We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed it, except for housekeeping logistics”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton Seattle Hotel
Ranked #39 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
256 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“Enjoyed it, except for housekeeping logistics”
Reviewed November 21, 2008

I stayed in the Sheraton for a meeting of my professional society, but brought my husband since we had family in the area. Check-in was efficient and they handled our two requests (two queen beds, and linking a reservation for a 5th night to our reservation for the first 4 nights so we could stay in the same room) easily. We were also able to get into our room at 2 PM- a little earlier than the usual check-in time.

The room was large, immaculately clean and looked recently renovated. If you like to read in the bathtub, this was one of the lightest, brightest bathtub/shower enclosures I’ve ever seen. We had a partial view of the Sound and the mountains between a couple of buildings. Sunday morning rolled around and there was a complimentary paper at our door- a real local paper, not USAToday. This may have been an SPG perk. We got USAToday during the week, however.

In the rooms there is a cable high-speed Internet connection at the desk rather than Wi-Fi, restricting where you can use the computer- Wi Fi would be a big improvement in a hotel that obviously has heavy business traffic. It was $10 per 24 hours, with no other pricing options available- comparable to what I see in most high-end chain hotels in the US but I think they should all build it into the room rate and be done with it. It was, however, user-friendly and reliable. Free Wi-Fi was available in the lobby but it was very slow.

Everything was within a reasonable walking distance of the hotel- Pike Place Market, museums, shopping and the water.

The only weakness in this hotel was the housekeeping. The rooms were kept clean but my husband had a hard time getting extra sugar packets from the maid until he attempted it in Spanish. No matter what their country of origin, maids need some basic “tourist English” vocabulary. Our last day at the Sheraton, I developed a bad stomach virus and spent the day in the room. We hung out the “Do Not Disturb” sign and, in addition, my husband told the front desk not to disturb us. At 2 PM I was awakened by a call from Housekeeping. Did we need our room serviced? What part of “Do not Disturb” do they not get? We also had our room keys fail twice and had to have them replaced at the front desk.

The Fitness Center and pool were large and well-equipped. The elliptical trainers and treadmills even had an iPod dock so you could control the menu from the monitor on your equipment. At the far end of the pool area, in addition to the towel supply, you’ll find lockers where you specify your own combination. If you plan to be there a lot, ask for a room in the Pike Street Tower- otherwise you need to go down to the lobby from your room in the Union Street Tower, across the lobby, and up the Pike Street elevators to the 35th floor.

This hotel was a very good choice for a 5-night stay; the room was big enough that we could spread out and not be claustrophobic. The room rate for our group ($200/night) was very reasonable. We hope to return to the Sheraton.

  • Liked — Large. attractive, comfortable room
  • Disliked — Housekeeping sometimes clueless
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank AThena53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSeattle, Manager at Sheraton Seattle Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2008
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments. We are happy to hear you had a pleasant check-in experience as well as enjoyed the central location of the hotel. We are also glad you had the opportunity to experience the NEW Sheraton Fitness Center and pool facility during your five night stay. On the other hand, we would like to sincerely apologize for the difficult encounter you had with housekeeping and we will address this immediately. Thank you again for your comments. We look forward to your return in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,913 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,513
    1,667
    496
    159
    78
See reviews for
652
912
182
1,666
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (778)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
jackson, ms
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2008

Stayed here for 2 nights. The rooms and the lobby were very nice & upscale. Rooms & bathrooms seemed to have been updated.

During check-in there was a long line (with only 2 front desk clerks), and during check-out I was somehow double-billed. I had to wait for the manager to come out and clear the charges.

Pros:
-Accommodations are excellent (you basically get what you pay for)
-Walking distance to shops, bars, restaurants

Cons:
-understaffed at check-in (took forever!)
-incorrectly billed at check-out (although this was fixed after about 20 minutes)

  • Liked — clean and upscale
  • Disliked — management problems at checkin and checkout
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank nedo134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSeattle, Manager at Sheraton Seattle Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2008
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent two night stay at the Sheraton Seattle. We apologize for the delay at check-in and incorrect bill upon check-out. Despite the shortfalls listed above, we are happy to hear you had a great stay with us. Looking forward to welcoming you back to Seattle in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2008

Got a great price at an excellent downtown hotel. Checking in was fast and the room was extremely well-appointed. They have a TWO-level gym on the 35th floor with astounding city views. The gym is far superior to any hotel gym I've seen with twenty aerobic machines and many free weights and benches. I got in two workouts during my overnight stay.

Now for the annoying news. In this day of free hotel WI-FI, the Sheraton charges guests $9.95 per day for a hard-wired network connection. Business travelers expect free Internet these days; however, I was able to justify it because of the low room price I got, The real kicker, though, was the $10.00 "handling" fee they charged me for receiving a UPS shipment. That, in my opinion, was way out of line.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Avatar07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2008

We stayed for 2 nights after getting a bargain price through Priceline. We checked in pretty early but the reception staff were very helpful. The room was very spacious but we were in one which could have done with a bit of modernising - was perfectly clean and comfortable though!
Limited free internet in the lobby, very popular with tour groups and conveniently on the Airporter bus route. Best thing of all about this hotel is the location - 4mins walk from Pike Place, and right in the heart of the shopping area! Fantastic!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Mungo57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiloo, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2008

I took a weekend trip with my infant son and mother to Seattle and enjoyed the central location of the Sheraton for shopping and fine dining. Our request for a room on a high floor was taken care of, as was the availability of a crib. The lobby is beautiful with modern furniture and lighting, along with many beautiful orange flowers. The hotel bar was cozy and comfortable for an evening drink on the sofa or a variety of other seating configurations. We walked to the malls, major department stores, Pike Place Market, and Pioneer Square. The bedding is very comfortable, the bathroom was redone in all modern materials, and the artwork was pleasing. We even got a paper delivered on Sunday morning.

  • Liked — modern decor in lobby and rooms
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AK_biz_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria BC
Level Contributor
140 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2008

It had been 2 years since we stayed at the Sheraton Seattle as there has been so much construction going on we didn't like it much last time we were there. We just went to Seattle for the weekend in Sept and WOW! It was beautiful. The lobby was great and the rooms were totally improved with flat screen TV's and new carpet. We have been staying at the W Seattle but have booked the Sheraton again for our next Trip to Seattle. I recommend you give it a try.We used www.sneakysunday.com to find great palces to eat. We found ZOE in Belltown ,what fantastic food and service. You must go! Thank you sneakysunday for showing us the best places to eat and drink.

  • Liked — Clean New rooms and great location
  • Disliked — Parking was expensive
Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Danify
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2008

The Good: The Sheraton has a great location. The lobby is nice and large with plenty of tables and comfy chairs/sofa . Some coffee tables are interactive w/ mapping software and music. Fun for the kids to play with. The Daily Grill kwiki store in the lobby makes an OK coffee and provides some reasonably healthy breakfasts options at an OK price (eg granola yougurt parfait for $4.50). The elevators were very available and fast for our four day stay, considering we were on the 23rd floor.
Big flat screen TV in the room was OK if your into TV.

The Bad: The front desk originally gave us a 1 bed room when we ordered a two-bed room (this with 2 adults and 2 kids standing in front of the desk clerk). After getting our two bed room we later find that its pretty dirty. You could write your name in the dust on the lamps in the bathroom (probably the short maids can't reach that high). The carpet could use a good cleaning, if not replacing. The beds were very uncomfortable compared to most 4 star hotels I've been in. No pulbic trash cans in the ice rooms for getting rid of extra trash from the rooms. My wife tried eating a candy bar from the overpriced room stack basket only to read the label and see the expiration date was for March of 2008. Bleahh...

The Interesting: The workout room is beautiful on the top floor. Unfortunately the pool was closed waiting for city permits. It really sucked having no pool, especially since we had two kids with us. I didn't use room service so I can't comment on the food.

  • Liked — Large lobby with ammenities
  • Disliked — Uncomfortable beds, dirty bathroom, no working pool
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank DanEngineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSeattle, Manager at Sheraton Seattle Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2008
Please accept our sincere apologies for the issues that you encountered during your stay. We pride ourselves on the friendliness of our staff and the cleanliness of our hotel. I apologize we fell short of your expectations and please rest assured that we will look into these matters and take the necessary corrective actions.

With regards to the pool closure, we are glad that the reason behind the closure was communicated to you efficiently. However, we are truly sorry that you were unable to utilize this facility during your stay. We are happy to announce that the pool has since been opened as of last week.

We value our guests’ feedback and thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#7 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,908 reviews
Belltown
The Westin Seattle
The Westin Seattle
#45 of 100 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,160 reviews
Hyatt At Olive 8
#11 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Motif Seattle
#55 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
The Roosevelt Hotel
#40 of 100 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,223 reviews
The Paramount Hotel
#6 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Seattle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Seattle Hotel

Property: Sheraton Seattle Hotel
Address: 1400 Sixth Ave, Seattle, WA 98101-2318
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#27 Business Hotel in Seattle
#31 Family Hotel in Seattle
#36 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Seattle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Seattle Hotel is steps from Pike Place Market, Seattle Waterfront, Space Needle, and Washington State Convention & Trade Center. We have 47 meeting rooms, totaling 75,000 sq ft of event space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Starwood, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Seattle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seattle Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing