We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We really like the Westin properties!”
Review of The Westin Seattle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Seattle
Ranked #46 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
355 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“We really like the Westin properties!”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

When I put together our trip to Portland & Seattle, the immediate highlight for the family was our upcoming 2 night stay at the Westin Seattle. Those beds are so comfortable, and the amenities are just wonderful. As a runner, I love RunWestin, which gives me a guided route to take each morning. Our view of the city was great. We were even able to see the property when we went to the top observation deck of the Space Needle.

My daughter enjoyed the fitness center, and we took a dip in the indoor pool. Parking is exorbitant, but then again, what downtown hotel doesn't have expensive parking? The hotel put us within a mile walk of the Space Needle, and an even shorter stroll to the Public Market.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orange-u-tall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsMgrTWS, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Seattle, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and were able to utilize the RunWESTIN maps, pool and fitness center. Your comments on our Heavenly Bed, view from your room and location near the Space Needle and Pike Place Market are most appreciated. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    838
    943
    374
    113
    59
See reviews for
531
606
70
826
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (695)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Fly more than 10 hours from china to Seattle. Before arrival I was a little bit worried about the condition of the hotel based on some comments like old and dated. However after CI I found it is not as horrible as it heard. The location is soooo great. After a comfortable sleep it is a sunny day outside. My room is on high floors and facing Puget Sound, which make me sit there for tens of minutes enjoying the beauty of the city. Moreover, as it is in the downtown, attractions can be reached quickly. The staff in the souvenir shop is nice too, giving me some suggestions and tips on the transportation in SEA. I would like to stay there again once I am back to downtown Seattle.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ray200002ray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsMgrTWS, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Seattle, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for your review. It is rewarding to learn you enjoyed the spectacular view of Puget Sound from your room and found our location convenient to many attractions for visitors. So glad to hear the staff in the gift shop provided suggestions and tips on transportation around downtown. In addition, our concierge team is fully equipped to assist with restaurant reservations, transportation questions, sightseeing tours, theater tickets, suggestions on attractions and so much more. We look forward to your return and the opportunity to be of service once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed for four days at the Westin, got a room in the north tower (there is a north tower and a south tower - the gym is in the north tower, so...) on a high floor and could see forever. The hotel is really lovely, well maintained (see below) rooms are great and we had a view forever. The extra $25 they charged for a (Puget) Soundview room is worth every penny. Oddity number one, this is the first hotel we've stayed at in a long time that had only a single sink in the loo. Otherwise, terrific with great rainhead showers, too. The building itself is composed of two towers (North and South - go figure) and a broad 5 story base, and there was a dance thing going on when we were there so the building was full of smelly little girls with attitude problems (and their mothers!!!) but that is not the hotel's fault, but be aware that this is their business.
The other jarring note was that in celebration of a new eatery in the building, when the elevator doors closed (and you were trapped therein) each pair of doors had this really ugly really crass poster, about three feet by four feet, glued to the inside of the doors so you were stuck staring at homely hamburgers in one elevator, bloated brownies in another, crapulous chili and some unidentifiable icky in the others. (thank heavens there were only four elevators)
Staff was well trained, knowledgeable and terrific.
They have a gym and a pool, both clean and neat. Various pieces of equipment in the gym could use a serious maintenance visit, and of course the pool was full of those little smelly girls who were also loud, again, not the hotel's fault....
Location was very good, you can walk anywhere, or hop a bus (in the underground downtown system), a monorail or a lightrail link to the aeroporto all within two minutes walk. I would go back, but with slightly lower expectations or a prayer that they are not opening another restaurant in the elevators.

Room Tip: As i said up above, pay the extra $25 for the view...you can see the rain coming and plan accordingl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jetlagged123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsMgrTWS, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Seattle, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for your review. It is disappointing to learn you did not thoroughly enjoy your stay due to the dance group that was here during your visit and the opening of Relish Burger Bistro; however, we appreciate your positive comments on our view room, fitness center and pool area. Our maintenance staff will check the fitness center to ensure all the equipment is in good working order. We hope to have another opportunity to be of service when your travels bring you back to Seattle. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Old 90's furniture and carpets, old creaky elevators, old faux marble bathrooms. Not nearly up to Westin standard and I've seen plenty of them. Great Westin service doesn't overcome the poor facilities.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glob3trotterz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsMgrTWS, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Seattle, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for posting a review. We are disappointed you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our guestrooms were renovated last year and we apologize we did not meet your expectations. Please contact us at bernie.ward@westin.com if you would like to provide further details. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Sarah at the front desk was simply delightful, going above and beyond to help my check in experience be outstanding.

The rooms here are dated, but the location is terrific. Ask for an updated room on check in.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Diva_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsMgrTWS, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Seattle, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for your review. Sarah is an asset to our hotel and we are delighted she provided above and beyond customer service. We have shared your kind comments with her and our front office leaders. It is good to hear you enjoyed our central location to many attractions. We hope you had the opportunity to visit Pike Place Market, EMP Museum, the waterfront and shopping at Nordstrom, just steps outside the hotel. We completed our guestroom renovation in spring of 2012 and apologize you feel the rooms are dated. Thank you again and we look forward to another opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoover, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

The Westin is located in a great location. We could walk just about anywhere we wanted to go. Pike Place Market is a few blocks and a easy stroll. We also were within a block of Nordstrom and Nordstrom Rack, Macy's, etc.. We never had to get a taxi for a restaurant either. The dining possibilities within walking distance is abundant.
Hotel service was excellent.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharSims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsMgrTWS, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Seattle, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad to learn you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location within easy walking distance to shopping, Pike Place Market and restaurants. We work hard to provide the highest quality in service and it is rewarding to know you ranked it as excellent. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Seattle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WENATCHEE
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Clean and very friendly. Service was excellent. Facilities spotlessly clean. Comfy bed AND pillows! Loved staying on a higher floor than usual, super views. On site Starbucks coffee and Burger restaurant. Slightly higher than usual rices but the food is excellent and beautifully presented. Kids menu available. Two adults, one kid meal and two alcoholic drinks around $60.

The hotel is within easy walking distance of many downtown restaurants and Pike Place Market.

Great location for walking around downtown Seattle and a few minutes from the Monorail to go to the Seattle Centre and Space needle.

The only down side was the squeaky sofa bed (ended up not using it) and there are no really comfy chairs in the lobby to relax and read a book.

Room Tip: We had a De Luxe King on the 31st floor but could still hear the traffic and sirens. The view of Sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muttley56uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsMgrTWS, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Seattle, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are delighted you and your family enjoyed the view from your room, the dining experience in our new restaurant Relish Burger Bistro and our proximity to Pike Place Market and Monorail to the Space Needle. We look forward to being of service on your next visit to Seattle. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Sheraton Seattle Hotel
#37 of 101 in Seattle
4,143 reviews
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 101 in Seattle
3,017 reviews
Hyatt At Olive 8
#10 of 101 in Seattle
2,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belltown
Seattle Marriott Waterfront
Belltown
Hotel Andra
Hotel Andra
#9 of 101 in Seattle
2,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Seattle

Property: The Westin Seattle
Address: 1900 5th Ave., Seattle, WA 98101-1204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Belltown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Seattle
#22 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#41 Business Hotel in Seattle
#42 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#48 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Seattle 4*
Number of rooms: 891
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Downtown Seattle Hotel is the front door to shopping, dining and the vibrant downtown Seattle experience. Leave the car at home and walk to the Space Needle, Pike Place Market, the Great Wheel, the Aquarium and more all within just blocks of our hotel! Take the light rail to and from the airport for just $3 each way. Our brand is truly focused on healthy living while on the road. We feature our 10 layer signature Heavenly Beds for the most comfortable night's sleep. Our RunWestin program takes guests on a guided 3 mile run every Tuesday and Wednesday morning through Seattle's best attractions. With Gear Lending, no need to pack your gym gear, for just $5 guests can borrow fresh New Balance clothing and shoes including brand new socks that are yours to keep! Enjoy our fitness center, indoor pool, and outdoor pool deck. Grab a smoothie or fresh juice at our barista stand, or stay for lunch or dinner at our Relish Burger Bistro serving salads, burgers, and fresh, locally sourced cuisine. For families our Westin Family program provides kids with an interactive journal to document their visit to Seattle with fun games and coloring activities. And don't leave your pet at home! Pets stay free with us as we know they're just like family and our guests can even request a heavenly dog bed and dog food and water bowls at check in. Come enjoy Seattle and take comfort in knowing our staff values you like family. Explore our freshly renovated meeting and event space for your next event or head out for a night on the town with so much to see and door right outside our door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Seattle Hotel Seattle
Westin Seattle
The Westin Hotel Seattle Wa
Seattle Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing