We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We won't stay at the Andra again.”
Review of Hotel Andra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Andra
Ranked #14 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“We won't stay at the Andra again.”
Reviewed October 10, 2005

We went on a 10 day trip to Seattle and the surrounding area and stayed at the Hotel Andra 3 nights. The room was nice and even had a safe in the room for security while away. However, I would not stay at this hotel probably ever again. It is located down the street from a hospital and consequently ambulance sirens occur quite frequently. We were on the 9th floor and could easily hear every siren go by, all night long - every night. If you stay here, bring some earplugs as that's what we had to use to get a nice sleep. The parking lot across the street is used for Sat. night parties as well, for even more noise. Ice was out on our floor and reported, still no ice 6 hours later.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Managing Director at Hotel Andra, responded to this review, October 23, 2005
Thank you for selecting Hotel Ändra for your stay while visiting Seattle. We are pleased to read your overall stay was enjoyable. We do apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced. The closest hospital to Hotel Ändra is 1.2 miles away but as a city center hotel, sirens and street noise do occasionally disturb our urban quiet.
We hope to have the opportunity to be of service to you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,001 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,359
    488
    92
    45
    17
See reviews for
342
837
94
375
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (461)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2005

We stayed here on our wedding night and while we enjoyed the modern decor and comfortable bed, the soundproofing in our suite on the sixth floor was terrible. Within in 5 minutes of settling into the room, we realised we could clearly hear the conversation of the couple in the adjoining room. We politely asked to move, but were informed that the hotel was booked.

The next morning before 7am we were awoken by the television from the adjoining room and needed no more than 30 seconds to learn the couple was up and watching the “Water Boy”, again we complained but noticed no change in volume from next door nor did we hear their phone ring.

At check out, we yet again registered our complaint and received no apology, the young clerk brushed us off by saying he would place it in the log book. To us this was quite unsatisfactory considering our previous calls and his offhand remark that he heard the same complaint regarding our room previously. If it is a problem, why haven’t they fixed it and why do they continue to put people in the suite?

As another reviewer remarked, the only saving grace was the great food and service at Lola, that we can highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank bookish81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
205 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2005

This is a nice hotel in a great location. Service was very good and very friendly. The only minor problem was our room was not cleaned in a timely manner.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Nels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 16, 2005

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Andra over Labor Day weekend. The location couldn't be better.

The first night we were there, we stayed in the Andra Suite. The room was moderately spacious and well designed. The mini-bar was well stocked, but a price list was no where to be found. Room service was from Lola the restaurant in the lobby. The food was very good, and the prices were very high. Overall we had a great experience.

We unexpectedly decided to stay at the hotel a second night. After our great experience the first night, we decided to save some money and get the smaller Andra Studio because we didn't think we'd mind a simple size change, we expected everything else to be of the same quality. I can tell you the room size was pretty much the only physical change, but the service the second night didn't reflect it's four star rating. First, the window didn't open. Now this isn't a big deal to us, but when we called the front desk to see if there was a trick to getting the window open (because the windows in the suite opened), the gentleman told us that it doesn't open because of fire code, and all the windows on that floor were sealed shut. I know that's not true because we had stayed on the same floor the night before. We didn't appreciate being lied to. Next, we went to turn on the TV. It didn't work. We checked the plug, it was fine. We called the front desk. They said they'd send someone up to check on it. Forty-five minutes later, a girl from the front desk arrived, announced that maintenance was unavailable and that she was going to check it out. She walked over to the TV, pressed the same power button we had tried and checked the same plug we had checked (just like we told her on the phone). After she was unsuccessful, she told us that she didn't know what was going on, and that she'd try to find maintenance. Another twenty minutes go by, and she calls to tell us that eminence wasn't working and wouldn't be until morning. I told her that was unacceptable because we had plans to stay in for the remainder of the night and were going to watch TV. I requested a new room with a working TV. She told me there were no rooms available and that we'd just have to wait until eminence arrived. I explained that I found it hard to believe that they were sold out all of a sudden, considering we had checked in two hours earlier and they had all kinds of other room options available (including the suite we had stayed in the night before and the mid-range Andra Room). She then told me she'd have to call me back. They ended up moving us and the new room was just across the hall, the Andra Room (and by the way, the windows opened in it, too). This was the second lie of the night.

In the morning, we hit the valet key on the phone, to request our car. The front desk answered and said that she'd be happy to have the valet pull the car. We waited ten minutes and walked downstairs (that's about how long it had taken them the day before). When we got down there, there were two valets standing around having a personal conversation. After we stood there for ten minutes, holding the blue valet ticket and tip money in my hand, one of them comes over and asked if we needed our car. I explained that we had called and the front desk said they were going to call out and request the car. He said they hadn't and it didn't surprise him because "it had already happened a few times that morning".

All in all, I can't say much bad about the hotel, the rooms or the restaurant. I don't mind little things like the window not opening or having to change rooms because the TV doesn't work. What I do mind is being lied to repeatedly and a supposed four star hotel dropping the ball on customer service in such a big way.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london, uk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2005

All the good reviews the Andra gets makes me wonder if I stayed at the same place.

My wife and I spent the last three nights of our honeymoon in Seattle at the Andra. I wish it had at least been the first three days of our trip so that we didn't have such an anti-climax.

Having read a previous bad review of this hotel, I contacted the Andra in advance to reserve a room on a high floor away from the elevators as soundproofing is non-existent.

What room did I get? One on a lower floor opposite the elevator. They were only willing to move us away from the elevator but on the same floor.

Our package included champagne and truffles upon arrival. The truffles didn't arrive until our final night after two complaints to the front desk.

I handed an item of clothing in to be laundered. It came back ruined.

Overall, the Andra is a great looking hotel and would get more marks from me but for the poor service.

The only saving grace was the adjacent Lola restaurant which serves up great food.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank dazaroooni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central valley of California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2005

first off, the staff at this hotel are JUST wonderful- they all were pleasant, very helpful , and went out of their way to treat their guests well. If you worked Sept. 11-12, 2005, we thank all of you - special thanks to Anthony, who let us weary cruise travelers check in early. The hotel is pretty cool design wise........ they have turned a residential property into a nice place. The downtown location was convient, able to walk to shopping. I dont know if I would walk around at night, one block was nice, the next alittle shady- thou not the fault of the hotel !!! Our room was smaller than imagined. We travelled with our 2 children, and when the rollaway bed was put down, it was tight. The street facing windows (that opened, which was a nice treat) were fun to look out of and gave us wonderful fresh air. The bed was comfortable by hotel standards (thou the Grand Hyatt bed was just incredible ), and had cool blue reading lights. The closet for luggage storage was huge- and had lots of hanger space too. The bathroom too small with
new fixtures styled in the 1920-1930 design. The sitting couch was the only seating, and wasn't too comfortable. It was a nice place visually, but dont know if we would stay there again- just wasnt worth the $$. Lola, the ajoining eatery though was superb- wow, what great food !! Ben, our server was friendly and prompt (and cute too!) Maxwell's, Central Ca.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelinmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skokie, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2005

We just returned from our first trip to Seattle and stayed at the Hotel Andra. We were very impressed!!!!
Yes, the hotel is lovely, but more importantly the staff was wonderful!!! They truly made you feel special, not only did they answer all your questions, but they tried even harder to do more for you! Everytime, I had a question, not only did a get an answer, but a suggestion or offer to do something else for us.
Yes, the rooms can get noise from the outside (especially very early in the morning.), but it's on a busy intersection. It's to be expected.

Stay here if you want lovely, hip rooms and a staff that truly strives to please.

  • Stayed September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Smagid1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Inn at the Market
#1 of 100 in Seattle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,584 reviews
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#7 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,896 reviews
Mayflower Park Hotel
#22 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#4 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Andra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Andra

Property: Hotel Andra
Address: 2000 4th Ave, Seattle, WA 98121
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Belltown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Seattle
#5 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#7 Family Hotel in Seattle
#9 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Andra 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Seattle, Hotel Andra is a sophisticated boutique hotel ideally situated just 4 blocks from Pike Place Market and 2 blocks from the thriving downtown Seattle retail core. Scandinavian style is fused with Pacific Northwest elements to create a warm urban atmosphere throughout the hotel's 119 guest rooms and suites. Tom Douglas' Lola restaurant offers guests Mediterranean cuisine with local Pacific Northwest flavors; neighboring Assaggio Ristorante features authentic Northern Italian cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Andra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andra Hotel Seattle
Hotel Andra Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing