We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Old World Charm to enjoy an afternoon of Tea .” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sorrento

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Sorrento
Ranked #28 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely Old World Charm to enjoy an afternoon of Tea .”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

We stopped here before our doctor's appointment .
that was before happy hour . the fire was nice and inviting in the fireplace, not the restaurant .
It reminds us of old hotels in Philadelphia New York .
The happy hour looks great and we would love to return for dinner .
only regret is that Valet parking is quite costly for an hour of afternoon tea . 10 dollars plus if you want to tip .
I think if anyone wants to go to the restaurant it should be free of charge
I perceive they said they do not charge if you have dinner
. they are hurting themselves ...
everyone very welcoming and very kind .

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank lindafangel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RandallObrecht, General Manager at Hotel Sorrento, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time for your review. I am glad you enjoyed our Tea Service. I apologize for the price of Downtown parking and honestly wish we had a better option. One of the draw backs of a 100 year old, Iconic hotel is the lack of a garage. I hope we see you again for Happy Hour!

Randall Obrecht
General Manager
Sorrento Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    472
    190
    58
    22
    9
See reviews for
90
310
58
153
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Dont hesitate to call the Sorrento
They are an older but classic & interesting property.
Always clean & comfty..Great linens
The workers are always knowledgeable & friendly
Love that TOWN CAR
Hate driving after wineing & dining at Itialian In Pioneer Square "Il Teresso Carmine"
Owner Mark in wine country Cozy Rose Inn

Room Tip: Choose the 00 rooms ..Bigger & corner
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mj m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RandallObrecht, General Manager at Hotel Sorrento, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Wow. Thank you so much! I have passed on your comments to our staff! Hope to see you again soon.

Randall Obrecht
General Manager
Sorrento Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francsico
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I stayed here on a friend's recommendation. I usually stay at my Starwood properties but she convinced me that the Sorrento was worth a try. She could not have been more right. The service was amazing in every way. This hotel is historical and has a grand historic feel about it which I loved. They focus on the details like offering a free glass of wine when you check in, providing big fluffy robes, an in-room french press with some fresh locally-roasted coffee and the beds are above heavenly...lots of huge pillows and a gorgoeus comfy duvet. I could have stayed in bed all day! Unfortunately my meeting called.... This is my new Seattle favorite, I will stay here every time I return!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SFTravelingNewlyweds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RandallObrecht, General Manager at Hotel Sorrento, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words! I am so glad you enjoyed our ammenities and that we made such an impression. Hope to see you again soon (when you can stay in bed ALL day!)

Randall Obrecht
General Manager
Sorrento Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

A perfect mix of old-fashioned cosiness with live music at night and quiet time to read a book by the fireplace during day. Absolutely a good atmosphere in this old establishment:)

What really sold this place in addition to its atmosphere and its perfect position down town, was the staff. The staff we met went above and beyond to serve its guests. They ran to get your car, they popped out of no where when the coffee pot was empty and they always smiled, remembered you from last time and gave that little extra that made you feel special. A very rare experience.

The rooms are were clean and nice. Only complaint was that the shower in our room was very low - (I am 5.7 feet).

We only tried breakfast at the hotel. It was ok - which was a bit disappointing when everything else was "so good". Adding really good coffee and improving the food a little would significantly change impression of the restaurant. But we're in Seattle - there are lots of cafes and breakfast restaurant close by.

All in all - a very nice experience.

Room Tip: Some of the suites will have windows towards the streets and some might feel there is a bit of noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Regan2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RandallObrecht, General Manager at Hotel Sorrento, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to post this kind review. Your comments regarding our staff has made my day! We sincerely strive to exceed our guests expectations and it is very satisfying to hear we are succeeding!

Randall Obrecht
General Manager
Sorrento Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I recently booked the Sorrento Hotel for my first trip to Seattle and in celebration of my 50th Birthday. The experience could not have been better. From the arrival with our Pick up at the Amtrak train station to the beautiful and comfortable room, the homey lounge with fireplace and the excellent and attentive staff it was a most enjotable stay. I definately would return. We loved the presspot coffee service in the room also, much nicer then a drip machine.
The location was also convenient to all the to do items on my list. I absolutely recommend it.

Room Tip: any room would be a good room at the Sorrento
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RandallObrecht, General Manager at Hotel Sorrento, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
I am so glad that we could play a part in your special event! I am truely happy that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again soon.

Randall Obrecht
General Manager
Sorrento Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW US
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The charm of this hotel is its rich history and location in downtown Seattle. The hotel was clean and well-kept and the housekeeping staff did a great job with our room. The hotel staff is very professional, friendly and accommodating. An in house restaurant, the Hunt Club, plus many other eating choices are within easy walking distance of the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NWUSBeachBums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RandallObrecht, General Manager at Hotel Sorrento, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank You so much for the kind words. I have shared your comments with our staff and they are thrilled that they made an impression. We hope to see you again soon!

Randall Obrecht
General Manager
Sorrento Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I stayed for business and will certainly return. A charming, beautiful, exceptionally clean hotel with friendly, smiling staff, very comfortable accommodations and well above-average food. Every staff member I encountered smiled and greeted me. A few remembered my name as I passed the desk first day after check-in. A real find in Seattle!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DonaldWAz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RandallObrecht, General Manager at Hotel Sorrento, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Wow! Thank you so much for the kind comments. I have shared your feedback with our staff and they want to sincerely thank you. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and meals, while you were here. Hope to see you again soon.

Randall Obrecht
General Manager
Sorrento Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Belltown
Hotel Andra
Hotel Andra
#10 of 101 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 stars 1,820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel 1000
#4 of 101 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 stars 2,748 reviews
Downtown
Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sorrento

Property: Hotel Sorrento
Address: 900 Madison St., Seattle, WA 98104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#18 Business Hotel in Seattle
#23 Family Hotel in Seattle
#25 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sorrento 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on First Hill overlooking downtown Seattle the Sorrento Hotel infuses a classic old world style with modern conveniences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sorrento Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing