We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wouldn't go back” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renaissance Seattle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Renaissance Seattle Hotel
Ranked #47 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wouldn't go back”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2008

I had a very disappointing experience at this hotel. The room faced the highway and if I looked out the window I could view either traffic jams or a construction project. Traffic noise could only be drowned out if you kept the room fan on. What was more disappointing, however, was the quality of the room and services. The furniture was shoddy and worn. On my second day there the hotel had run out of caffeinated coffee packets with which to make coffee in the room. Running out of coffee in Seattle??? While coffee was brought up to my room on the successive three days I was there, I had to ask for it each time. On my last evening, I specifically asked for coffee to be brought to the room and did not want a wake up call. Well--I got the wake up call before 6am (!) and no coffee. I certainly won't go back.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nett0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    492
    827
    324
    116
    45
See reviews for
269
545
107
575
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (519)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2008

The staff is great. The updated rooms are superb. The bathrooms have heated mirrors which is very helpful. WiFi is only free in the lobby. In room is $12 a day. Everything is within walking distance Pike St. - Pioneer Sq. - Westlake Center, just don't go directly straight up because it's a hike. It's best to walk up to 6th and then over from Pike St. If you have a rental car it's ridiculously easy to get there, here it is take I-5 north. When you this your getting close to downtown start moving to the right lane and take the Madison exit (it's kinda long). At the stoplight look to your left and that's the Renaissance. Will definitly stay here again.

  • Liked — The night staff
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank wanderlust55416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2008

We stayed at this Hotel the 1st of June. There was a group of us so we were all over this Hotel. It seems that some of the rooms on the upper floors have been remolded with new furniture, flat screen, etc. Our room on the 9th floor had not been. Lots of noise! We were facing the Highway and it was very noisy. However other people in our party stayed on the upper floors facing the back of the Hotel and didn't have problems with the noise.
The room was nice enough. Not great but not bad. I did have one really disgusting problem. I drank out of one of there glasses in the room that are furnished. I had lipstick on and when I left the room later on that morning the maid came and washed the glasses in the room and let me say not with soap! My lipstick was still on the glass! I had seen stuff like this on 60 mininutes and never thought about it again, until now! So from then on I drank only out of there disposable cups.
Everyone that worked here especially the Concierge were really nice and helpful. When you arrive they will give you a map of the city. The yellow part of the map show's where the bus rides are free in a large area of downtown.
I felt pretty safe during the day. I walked all over downtown and took the bus several time's. (People are really great if you have bus questions). At night we didn't walk around at all! And were told not to be several of the local people.
All in all its an ok hotel. Probably wouldn't stay there again.

  • Liked — The staff was nice
  • Disliked — Showers were really bad.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank qsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
303 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2008

We stayed here on a recent vist to Seattle because they took our Marriott Any Time certificate which I received for credit card miles. It came with free breakfast for 2 which the waiter extended into a full breakfast for 3. I think what makes this hotel stand out is the staff. They were all very friendly and accommodating and this made our stay. The room we had was large and well ventilated away from I-5. The roof level pool had great vistas of Seattle. The palce was very clean. The only drawbacks were the off center location and the colorless lobby. For us it was a good deal. For full price try for a more close in location. However it should be noted the hotel sits right on the free dwtown bus loop so that makes getting anywhere downtown easy

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
Thank drjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, MD
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2008

When we arrived we were given a "junior suite" because of our Marriott Silver Status. The upgraded room was a joke. Switches were broken, the linens were old, the bed sagged, the LCD TV was sitting on the radiator so you could not see it while in bed. In addition it was nearly impossible to move around the king size bed because there was no walking room. We had a room away from the highway but the road noise was still very bad. My wife didnot sleep a wink all night. In the morning we canceled the last 2 days of our reservation and moved to the TownePlace Suites near the airport. It was half the price and a much better than the Renaissance. This was the worst Marriott I have every stayed at. STAY AWAY

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mdterp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2008

I read most of the reviews and I agree with some of them and others not. Yes, the televisions are old and there are no microwaves or fridges in the room. But in my opinion staying in this hotel all depends on where your room is located. I was unfortunately on the side facing Interstate 5 and I was on the 5th floor. The noise was definitely troublesome to say the least. It wasn't bad getting to sleep if you like "white noise" in the background, but if you happen to wake up in the middle of the night it was difficult to go back to sleep. It's amazing that the traffic on the I-5 was constant all night long... I mean at 3:00 am there was a lot of traffic coming and going.

Overall, the staff was nice and there were some nice features in the hotel. I walked to a ballgame at Safeco Field and it was about a 20 minute walk. The hotel was within walking distance to most of the attractions. The library is one block away and you can use their internet and computers if you need to check your e-mail. You just tell the library staff you are visiting from out of town and they give you one free hour of internet and computer use.

I didn't have car with me so I have nothing to add about the parking. I took the Gray Line bus from the airport and it drops you off right in front of the hotel. This was a business trip for me so I didn't have to pay for the hotel out of my pocket. If I had paid for the hotel I would not have been a little more upset about the noise.

  • Liked — The lobby was nice
  • Disliked — The location to the interstate
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Randy817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2008

After reading the reviews I was very nervous that the hotel would be an old noisey uncomfortable place. When we arrived we were wonderfully surprised! The hotel had an elegant feel, with a nice lobby. We requested 2 rms with 2dbl beds each away from expressway. When we arrived they only had one room w/ 2dbl beds and a corner room near expressway. The corner room was great! It was like a mini suite with separate sitting room and sleeping area. There was some noise from street but nothing like I was expecting, just a little background noise. The 2nd room was smaller in comparison but very comfortable with nice ammenities. Pool on 28th floor with hot tub was small but had a great view especially at night. Staff were all very accomodating and nice.

Location was okay, walking distance to most but hills were very steep so more strenuous of a walk for distance.

Would definitley stay again and would reccomend it.

  • Stayed May 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank napal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Pioneer Square
Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square
W Seattle
#40 of 100 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Executive Hotel Pacific
#68 of 100 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Seattle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Seattle Hotel

Property: Renaissance Seattle Hotel
Address: 515 Madison Street, Seattle, WA 98104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#37 Business Hotel in Seattle
#41 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#51 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Seattle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 557
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Renaissance Seattle Hotel, a stylish hotel in downtown Seattle and one of the hotels conveniently located near CenturyLink and Safeco Fields, Pike Place Market, and upscale shopping. Our Seattle, Washington hotel eliminates travel stress thanks to easy access to major freeways and Sea-Tac International Airport. Unwind in spacious, guest rooms with stunning views of Puget Sound, the mountains and city skyline. From colorful paintings by local artists displayed in the lobby to a fully-equipped fitness center and high-speed Internet, our downtown Seattle hotel amenities outshine the rest. Bring a furry travel companion along to keep you company at one of the top pet-friendly hotels Seattle has to offer. Book your next event at our state-of-the-art 28th floor event space, and discover how our Seattle Marriott hotel seamlessly combines style, comfort and technology into an unforgettable urban retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Renaissance Seattle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seattle Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing