We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, but some things could improve.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Seattle Hotel
Ranked #50 of 104 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

I grabbed a Priceline "Name Your Price" stay at the Marriott Renaissance and was happy with the hotel. The staff are extremely courteous and willing to help. I called ahead to make sure we could charge our EV when we arrived, and was told "no problem". When we arrived, there was no charging station, so I had to go to another parkade a few blocks away and walk back. No big deal, but I thought it strange that nobody knew about electric vehicles and where to charge them in 2013? The rooms are modern and comfortable, but bring some earplugs, the traffic noise is punishing. Sound insulation needs to be upgraded, since I could hear the room next door quite easily. Everything from the wake up alarm to the phone call. It's an 8 block walk to Pike Place, and the terrain is steep and a good cardio workout. Parking is outrageous, but then again almost all parking garages in the area are $33 or more for a day. For the 40% discount I got on Priceline it is worth the stay, but regular rack rates? I'd say look at something closer to Pike Place.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sixweeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene N, General Manager at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Thank you very much for staying with and your comments.
We do appreciate that you liked your stay and I am sorry that the person you spoke to did not know that we do not have an electric vehicle charging station. I am going to make sure that all of our employees know where the closest charging stations are.

Again thank you for your nice comments and I do hope that you return to stay with us real soon.

Rene Neidhart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,944)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,166 - 1,172 of 1,944 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2013

We came in from a cruise ship and had a scheduled Bon Vivant wine tour that morning. The hotel staff was wonderful in getting us checked in early (10am) so we could leave our bags in the security of a locked room. My parents were also thankful, since they didn't have to be to the airport until 3pm. They, too, kept their bags in our room and explored Seattle without worry! The bed and pillows were comfortable, room layout was expansive and nicely set up. Our only complaint was that the walls are a little thin, but we were so tired that it wasn't too bad.
Thank you to the staff for being amazing!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank llrobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene N, General Manager at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Thank you very much for staying with us and your great comments about or staff.
We understand that service is important to our guests, and our staff appreciates all the positive feedback we are getting in regards to our service.

Rene Neidhart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Completely avg. stay. The hotel location is about the only thing We were ok with. The Hotel noise was very high from the rooms close to us, to the outside noise in the downtown setting. We were supposedly upgraded to a corner suite on the 11th floor, (never been in a suite on the 11th floor?) and the view they said to be the best in the hotel. WRONG! You could see a poster size view of the water and many of the surrounding buildings including the courthouse... What a view!!! NOT! When I asked the day after we arrived if there was anything higher with a better view, they informed me, that was the best iw in the whole hotel. Not exactly the best answer when the hotel goes I think 28 floors and a higher floor would let us see over the adjacent buildings... Whatever, they must not have seen I stay in Marriott properties 150+ nights year. The room itself was below avg. The room was very small with a very small living room with a couch and desk that lead into a hallway with the bed. (Remember this is a suite) With a king sized bed, the room was barely big enough to walk around on the sides of it. The bathroom was barely big enough for a toilet, sink and shower. The sink's drain was clogged and would take 8-10 min to drain after washing hands. The hallway in front of the closet had a huge red stain on the floor that was clearly noticeable. The couch in the room was completely stained and had so much dust on it, I wiped it down with a damp rag myself. The TV satellite kept freezing making it very frustrating to watch a movie. What was really frustrating was the concierge lounge. Let me just say, there is no way that many people should ever be in there. I don't know if they were giving everybody access or what but it was a joke and way too crowded. This privilege used to be reserved for people with elite status and not any Jo schmo that pay extra for it. This is usually a place to get away and have some quiet time, not compete with crowds of people just to get a water or a muffin. Groups of young kids, that I KNOW don't stay 50-75 nights a year in able to get access to this lounge. Maybe a parent does but a group of friends should or be allowed to go in there. There should be limited access. Just my opinion. The elevators were extremely slow also, ESP. Since there was a conference at the hotel. Very slow and people getting on to go 1 floor. No common sense!! The service also was below avg. We called down and asked for an essential toiletry item only to have to wait 1 hour and call again. Not acceptable. As you can probably tell after reading my post, I was not very satisfied with my stay. The location was good but that's about it. Stay at the Marriott down on the harbor.

Room Tip: Get a high room to drown out all the noise and try to stay away from the freeway side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank K P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHLovell, Director of Sales at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear KP-

I am so sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. Had we not been fully occupied, I am sure we would have accommodated your request to move you to a higher floor. You made a very good point and that is how we refer to our Corner King rooms. We interchangeably call them "Corner Kings" and "Executive Suites", and I agree the word "Suite" is misleading for this particular room category. We have heard this before and will change our verbiage immediately.

With regard to the Concierge Lounge situation, we have seen this ourselves and are looking into a solution to "protect" this privilege for our guests with elite Marriott status.

The elevators are all brand new as of this year and it is disappointing you found them to be so slow. I can only speculate that at peak times of the day when the hotel is completely full, the elevators are impacted.

I would welcome the chance to speak with you and will private message you to find out your guestroom number so we can be sure the room is appropriately maintained.

Thank you for your feedback and we hope you will give us another try should your travels bring you back up our way.

Sincerely,

Nancy Helms-Lovell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

The staff in this hotel were outstanding and friendly. The view from our room was really nice and the room was comfortable. Breakfast was included in our stay and it was really good. We did not have a car so we did not pay the extra money for Parking...really...you don't need a car if you are staying in Seattle for a short period of time. Save your money and go and have a nice dinner somewhere. You can get around Seattle by Taxi or public transportation very easy. Would I stay in Hotel again....YES ...YES

Room Tip: I tell my friends to get the concierge level at all Marriott's if you can. Best advise I can gi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patticup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene N, General Manager at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and your great review.

I do appreciate that your nice comments about our service and that you enjoyed our food.
Please hurry back real soon

Rene Neidhart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Don't stay here unless you can get an absolute guarantee that you will be given a room away from the freeway. The noise is incredible and when you enter the room (on the 8th floor, 823) the fans are turned way up to mask the sound of the freeway. We had a corner room, the corner of freeway and freeway! Nothing worked...ear plugs, sleep medication, a pillow over my head. Worst night experience I can ever remember having. Staff was not helpful in giving me a room off the freeway, which I had asked for when I checked in, saying that the hotel was sold out. Never again.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the freeway are a MUST...corner room is great if not on the corner of freeway and fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Richard867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHLovell, Director of Sales at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear Richard867-

I am so sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. it is true we have been 100% fully occupied the past week and would have moved you to another room if we had one available. It is always our intent to make our guests as comfortable as possible.

The good news is we will be starting to replace the east (highway) facing windows shortly and this should greatly reduce the sounds of city traffic.

I noticed you are from Seattle and we would really love it if you would give us another try if you ever need downtown accommodations. Please contact me directly by calling the hotel and asking for me so I can ensure you have a perfect stay.

Sincerely,

Nancy Helms-Lovell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

My wife and I began an extended visit to Alaska with a two-stay here and were pleased with the facility, staff and food. We were warmly received, had a great room and, being tired from our flight in from the East coast, found excellent food and service at the hotel restaurant, we had excellent guidance about walking and public transportation from the staff. Great stay.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank RoninParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHLovell, Director of Sales at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear RoninParis-

Thank you for your outstanding review of your precruise stay at the Renaissance Seattle. We are so pleased we made you feel welcome and comfortable upon your arrival after a long trip, and that you found the food and service in our restaurant to be excellent. It's great to hear that staff gave you helpful tips on getting around in our city.

We hope the rest of your trip up to Alaska was as enjoyable. Thank you again!

Sincerely,

Nancy Helms-Lovell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We priced this hotel on Priceline and got a decent rate considering it was also U of W graduation weekend.
Hotel is conveniently located.
Worst part is the parking! Parking prices were $40 for self park and $50 for valet. Street parking is $4 per hour but you can park in a private paid lot for about half that price
Parking is free after 10 pm and on Sundays.
Hotel is centrally located and not too far from anything. Most of downtown is "hilly" and in many instances can compare to San Francisco.
All in all, a good deal

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene N, General Manager at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Thank you very much for staying with us and your review.
I do appreciate that you liked our hotel overall. As you mentioned correctly parking is expensive in Seattle and our rates are comparable to all major hotels in downtown. There are two reason for this.
1. The $40 rate includes a tax of 21%. 2. Downtown hotels have only a limited number of spaces on site and we have to rent offsite spaces that cost us anywhere from $20 to$30 per night in addition to the labor costs to park the cars.

I hope you do understand our position and I look forward to hopefully see you again at our hotel on your next visit to Seattle.

Rene Neidhart.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Belltown
Seattle Marriott Waterfront
W Seattle
#34 of 104 in Seattle
723 reviews
Sheraton Seattle Hotel
#33 of 104 in Seattle
4,704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belltown
The Westin Seattle
The Westin Seattle
#43 of 104 in Seattle
2,747 reviews
Pioneer Square
Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Seattle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Seattle Hotel

Address: 515 Madison Street, Seattle, WA 98104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#37 Business Hotel in Seattle
#41 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: $163 - $452 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Seattle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 557
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Renaissance Seattle Hotel, a stylish hotel in downtown Seattle and one of the hotels conveniently located near CenturyLink and Safeco Fields, Pike Place Market, and upscale shopping. Our Seattle, Washington hotel eliminates travel stress thanks to easy access to major freeways and Sea-Tac International Airport. Unwind in spacious, guest rooms with stunning views of Puget Sound, the mountains and city skyline. From colorful paintings by local artists displayed in the lobby to a fully-equipped fitness center and high-speed Internet, our downtown Seattle hotel amenities outshine the rest. Bring a furry travel companion along to keep you company at one of the top pet-friendly hotels Seattle has to offer. Book your next event at our state-of-the-art 28th floor event space, and discover how our Seattle Marriott hotel seamlessly combines style, comfort and technology into an unforgettable urban retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Renaissance Seattle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seattle Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing