We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Renaissance Seattle Hotel
Ranked #47 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Arkansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A wonderful surprise”
Reviewed June 9, 2008

After reading the reviews I was very nervous that the hotel would be an old noisey uncomfortable place. When we arrived we were wonderfully surprised! The hotel had an elegant feel, with a nice lobby. We requested 2 rms with 2dbl beds each away from expressway. When we arrived they only had one room w/ 2dbl beds and a corner room near expressway. The corner room was great! It was like a mini suite with separate sitting room and sleeping area. There was some noise from street but nothing like I was expecting, just a little background noise. The 2nd room was smaller in comparison but very comfortable with nice ammenities. Pool on 28th floor with hot tub was small but had a great view especially at night. Staff were all very accomodating and nice.

Location was okay, walking distance to most but hills were very steep so more strenuous of a walk for distance.

Would definitley stay again and would reccomend it.

  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank napal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    504
    843
    328
    120
    45
See reviews for
273
554
109
593
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (531)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
90 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2008

From the moment we checked in, our stay at the Renaissance Seattle was great. Every staff member we encountered was friendly and helpful. Although a bit small, the room was spotless and very comfortable. The food prices--including room service--were extremely affordable, and all the food we had was amazing. The fitness center was also nice, and the location was great for what we wanted to do--walking distance to Pike Place Market, the monorail to the Space Needle, Pioneer Square, and Safeco Field (although I wouldn't recommend the walk back from Pioneer Square or Safeco Field simply because it is mostly up very steep hills). I would certainly recommend this hotel to pretty much anyone looking for a great stay in Seattle!

  • Liked — service, location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ageeksaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest Exile
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2008

I'm the first to admit that upon reading the reviews on TripAdvisor about the Renaissance Seattle I was really tempted to change my reservation - but given that I had an excellent rate (friend got me a discount) and the other hotels in the area were at least twice as much, I held my breath, said a prayer and hoped for the best.

You really should see it for yourself and the only thing I regret about my stay is that I didn't take any pictures of the place to post here.

The room renovations are up to date, trendy and stylish. I often travel for business and I don't usually sleep well in a hotel the first night but had no problems here. Television is now flat-screen - no fridge in the room but with turndown service nightly we got a fresh bucket of ice. Admittedly, the room size is a bit smaller than most, but they were still comfortable and roomy enough to hang out in for a couple of hours during the day. Someone in an earlier review mentioned not having a fan for the bathroom and there isn't a seperate fan (which I was worried about) but the four days I was there I never found it to be a problem. Infact, this bathroom often cleared out faster than some others in hotels that do have separate fans.

Unlike some other Marriott properties, this one does have wireless in the rooms. If you have two laptops with wireless you either need to pay twice for the internet access OR someone will need to write down the access code and you'll have to take turns. I called the front desk on this and tried to get them to understand when you've got two people traveling, and two people with two seperate laptops that need to use their own laptop for business purposes paying twice for the service seems stupid, but I didn't win that battle.

And the hotel staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. They've got a great crew there and I would not hesitate to stay there again. Had dinner one night in the lounge on the top floor - relaxing, priced about what I would expect for a hotel restaurant/lounge, and incredible biews.

The one downside is that it is a bit further away from the rest of the "toursity" area of Seattle, but it's not like it's an unreasonable walk either. Another individual suggested taking 6th when walking if you want it to be a little less hilly and that's a great suggestion too. There is a city bus that within certain areas is free and for a nominal amount will take you other places as well. Most things are within walking distance though. In the few days we were there we walked to the monorail that took us to Seattle Center, walked to Pike's Market, the ferry pier, to Pioneer Square, and to Safeco Field without any problem or troubles.

I've stayed at a number of Marriott properties (have marriott elite status) and this is one of the nicest I've been to and would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Liked — Super friendly staff, great rooms, good location
  • Disliked — Wireless internet policy/cost, limited food options immediately around the hotel.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Joysephus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gers
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2008

Business trip - first time to city and found hotel disappointing. The lobby area and other public areas lacked character. The bedroom was small and slightly shoddy. The restaurant was okay for breakfast but not attractive for evening (I didn't even go as far as looking at the menu). And to cap it all was the price. I found this hotel expensive and not good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bagicatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2008

...and it is almost bright enough to read by. Despite the remodel, the curtains are very poorly fit to the window, which is recessed. Could be substantially alleviated by a better fit, and one of those short curtains that cover the top part, hung on the outside of the recess.

I hate it when it is obvious that a renovation is done purely for visual aesthetic, and no member of management has ever actually tried to sleep in the room.

Room on the 21st floor, on the opposite side from the freeway, is still pretty noisy, though not enough to bother me, since I use a white noise machine anyway -- but I pity the poor traveller who gets a low room on the freeway side, which also happens to face east, meaning the light problem is no doubt even worse.

Otherwise, everything else about the place is nice, followiing the remodel. A much better hotel to look at than to sleep in, though.

  • Liked — Room is comfy for hanging out
  • Disliked — Room is not so great to sleep in
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Essephreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern CA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2008

We just backed from Seattle for the memoiral day weekend. This hotel is nice and location is OK. I booked from priceline.com. It was great price. When we checked in as family of four, the hotel did not have any rollaway bed so they upgrde us to a corner suite! The suite is nice and has room for the kids. Everyone in the hotel is very nice and lobby and hallway are not too bad. Close to freeway but it is not that noisy. We rented a car but did not use the hotel's parking lot ($27 a day). It is not hard to find free street parking near the hotel maybe it is because of long weekend.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
Thank Lovetravelpskk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2008

So I read most of the reviews before staying here and, honestly, considered changing my reservations. I'm glad that I didn't. The place is very nice, located up some steep hills (if you're walking), there's construction going on and a freeway to look. But if you can get past that (we did, pretty easily, too) it's a nice property. Being a platinum member, I called ahead and asked to be upgraded. We got a room on the 26th floor with views of Seattle on three sides. Smallish room with a separate sitting area. Same floor as the club lounge, so that was nice. Hotel was clean, everyone acted very professional and there's plenty of things to walk to within just a few blocks. We didn't rent a car here and, if you can avoid it, I wouldn't do it. It's too costly and Seattle is a good cab city. I would stay here again, but would like check out the Marriott on the waterfront first, just for a little variety. Also, paid $135 with a VIP card, so all things considered, it was a very good deal.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
Thank MarriottGuySanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Pioneer Square
Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square
W Seattle
#37 of 100 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Executive Hotel Pacific
#66 of 100 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Seattle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Seattle Hotel

Property: Renaissance Seattle Hotel
Address: 515 Madison Street, Seattle, WA 98104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#37 Business Hotel in Seattle
#41 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#51 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Seattle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 557
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Renaissance Seattle Hotel, a stylish hotel in downtown Seattle and one of the hotels conveniently located near CenturyLink and Safeco Fields, Pike Place Market, and upscale shopping. Our Seattle, Washington hotel eliminates travel stress thanks to easy access to major freeways and Sea-Tac International Airport. Unwind in spacious, guest rooms with stunning views of Puget Sound, the mountains and city skyline. From colorful paintings by local artists displayed in the lobby to a fully-equipped fitness center and high-speed Internet, our downtown Seattle hotel amenities outshine the rest. Bring a furry travel companion along to keep you company at one of the top pet-friendly hotels Seattle has to offer. Book your next event at our state-of-the-art 28th floor event space, and discover how our Seattle Marriott hotel seamlessly combines style, comfort and technology into an unforgettable urban retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Renaissance Seattle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seattle Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing