We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Head to the Edgewater”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Edgewater, A Noble House Hotel
Ranked #39 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Head to the Edgewater”
Reviewed October 26, 2007

I stayed at the Edgewater for 2 nights while attending a business meeting that was held at the hotel. This was actually by second stay at the hotel and while my first experience was not bad I beleive my most recent experience was better.

The hotel is located on the waterfront in downtown Seattle and feels like (and is decorated) a lodge rather than a corporate hotel. It's walking distance to Pike Place Market and a few restaurants. Restaurant 67 is located in the hotel and there is also a bar which has a pretty extensive wine and drink list.

Unfortunately, I did not have a view of the water from my room but I found the room to be quite enjoyable. The room was very clean; each room has a fireplace; the bed was very comfortable; and the bathroom has a beautiful stone shower. Guests can also find an umbrella in the closest which comes in handy given the frequency of rain in Seattle.

The hotel offers wireless internet for a fee.

The things that aren't so great include the business center and the gym. The equipment in the gym is a bit dated.

Overall, I was pleased with my stay and would patronize this hotel in the future.

  • Liked — location, view of the water, shower
  • Disliked — business center and gym
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TSJ08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,821
    1,011
    441
    221
    125
See reviews for
636
1,641
175
608
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,438)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Angeles, Wa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2007

My husband and I spent 2 nights and 1 cold stormy day in Oct. 2007 at the Edgewater. We found the hotel's decor unique and impressive. We liked the in-room Starbucks coffee, the world's best showerhead, the wonderful pillows and comfortable beds, the waterfront lobby, and the free hourly shuttle service to downtown attractions.

Our room faced the parking lot, not the water. A train goes by this side of the hotel several times a day (and night), but we found that the closed windows provided good soundproofing. However, if the windows are open to cool the room, the noise level would be very disturbing. Fortunately, we were aware of this problem and brought good earplugs. We understand that the waterview rooms can also be noisy due to cruise ship and barge traffic.

We enjoyed our stay at the Edgewater and would return.

  • Liked — Comfortable bed & pillows
  • Disliked — Noise from the trains
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karenj3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2007

Room #137 (overlooking the parking lot) The hotel came recommended by a co-worker who stayed there "...years ago" (?) (so did the Beatles!) Ah okay....."but you simply MUST stay there if in Seattle!" (they used to provide fishing poles in each room!) Ummm..okay. (which begs the question "...I wonder how many bites #137 got???) It's old, it's dressed up nicely (sorta like your rich aunt Edna) Reservations made from the front desk for the "Six Seven" in-house restaurant didn't materialize (even though it was made from an adjacent room) Our room had a gas fireplace (which unbeknownst to us was the primarily heating source for the room). Off and on throughout the night the sounds of our MD-88 preparing for takeoff blasted in the corner. Generous amounts of hallway, roadway and seaway noise are all included throughout the evening. The Pacific NW black bear country theme was cozy. The bed was very comfortable, with a great selection of pillows. Great cable TV selection and wireless availability. Don't eat the in-room munchies however lazy you get....you can't afford them! A most unusual (spacious and attractive) stone master bath. Fieldstone lined shower and wall-to-wall open stone flooring! Cold, cold (freezing cold if you're over fifty and can't make it through the night without using "the necessary"!.... BEWARE wear your socks!) If you have large amounts of disposable income, stay waterfront (however beware that it's still noisy on the Bay) The most outstanding feature is the Sunday Brunch at the in-house dining room "Six Seven" (as in Pier 67). So what if you can't sleep at night, the food is great !
btw- the soap was pretty good!

  • Liked — comfortable bed, great pillows, nice soap
  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank onejumpjohnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, TX
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 11, 2007

Don't get me wrong - the Edgewater Hotel in Seattle is nice. It is in a decent location for walking to attractions and there are some upscale features. It is built on the water, but bear in mind that, unless you have a view from that side of the hotel, you will have to walk down the street to actually see the water. The view from the lobby was nice, but there were very few places for people to sit and be looking directly out at the sound.

There were two major problems with our stay...

1. THE BIGGEST ISSUE - the room attendant or minibar attendant took two iPods from our room. The management did nothing to help and gave us the run around. For us, this was a major issue, We had traveled 2000 miles (in a car from Texas) to stay in Seattle and this put a big damper to our stay.

2. The hidden charges. Add it up - parking is $26/day and is mandatory valet, if you have a car. Tipping everyone from the bellman to the valet multiple times while you are there (if you get your car more than once). Paying for your room itself - even if you got a pretty good deal through Hotwire, like us. The rooms are nice, but they are not worth $300/night.

On top of it all, we did not have a bathtub, just a shower. That was okay, but not what we would have expected. The room was small. The fireplace was nice, but we could not keep the room temperature regulated. It was either cold or hot - never moderate.

If you are going to Seattle and have an endless budget, stay at this hotel. Keep plenty of cash on hand and make sure you don't take any valuables into your room, EVEN IF YOU LOCK THEM UP OR PUT THEM OUT OF SIGHT. If you do have something go missing, you will most likely hear, "That has never happened at our hotel before." Don't expect the management to help you in any way. The only way I would stay at this hotel again is if I had very deep pockets and did not mind spending a lot of money with little return.

On the other hand, if you would rather have a couple hundred extra dollars of spending money while you are visiting Seattle, I would recommend any of the other standard chain hotels downtown, that rent for half as much and have great locations.
Go with those and don't waste your money on the Edgewater, if you are looking for a good value.

  • Liked — Check in at the front desk was pleasant.
  • Disliked — Hidden costs.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tmlamberth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2007

Fantastic Hotel, but pricey. It's the only hotel on the water in Downtown Seattle and well worth the price.

The restaurant view is spectacular- it cant be beat. Rooms were nice, but nothing spectacular. Staff was accomodating and friendly.

Great location. Close to the infamous Pike Place Market.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank staynshape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
161 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2007

This hotel has the best location of any hotel in Seattle. It is literally on a dock along the city's waterfront harbor. The views are simply spectacular.
But you pay dearly for location.
The decor is a little odd and the interior halls are badly in need of renovation. They have spent money to upgrade the rooms which are interesting, but they've not spent anything to upgrade the interior halls, etc.
The hotel was built probably in the 50s or 60s and in some spots it looks like it.
But the rooms are nice, albeit a little inconsistent. The waterfront balcony rooms have fireplaces and balconies where you can walk outside and enjoy the spectacular views.
They are in a kind of rustic Northwoods look.
The bathrooms are simply to die for. Nouveau chic style with marble counters, cut stone floors, big fluffy bathrobes, an interesting table top sink bowl, a walk in shower with thick doorless glass and the best showerhead I've ever used. The kind with a BIG oversized head that's practically like being under a waterfall.
But the motifs of the bathroom and the room are in total contrast. The mix is not very appealing stylistically, but they are comfotable.
The management doesn't get high marks from me because of the sign that says they want to save water so they will only change sheets every three days and towels only if you put them on the floor. But then the toilet and shower are not low flow and there's no sink drain stopper, so you have the leave the water running for ten minutes while getting ready. So much for water saving...it's clear they only want to save money not water.

But they don't return the savings. While this is a very nice hotel in a great location, it is terribly overpriced. I was on a business trip that was prebooked, but when I saw the rate I about died. Waaaaay too expensive.

If they would do an interior renovation to clean up the hallways and bring down rates, this would be a spectacular hotel.

  • Liked — Great bathroom, soft beds and the absolute best most scenic location
  • Disliked — No free internet, not business friendly, terribly expensive and in need of new hall decor.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank markmywordz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2007

This is an incredible hotel! The rooms were fantastic, especially the bathrooms and the fireplaces! It was the perfect combination of rustic hunting lodge and modern 4-star hotel. My stay was short, but very enjoyable.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank SFJOSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Belltown
Seattle Marriott Waterfront
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#4 of 100 in Seattle
2,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edgewater, A Noble House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edgewater, A Noble House Hotel

Property: The Edgewater, A Noble House Hotel
Address: 2411 Alaskan Way, Pier 67, Seattle, WA 98121-1313
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Belltown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Edgewater, A Noble House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the edge of Pier 67, The Edgewater hotel offers an easy walk to Seattle downtown vibrancy, stunning views and lodge luxury. Surround yourself with the beauty of the majestic Olympic Mountains, the sparkling waters of Elliott Bay and the velvety-pink sunsets of the Northwest sky. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Edgewater, A Noble House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing