We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely old hotel, good location, updated amenities.”
Review of Hotel Sorrento

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sorrento
Ranked #26 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
104 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Lovely old hotel, good location, updated amenities.”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We recently stayed in the Sorrento, built in 1909, for a long weekend in Seattle. It was very comfortable, good value, with a comfortable bed and updated marble bathroom. I recommend it for anyone traveling to Seattle to see the sights. It's located close to the Library with easy access to both the Pike Market area and Capitol Hill.

Room Tip: We were upgraded without fuss to a junior suite which was a convenient size at a good price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PJV1426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RandallObrecht, General Manager at Hotel Sorrento, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to submiting such a kind review. I am glad you found our Hotel to be so comfortable. Hope to see you again soon!

Randall Obrecht
General Manager
Sorrento Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    529
    215
    66
    25
    10
See reviews for
106
350
69
169
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
271 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

A lovely hotel with lots of charm and wonderful staff. The public hotel areas well suited the atmosphere of the Seattle landscape, and the rooms were kept up-to-date with a huge TV, free Wifi access, and comfortable beds. Did I mention that the rooms were huge! The restaurant was nice, and had a good selection of various foods, but sometimes the quaint darkness made it look like it wasn't open. All the staff were very eager to be of assistance, and the complimentary car rides within the city centre were great, saving us lots of time and money. The hotel is well situated, being only a brief walk away from the waterfront, the monorail, and the shopping district. It was well priced, and the only real downside was that it was occasionally noisy in the room of you happened to have someone in the room above - you can hear them walking around and so forth. Other than that, a wonderful hotel and great service, and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone who wants something more than a boring and generic chain hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wattostudios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RandallObrecht, General Manager at Hotel Sorrento, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you so much for the kind review. I am so glad you found our rooms spacious and comfortable. I am also glad to hear that our complimentry car service came in handy.Thank you again!

Randall Obrecht
General Manager
Sorrento Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
256 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Seattle’s Sorrento is considered a boutique hotel with only 76 rooms. As such, it has a homey feel to it. We occupy room 608, used in the popular movie, “Sleepless in Seattle.” To think – we share a bed with Tom Hanks or better yet, Meg Ryan! Actually, it was used to depict a New York City hotel room occupied by Meg Ryan’s boyfriend.

The Sorrento at 900 Madison Street on historic First Hill has been a special draw from way back in 1909, with rich, Italian architecture and personalized service. (When we wanted a ride downtown, we just asked – they provided complimentary service.) And the bedding here is so comfortable that the hotel routinely sells it to the public.

The Sorrento boasts an affinity for the arts. Inside the beautiful, oak-paneled main floor Fireside Room with large luxurious chairs, they offer live jazz and often conduct “Silent Readings” throughout the year, offering discounted beverages and food. You bring a book and simply read quietly in the elegant atmosphere, and this has become a fun outing for the likes of the mayor and other city notables.

For lunch, inside their warm, oak-paneled Hunt Club, a neighborhood favorite for locals, I choose “The Combo,” selecting tomato soup, Caesar salad with savoury whiskey-dipped pralines and half a Reuben sandwich, while my spouse opts for vegetable soup, green organic salad and a farmer’s sandwich featuring cheese, bacon, tomatoes and turkey on artisanal bread.

In the evening, we visit Marion Oliver McCaw Hall at the Seattle Center to see Madama Butterfly, Puccini’s opera in which a Japanese maiden catches the fancy of a caddish American Naval officer, crosses cultural boundaries to become his bride, and grapples with a serious predicament while faithfully awaiting his return.

Room Tip: Go for room 608 - The bed alone is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RandallObrecht, General Manager at Hotel Sorrento, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Wow! Thank you for such a kind review. I am thrilled that you found our beds to be so comfortable! I have shared your comments with our staff and appreciate the great feedback!
Hope to see you again soon!

Randall Obrecht
General Manager
Sorrento Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federal Way, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

My husband and I had a one night getaway on New Year's night at the Sorrento. Always wanted to stay here and this was our first time. It's a lovely old hotel that maintains the old charm and character.
Pros:
Staff was wonderful - all the way from the valet, housekeeping, desk staff to the Fireside Room and Hunt Club wait staff.
Food at the Hunt Club was AMAZING!!!!
Loved sitting in the Fireside Room with a pre-dinner cocktail Tried the signature Sorrento 75 - it was yummy!
We stayed in a deluxe room with a queen bed - lots of good lighting - nice tv - enjoyed the robes and the french press coffee!
No street noise - very quiet.
Very comfy bed pillows.

Cons:
Overnight valet parking was very steep at $39!
Hunt Club very spendy - although the food is wonderful.
Our bed had a dip in the middle so we tended to slide toward the middle and it make it hard to get comfortable - I would expect a fantastic bed for a hotel such as this.
It was very warm in our room and the cooler fan did not cool the room at all and was VERY loud - needless to say - with the bed and fan and heat - we did not get any sleep.
Bottled water in the room was $4! (Get water from the lobby and bring it up with you)

So, overall, loved the hotel and the experience - very romantic and wonderul food....but I probably would not pay the price again based on the bad sleeping experience.

Room Tip: Maybe ask if there are rooms with newer mattresses....
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eservedio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RandallObrecht, General Manager at Hotel Sorrento, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Happy New Year!
So glad you spent the Holiday with us.I am happy to hear that our staff made such an impression and you enjoyed your stay.Thank you.

Randall Obrecht
General Manager
Sorrento Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

This is the most beautiful, cozy hotel - actually, it feels more like a home than a hotel. The rooms are gorgeous - we stayed in a Sorrento suite, which was spacious and gracious. The staff were so friendly and nice and the lobby was really lovely. We were there over Christmas, so I really didn't want some cold, impersonal place - the Sorrento was just perfect. I highly recommend it for anyone who wants to feel at home in an unfamiliar city.

Room Tip: The Sorrento suites are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RandallObrecht, General Manager at Hotel Sorrento, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you so much for such a nice review! I am glad you found our rooms to be spacious and comfortable. I am more thrilled that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. I have passed on your kind comments. Thank you.

Randall Obrecht
General Manager
Sorrento Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stayed at the Sorrento Hotel for four nights in September. At arrival, we were immediately impressed with the staff. They were quick to greet us, assist us with our luggage, and park the car. Check in was very easy and quick. Everyone we encountered was very pleasant and welcoming.

We stayed in a Corner Suite and the room was large, almost like a small apartment. On one side of a small hall was a very spacious sitting room. To the other side, the room with bed. The bed was very comfortable and we slept well. There was no street noise that we could recall. Comfortable robes are provided, but no slippers, which would have been a nice to walk around in the room and bathroom. Housekeeping was very efficient. Once we left the room, they were quick to attend to it. On the first day, they left a small gift of retro candy and a handwritten welcome note. A small gesture, but it goes a long way in separating them from the others. There was a French Press in the room and an honor bar, which we did not use. However, the shop across the street had great breakfast sandwiches and large coffees that we brought back to the room to enjoy.

The L-shaped bathroom was also spacious. The pedestal sinks were attractive, but they don't have a lot of space for toiletries. Small table is provided, but it was far from the sink (closer to the toilet in the L-shape), so was not really useful. The shower was in a standard sized tub, and not separate, with a shower curtain. Not a lot of room to move around and thought the curtain was white, it seem to block the light.

The hotel is away form the beaten path. However, the hotel provided a car to take you within a five-mile radius, which takes you to almost all the major attractions. We did not eat at the restaurant, but did go to the bar. The bar is wood paneled, dark, and charming, taking you to another world. The bartenders were friendly and efficient. They had some interesting specialty drinks, though we did not try any. Live entertainment on the weekends that is a draw, while not becoming too crowded.

In all, we really enjoyed our stay at the Sorrento Hotel. We would definitely consider staying here again and recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L&JinVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RandallObrecht, General Manager at Hotel Sorrento, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words. I am thrilled that you found our Hotel to be charming. I am also glad that you found our Housekeeping and Lounge staff to be so friendly. We hope to see you again soon!

Randall Obrecht
General Manager
Sorrento Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

The Sorrento is an older hotel with classic architecture and squeaky floorboards !
Staff are very friendly and helpful and decor nice, however it is quite expensive for what you get.
Parking particularly is expensive ($34/night) which all adds up if you are there a while.

Note also that although the Sorrento is only about a mile to the waterfront markets and restaurants, it is situated towards the top of a steep hill and therefore not suited to the elderly or those with disabilities if the desire is to walk everywhere.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RandallObrecht, General Manager at Hotel Sorrento, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for your honest feedback. I appreciate your kind words regarding our friendly staff. I have shared your kind comments to them. Hope to see you again soon.

Randall Obrecht
General Manager
Sorrento Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Belltown
Hotel Andra
Hotel Andra
#14 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thompson Seattle
#21 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#4 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sorrento

Property: Hotel Sorrento
Address: 900 Madison St, Seattle, WA 98104-1234
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#18 Business Hotel in Seattle
#23 Family Hotel in Seattle
#25 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sorrento 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on First Hill overlooking downtown Seattle the Sorrento Hotel infuses a classic old world style with modern conveniences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sorrento Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing