We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Excellent Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Andra

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Andra
Ranked #10 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Doormen, front desk staff, house keeping staff - all are top notch. Great rooms! Be sure to have dinner at LOLA! It was so crowded that we ate at the bar, which turned out great. The food is delicious and the bar staff is second to none.

Room Tip: Book a suite of you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IowaRevJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-HoteAndra, General Manager at Hotel Andra, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear IowaRevJ,

It was a true pleasure having you stay at Hotel Ändra! Thank you for being our guest and posting a review of your recent stay. Our goal is to exceed our guest's expectations and I'm delighted to read that we did this for you.

It is a true compliment to the team knowing that your visit was relaxing and enjoyable. Please know that I have shared your happiness with our partners at Lola! They will be thrilled to learn that you enjoyed the service and food in the lounge area!

I wish you a warm and pleasant summer! I hope we have an opportunity to have you stay with us in the very near future. Please let me know if there is anything I can assist you with when planning your next stay at Hotel Ändra!

Regards,
Lars
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,241
    442
    78
    43
    16
See reviews for
298
751
90
346
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
93 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We recently enjoyed our first visit to Seattle and were really happy with our hotel choice of Hotel Andra. The location is great and the service was excellent. It is about 3 blocks from the Pikes Place area and the monorail. The valet/car cost is a bit steep but I suppose even self parking would have been pricey. With that however, our car was always ready and waiting for us, so you feel like at least the service is worth the cost. I would highly recommend it for a home base in Seattle.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JH3970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

The Andra really makes you feel welcome and the hotel is really attractive. The Lola restaurant is excellent and the staff goes the extra mile. The valet staff actually changed a tire for me! I will be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colts Neck, NJ
Level Contributor
81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Hotel Andra could not be in a better location for visiting Seattle without a car. You can easily walk to just about everything a tourist would want to visit: Pike Place, Seattle Center (or walk 1.5 blocks & take the monorail), Pioneer Square, Alaskan Way (piers and many restaurants), downtown shopping, even the Rail Link station from the airport.

The rooms are spacious and clean with comfortable beds, high quality linens and have many thoughtful features. I especially liked the many electrical outlets; hooks in the bathroom and bedroom for hanging towels and the provided bathrobe; the in room fridge, the huge walk-in closet and ample drawer storage, the in-room safe - there is even an emergency light in the event power goes out.

There are a few negatives and in fairness I must point these out. The A/C fan is incredibly loud and kept waking us up during the night when it cycled on and off. The 2nd night we turned the fan from auto to continuously on, so it was like a white noise in the background. We were on the 5th floor and the water pressure in the shower was awful - they either need a water pressure booster or different shower heads. The room has no overhead lights, just several lamps, so lighting is subdued and rather dim. The aforementioned safe is located on a shelf way up high in the closet: impossible to see in unless you are well over 6 ft tall: we had to drag the desk chair over to make sure we did not leave any valuables inside at check-out.

Finally a note about Lola. This is a great restaurant (but at $40 for breakfast for 2, probably not your daily breakfast spot). Cooking smells are prevalent most of the time in the lobby and elevator. Also, patrons waiting for a table are directed into the hotel lobby so it can get quite congested.

Read on for tourist suggestions/comments: Seattle has gorgeous weather from late June to early September, and we profited from that! Pioneer Square should be visited for the very interesting Underground Tour, the Gold Rush Museum, and the amazing views from the top of the Smith Tower, but be aware there are many vagrants in the area due to the soup kitchens, and they can be quite aggressive in their begging (much worse than NYC).

Take the Monorail out to Seattle Center. We went to EMP expecting to love the rock & roll exhibits, but found the sci fi side much more interesting! It includes many fascinating movie props: everything from the Terminator's metallic face to Dr. Who's dalek to the torture chair from Hostel. Right across the plaza is the Chihuly Glass Gallery. Be sure to watch some of the movie shorts in the theater to fully understand the art work, then stroll through the incredibly well lit galleries. We skipped the Space Needle as Smith Tower has just as good views at half the price with no lines.

In the main building of Pike Place, all the good food vendors are on the first floor, the lower down you go (it has 4 or 5 sub level floors) the stranger the stores become. Don't miss the rest of the shops/restaurants on Pike Place and 1st Avenue, especially Beecher's Cheese Shop and the Crumpet Shop where they make fresh crumpets (delicious for breakfast).

We rented a car one day to visit Chittenden Locks in Ballard (fascinating), see the Troll under the bridge sculpture (meh) and go out to Woodinville for wine tasting at Ch. Sainte Michelle and dinner at the Herbfarm (a splurge but a truly memorable meal). There are a number of rental places within a 5 minute walk of the hotel, much cheaper than getting a car at the airport. (It cost about $50 for one day rental).

Restaurant wise we aimed for Pacific NW specialties. We went to Elliott's Oyster House (they have Happy Hour M-F starting at 3 p.m. with oysters at 75c - see website for full details); Aqua by El Gaucho (upscale, romantic and they offer complimentary shuttle to and from hotels); Serious Pie across from the hotel had the tastiest pizza incorporating local ingredients.

Room Tip: The road outside is quite noisy during the day, but we had no problem sleeping at night and we live...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scasci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed here two nights but could have spent a week easily if time allowed. We loved the customer service - everyone was all smiles and every time we got back to the hotel we felt like we were welcomed back by family. The room was very clean and very spacious with contemporary design. It almost felt like our little apartment, a home away from home. It was close to public transportation however we chose to walk every where. One of the best parts is the hotel's restaurant, Lola. DELICIOUS!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrssytmmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
93 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Front desk staff was EXCELLENT-courteous, thorough and friendly. The hotel was reasonably priced and in a good location. Rooms were comfortable. It's surrounded by Tom Douglas restaurants. Try LOLA for breakfast. It was wonderful! They even gave us early check in because our room was cleaned.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sympatica_RI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Orange, NJ
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

The Hotel Andra is a boutique hotel in Seattle. It was walkable to the Pike Place Market and to several good restaurants in the area. The room was spacious and beautifully appointed, and the beds were very comfortable. The staff was more than friendly and helpful. The doorman even remembered our names as he greeted us. Lola, the Tom Douglas restaurant was okay, but expensive for breakfast. Douglas' Dahlia Lounge cross the street seemed better at dinner time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Inn at the Market
#1 of 101 in Seattle
5.0 of 5 stars 2,300 reviews
Hotel 1000
#4 of 101 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 stars 2,750 reviews
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#7 of 101 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 stars 2,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Andra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Andra

Property: Hotel Andra
Address: 2000 4th Ave, Seattle, WA 98121-2415
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Belltown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Seattle
#5 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#7 Family Hotel in Seattle
#7 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Andra 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Seattle, Hotel Andra is a sophisticated boutique hotel ideally situated just 4 blocks from Pike Place Market and 2 blocks from the thriving downtown Seattle retail core. Scandinavian style is fused with Pacific Northwest elements to create a warm urban atmosphere throughout the hotel's 119 guest rooms and suites. Tom Douglas' Lola restaurant offers guests Mediterranean cuisine with local Pacific Northwest flavors; neighboring Assaggio Ristorante features authentic Northern Italian cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Andra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andra Hotel Seattle
Hotel Andra Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing