We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Seattle Hotel
Ranked #48 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Salem, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“great service”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We travelled here for continuing ed course/ couples weekend. This was a Priceline choice at an excellent rate for downtown Seattle, and was very convenient to Virginia Mason and close enough to walk downtown. The staff was among the most friendly and welcoming I've encountered- equal to Ritz Carlton. The room was updated with very comfortable bed. 4 stars instead of 5 because they charge $13/ day for room internet and $35/ day for parking. The Priceline rate was good enough to make up for this though. The heating/ AC unit was noisy so we just left it off which worked fine. Although the hotel is close to the freeway, there wasn't noticeable traffic noise at night. We had a cocktail in the rooftop lounge with great night time city lights.

Room Tip: Our room on the north side was quiet despite the proximity of the hotel to the freeway just east.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slits007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene N, General Manager at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you so much for the opportunity to have you as our guests.
We appreciate your nice comments about our staff and R view our roof top lounge. We too like the view and service. Parking in Seattle is indeed very expensive. Our parking rate of $35 is on the lower end compared to similar hotels. Parking rates in the city range anywhere from $30 to $45 per day.
Again thank you for staying with us and we look forward to serve you again on your next visit.

Rene Neidhart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,893 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    522
    870
    333
    123
    45
See reviews for
291
569
114
605
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (541)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Orchard, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We walked in and immediately was welcomed by a great smell, they had REAL candles lit so that was probably it :) We were welcomed by Tanya at the front desk, who promptly checked us into our room, and let us know a little about the surrounding area. She was incredibly helpful and was able to fill our requests that we had about our room facing west. The room was spacious, and very clean except for black curly hairs in the bath tub. Bed was incredibly comfortable, we slept like babies. Our view of the city was beautiful. While you can hear the hum of the highway it is nothing the fan in the room cannot drown out (we were on the 16th floor). All around, we were incredibly impressed by the professionalism of the staff at this hotel, as well as the cleanliness and decor in the room. Very happy with our stay and recommend to anyone who is looking to stay somewhere comfortable and clean!

Room Tip: I don't really see how you can go wrong with this hotel and a room they put you in. Obviously yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene N, General Manager at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Sara,
Thank you so much for staying with us and your great review.
We appreciate your comments about Tanya, she does indeed do a wonderful job. Also your feedback about our candles was nice, real candles do make a difference.
We look forward to your next visit.

Rene Neidhart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

A great location and great views of Seattle from the high floors, a nice concierge lounge. I had a large, comfortable room with a nice bed and large closet. Despite being right off of busy interchanges the hotel is dead quiet at night. Like most nice places in Seattle, it is expensive.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bradley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene N, General Manager at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Bradley,
Thank you very much for your business and your great review.
We appreciate your comments and look forward to have you back.

Rene Neidhart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Room was nice, updated, but clearly still a bit dated. There's no video on demand. The bathroom has a weird sliding glass door. Parking is $35 a night. But the restaurant and the bar on the top floor were really nice.

Room Tip: half the hotel faces the freeway and it's loud. if you face downtown, you have a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Btraveller777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene N, General Manager at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Thank you for your business and for your review.
We are continously upgrading our hotel and wiil redo our guest rooms this coming winter.
I do appreciate your great comments about R view our roof top bar.

Rene Neidhart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Stayed at the Renaissance Seattle Hotel during a 2 day business trip to Seattle. The hotel is located in downtown Seattle, very close to the major attractions. There is a direct shuttle from the SeaTac Airport to the hotel, which made it very convenient.

Overall the hotel is well kept with a small but nice lobby, 2 restaurants, a bar on the top floor (with a beautiful view) and a Starbucks. The rooms were spacious with all modern facilities, though a little dated. The bathrooms were clean and modern. Did not have a chance to experience their service so am unable to comment on it.

Would definitely consider it during my next trip to Seattle.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VickramBindra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene N, General Manager at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and your review.
We appreciate your comments about our rooftop bar. I couldn't agree with you more, it offers great food and a great view, overlooking the Seattle skyline.
Looking forward to have you back.

Rene Neidhart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cashmere, Washington
1 review
Reviewed January 26, 2014

This hotel is nice and the staff very friendly. The restaurant on the top floor had a great happy hour and a beautiful view of Elliot Bay. The room was a bit smaller than most, and did not look like the pictures shown online. The frustrating part of our stay was that there is NO free Wi-Fi. You must pay 15.95 per day to use Wi-Fi. It's a major downfall when most 4 Star (and even lower star) hotels provide wi-fi access cat no charge.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene N, General Manager at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Olivia,
Thank you for staying with us and your feedback.
I am glad you did enjoy your stay and R view the roof top lounge. I also appreciate your recognition of our staff service. All of our 513 guest rooms have the same décor and are properly shown on our website, some of the corner king rooms and suites are different of course. Over the last couple of years we spend a large amount of money to upgrade and improve our wifi system. While we do offer free wifi in public areas we do indeed charge in our guest rooms. We do offer free internet to Marriott Reward elite members. Most full service hotels have some kind of charge for in room internet service.
Again thank you for your stay and we look forward to have you back.

Rene Neidhart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

My wife and I arrived on one of the busiest day's of the the year, 19 January 2014. You see this was the big day, Seahawks vs. 49ers for the NFC Championship! We had requested an early check in and while this is not guaranteed Marriott has always been good about doing what they can. When I arrived at the lobby to check in at around 10:00 I was met at the counter with and attitude and lack of desire to help me I was taken a back. I was told there was nothing that could be done to even try to get me into my room early and it very well may be 16:00hrs before I could check in. Frustrated I approached Chris Sullivan a few minutes later and explained what had taken place. Chris explained that game day's are usually pretty crazy and this being the big game it was sure to be even worse. Non the less Chris assured me that he would do everything he could to get us into our room. He took down my cell number and assured me that he would personally call me when our room was available. He check our bags and put us at ease. Two thumbs up to Chris!!
Our room was a corner suite that was clean, nicely appointed and ready to go at 11:00AM. Overall our experience at the Renaissance was fantastic and Chris had a lot to do with that!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GFreudenberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene N, General Manager at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Mr. Freudenberger,
Thank you very much for your great comment about Chris Sullivan. It was a crazy day indeed. While we can not always accomodate all early check in requests, check out time is 12 noon afterall, we try to please as much as we can. I am glad he was able to accomodate you in this case.
Please come back for a more relaxing 2 days in Seattle.

Rene Neidhart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Pioneer Square
Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square
Sheraton Seattle Hotel
#35 of 101 in Seattle
4,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
W Seattle
#36 of 101 in Seattle
550 reviews
Executive Hotel Pacific
#65 of 101 in Seattle
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Seattle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Seattle Hotel

Property: Renaissance Seattle Hotel
Address: 515 Madison Street, Seattle, WA 98104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#37 Business Hotel in Seattle
#41 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#51 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Seattle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 557
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Renaissance Seattle Hotel, a stylish hotel in downtown Seattle and one of the hotels conveniently located near CenturyLink and Safeco Fields, Pike Place Market, and upscale shopping. Our Seattle, Washington hotel eliminates travel stress thanks to easy access to major freeways and Sea-Tac International Airport. Unwind in spacious, guest rooms with stunning views of Puget Sound, the mountains and city skyline. From colorful paintings by local artists displayed in the lobby to a fully-equipped fitness center and high-speed Internet, our downtown Seattle hotel amenities outshine the rest. Bring a furry travel companion along to keep you company at one of the top pet-friendly hotels Seattle has to offer. Book your next event at our state-of-the-art 28th floor event space, and discover how our Seattle Marriott hotel seamlessly combines style, comfort and technology into an unforgettable urban retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Seattle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seattle Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing