately called to ask why and I was very quickly told that "oops" that is our mistake and we'll send you a new bill right away. I was bothered by this because so many people may not even check their bill right away and this seemed a little unprofessional to me from a hotel such as the Westin. I enjoyed the hotel itself though and plan on staying in other Starwood properties but will always check the bill prior to checking out. All in all, a very nice stay had there not been that little glitch with our bill it would have been nearly perfect.

Room Tip: The higher up floors will warrant the best views.
See more room tips
Green Features: This is a very "green"hotel and I appreciate the extent they go to preserve the environnment without taking away from our comfort.
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mjjpower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Stayed here in April 2013 for a spring break visit to Seattle. Booked two connecting rooms and the hotel upgraded us to a suite and a connecting room at the top of the north tower. Stunning and sweeping views from the Olympic mountains through downtown and Mt Rainier. Service at check-in, concierge and the business desk was very efficient. Hotel is very conveniently located with most Seattle attractions within walking distance (walked to Pioneer Square, Seattle Center/Space Needle, Pikes Place, SAM, and the Ferries) and great shopping and services within a few blocks. Also has a car rental agency right across the street and public transit (monorail, streetcar and train to the airport) nearby. Kids loved the pool (which was not busy) and we liked the gym. Only negative was breakfast at the in-house restaurant RELISH - was very slow service and pricey. There are far better options within minutes of the hotel. Would highly recommend the Westin for your business or leisure stay in Seattle.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor and ideally in the north tower - better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SFtravelbuffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Two standout experiences staying here for business: the western waterfront view from extra large floor-to-ceiling windows in the north tower (30th floor, complete with occasional seagull calls) and the fastest room service ever on three separate occasions. (Less than 20 minutes each time! The flame-grilled burger is worth calling up to your room from their signature restaurant downstairs.) The combination of both of these made "staying in" one drizzling day a pleasant and rejuvenating retreat from air travel delays.

Another standout is the Heavenly Bed which is consistently plush and luxurious, though not a new experience for me. Internet connection by laptop was free in my room for a day; but I wonder if this was a special arrangement because I stayed at a special business rate for a business event taking place there. When I tried to connect to wifi by my smartphone in my room a fee of $9.95 a day was required (but not by laptop!?), so this is curious... Either way, I appreciated ease of access. The room also has Starbucks coffee for the in-room coffee maker - strong and flavorful. No need to order an extra pot with room service. My coffee maker was actually broken my first morning there, but my disappointment was short-lived since the room service attendant quickly brought in a brand new unit. The bathroom amenities are high quality - enjoyed the white tea bar soap shaped into a leaf. Not a lot of space in the bathroom to move around in, but the tub area has a tub-length ledge at about knee-level and handle bar, which are thoughtfully placed. Newer tile and minimally flecked quartz (?) throughout - more soothing than granite in a bathroom, but that's just me. The only occasional guest noise I heard was in the hallway, due no less to the very large gap underneath my door, but no guest noise through the walls. There were unusual sounds once in a while - like fingernails tapping quickly on a table top - in the walls on one side of the room. Wondered if that were related to the a/c though, which did operate reliably. The closet is located away from the windows (creating a designated dressing area near the bathroom, and out of sight) and it had its own automatic light sensor connected to one of the doors, which made it easy to see inside. The closet is tiny though, and includes a small file-cabinet sized set of three drawers off the floor (along with the usual safe for valuables); so, there isn't a lot of room to put your items out of sight. No separate set of drawers in the room either, which I never miss, but others might.

The business center was being renovated, but the 24-hour business outlet (accessible by key) offered free boarding pass printing. Use of the computers and printers cost at least $10 for the first 15 minutes for all other uses. When I called the front desk initially though about printing a two-page document, the attendant was willing to have me email it to him to print for free, with delivery to my room. I appreciated the thoughtful gesture (since I dreaded the thought of running into colleagues in the lobby late at night!), but I didn't take him up on it that evening because I decided to wait until morning.

I will keep this hotel at the top of my list for family travel to Seattle, but only if I'm prepared to make a few additional adjustments. All the snacks (chips, candy, nuts, etc.) are easily accessible in the TV cabinet and cost at least $5 each; so, I would need to prepare to handle that with my kid. The fridge is full of liquor (with a $25 fee if you remove items to store your own), and while a separate fridge is available should you need one, it isn't guaranteed. And no microwave. While the hotel has few restaurants, a mall food court is across the street - there's a mall McDonald's and another separate restaurant across the street towards the waterfront. For the occasional, unexpected happy meal, you know? There's also a drug store, and an Old Navy across the street - since you never know what you need traveling with kids. There are noticeable homeless folks all along here though, too, and some hidden corners on your walk around town will smell. If yours kids are prone to, say, ask potentially embarrassing questions aloud, this is a heads up on preparing for that.

On the up side though, when traveling without kids, THE flagship Nordstrom store is also across the way, as well as a Nords Rack and Macy's - a vacation from Saturday night at Target, I must say!

Overall, this memorable stay has put this family of hotels on my radar for all future travel!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SimplySensible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The view from the hotel is stunning. The hotel comprises two towers so that the lifts go up the centre and every room has an outward facing view. The bedroom is huge with large windows in it and the bed facing the window, so if you're on a high enough floor or aren't worried about people looking in you can leave the curtains open and wake up to see Seattle as you look past your toes in bed. Best views are North (space needle), west (waterfront) or south (downtown). I got east, but from the 43rd floor it was still a very impressive view. That alone made the stay worth it.

The rest seemed to pale into insignificance after the view, but I'll mention them anyway. Part of the lobby area is undergoing redecorating at the moment, so it's a bit scabby. I didn't try the pool. There was no breakfast (didn't bother me as I was heading out into town anyway) and there is no free wifi in the rooms. They do provide free wifi in the lobby, but there are so many people trying to use it that it's unusable and took over 10 minutes just to check emails. It's a shame and not what I'd expect from an SPG hotel. This was very frustrating, but when you get back to the view in your bedroom you don't care anymore, or about the fact that the staff at checkin seemed disinterested and bellboys wandered around the lobby yawning.

I'd rate this 'good', but trip advisor doesn't have anything between 'average' and 'very good'.

Room Tip: North facing (from north tower) gives a view of the space needle South facing from south tower give...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Sheraton Seattle Hotel
#40 of 101 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 stars 3,208 reviews
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 101 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 stars 2,451 reviews
Hyatt At Olive 8
#12 of 101 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 stars 2,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belltown
Hotel Andra
Hotel Andra
#14 of 101 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 stars 1,890 reviews
Belltown
Seattle Marriott Waterfront
Belltown
Warwick Seattle
Warwick Seattle
#45 of 101 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 stars 1,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Seattle

Property: The Westin Seattle
Address: 1900 5th Ave., Seattle, WA 98101-1204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Belltown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Seattle
#23 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#41 Business Hotel in Seattle
#42 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#48 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Seattle 4*
Number of rooms: 891
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Downtown Seattle Hotel is the front door to shopping, dining and the vibrant downtown Seattle experience. Leave the car at home and walk to the Space Needle, Pike Place Market, the Great Wheel, the Aquarium and more all within just blocks of our hotel! Take the light rail to and from the airport for just $3 each way. Our brand is truly focused on healthy living while on the road. We feature our 10 layer signature Heavenly Beds for the most comfortable night's sleep. Our RunWestin program takes guests on a guided 3 mile run every Tuesday and Wednesday morning through Seattle's best attractions. With Gear Lending, no need to pack your gym gear, for just $5 guests can borrow fresh New Balance clothing and shoes including brand new socks that are yours to keep! Enjoy our fitness center, indoor pool, and outdoor pool deck. Grab a smoothie or fresh juice at our barista stand, or stay for lunch or dinner at our Relish Burger Bistro serving salads, burgers, and fresh, locally sourced cuisine. For families our Westin Family program provides kids with an interactive journal to document their visit to Seattle with fun games and coloring activities. And don't leave your pet at home! Pets stay free with us as we know they're just like family and our guests can even request a heavenly dog bed and dog food and water bowls at check in. Come enjoy Seattle and take comfort in knowing our staff values you like family. Explore our freshly renovated meeting and event space for your next event or head out for a night on the town with so much to see and door right outside our door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Starwood, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Seattle Hotel Seattle
Westin Seattle
The Westin Hotel Seattle Wa
Seattle Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing