We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and clean, good buy on hotwire. No bargains, though...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Seattle Hotel
Ranked #48 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Puyallup
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice and clean, good buy on hotwire. No bargains, though...”
Reviewed December 2, 2009

We were excited about getting a room for less than $100 in downtown Seattle...but.... As the other reviews state, you do hear a lot of traffic noise, even on the west side. Barely a view of the water, since there are so many other tall buildings blocking the view. Very good appetizers for the $2 happy hour price. Room very clean, roomy. No bargains for us, since we reserved on hotwire... Others have mentioned free parking, free desserts, free breakfast, etc., but not with our budget reservations... I guess you pay one way or the other - parking was too expensive and we didn't get a break... We enjoyed it, anyway. Would choose a different hotel next time, though. No microwave, small shelves in small refrigerator - couldn't put our leftovers in it... Loved the pillows & feather comforter...

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,860 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    512
    851
    331
    121
    45
See reviews for
279
558
111
599
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (533)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 29, 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed here for the Thanksgiving weekend and we were happy with our room. It was spacious and clean, with great views. The hotel has a great 28th floor restaurant/bar called the Visions Lounge which has a good happy hour and great views of the city. Another great thing about the hotel was the free gym and pool access.

My biggest gripes with the Renaissance was it's expensive parking ($38/day), location, and expensive internet services ($12.95/day). It is adjacent to the I-5 and it can get a little loud. Also, it's a bit of a walk to downtown attractions like Pioneer Square, Pikes Place, and the mall. Coming back after a long day downtown can be difficult as the Renaissance is located atop a San Francisco-esque hill.

Still, with all that, I think it was a good value. Large, clean, comfortable rooms with a nice lounge, and good concierge service. I think it was worth the extra walking.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderbliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
140 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2009

The Renaissance Hotel in Seattle, WA is an excellent place to stay on business. The rooms are large and comfortable and the hotel is equipped with all of the usual amenitites--fitness center, restaurant, lounge, etc. What makes this hotel particularly outstanding, however, is the concierge. He made restaurant reservations for me on multiple nights and all of recommendations were superb. The hotel is within easy walking distance of nearly everything in downtown Seattle. If I had one complaint about this hotel, it's that it charges for internet access in the rooms.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJBSt_Louis_Missouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
217 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2009

I spent three nights at the Renaissance Hotel in Seattle. The rooms were well supplied. The bed was very comfortable and spacious. I only had two complaints:

(1) This hotel is noisy. It is adjacent to Interstate 5 and I had a hard time sleeping at night. For this reason alone, I would probably not stay there unless I could get a room on the western side of the hotel. I heard traffic at all hours of the night.

(2) The concierge lounge is way too small for the number of business guests they have. We had very little space to sit down and eat. The concierge staff was very attentive.

This is a nice hotel...but I need peace and quiet when I sleep.

Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank ElGringoViajero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
1 review
Reviewed November 17, 2009

My husband and I spent 2 nights at the Renaissance, November 8-10th.
We found it on Hotwire for $88 per night US which was a pretty good deal.
At first we were given a room which was too noisy as it was overlooking the
highway, but we had no problem having our room switched to the other side.
It was on the top of the hill, but no problem at all walking to Pike Place Market.
You really do avoid the steep climb back uphill if you walk back from a couple of blocks
over.
Great deal on Monday - Friday in the rooftop lounge. From 4-7 pm they offered
certain appetizers for only $2 each, and certain drinks at reduced prices also.
My husband and I went there before our dinner reservation and really enjoyed the
great view watching the sunset and the water in the distance.
The concierge was very helpful. He made our dinner reservations for us at
a really cool restaurant called "Purple" which I had checked out prior through
trip advisor. It was just a short walk away. When we got to the restaurant we
were pleasantly surprised to find out the concierge had ordered us a free appetizer.
The pool and hot tub area of the hotel were quite enjoyable also. It's on the same
floor at the lounge and has a great view.
The first night we had a nice dinner at Tulio which is very close to the hotel.
It was a cozy Italian restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatyJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
124 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2009

Stayed here for 3 nights and nothing stands out that was overwhelmingly negative or overwhelmingly positive. The location is good - but be warned, the walk to the waterfront is down a very very steep hill. The room was nice, very comfortable bed, also nice tv and sitting area, refrigerator, everything seemed new and well placed. The water pressure in the shower could be improved, but it was ok. Good service and nice views on the 28th.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KMme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2009

I got a deal of $70 per night through Priceline for this hotel. At that price it was a good deal. If I was paying the $170-200 I saw on their web site I would have been disappointed. The room is clean and had sitting chairs. Almost everything in the hotel only comes with extra $$. I big pet peeve for me is that they charge for internet access. In this day and age, wireless should be free at every hotel.

The location is poor as it is right next to the freeway. Also, that area of DT Seattle on a weekend is pretty dead.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hawkfan22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Pioneer Square
Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square
W Seattle
#37 of 100 in Seattle
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Executive Hotel Pacific
#66 of 100 in Seattle
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Seattle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Seattle Hotel

Property: Renaissance Seattle Hotel
Address: 515 Madison Street, Seattle, WA 98104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#37 Business Hotel in Seattle
#41 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#51 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Seattle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 557
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Renaissance Seattle Hotel, a stylish hotel in downtown Seattle and one of the hotels conveniently located near CenturyLink and Safeco Fields, Pike Place Market, and upscale shopping. Our Seattle, Washington hotel eliminates travel stress thanks to easy access to major freeways and Sea-Tac International Airport. Unwind in spacious, guest rooms with stunning views of Puget Sound, the mountains and city skyline. From colorful paintings by local artists displayed in the lobby to a fully-equipped fitness center and high-speed Internet, our downtown Seattle hotel amenities outshine the rest. Bring a furry travel companion along to keep you company at one of the top pet-friendly hotels Seattle has to offer. Book your next event at our state-of-the-art 28th floor event space, and discover how our Seattle Marriott hotel seamlessly combines style, comfort and technology into an unforgettable urban retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Renaissance Seattle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seattle Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing