We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rethinking my harsh review!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Seattle Hotel
Ranked #48 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
“Rethinking my harsh review!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

I was very pleased that I had a response from the manager of the hotel. I have not spoken to Renee yet but will follow through with the call.
Upon re-eading my rather harsh review ( I was sleep deprived at that time) I feel that I should have told about my good experiences there as well:
The food in this hotel is exceptional! Truly magical really.
I really had not thought about how a review for the hotel would affect the restaurant and all the other wonderful accoutrements like the decor and the fine french gentleman who offered me an umbrella when it rained.
Maybe i was so mad when complaining about my lack of sleep at 5 am iI had mistaken the Concierge' tone. If so I am feeling a bit sheepish about this.
When creating my next review I will give it a few days and really think before criticizing

Again, I think that if Renee, the General Manager is reading and responding to reviews that speaks volumes to me.
Perhaps when the windows are replaced and I have proper walking shoes I will stay again.
Humbly yours,
Travel bug

Room Tip: Ask the front desk for a quiet room or ear plugs. Bring good shoes to walk to the downtown area. Hi...
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank travelbug9496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHLovell, Director of Sales at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Travel Bug:

How nice to hear from you again! We thank you for the "updated" review and I want to assure you that Mr. Neidhart is reading this and will appreciate your kind comments....especially about the food at the hotel. He is not at the hotel at the moment and asked that I respond in his absence and he looks forward to catching up with you by phone.

We value our guests' comments and suggestions and use them to celebrate and recognize our hardworking staff as well as to make changes necessary to enhance the overall guest experience.

We will hopefully have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Sincerely,

Nancy Helms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,817 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    497
    832
    324
    119
    45
See reviews for
270
548
108
580
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (522)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
37 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Stayed at this hotel on June 9 - 12 for a conference. The staff was friendly but .... Our "special" conference rate was $190 without taxes and fees. The very same price available on the website. No special deal at all. One would think that with this price, wireless internet access would be included either in the room or the meeting room. But that is extra. Much extra. The gym was tiny, crowded, dirty and need of a major renovation. The halls on the floor I stayed (15th) were dirty. They desperately needed to be vacuumed but never saw that done. My room was a corner room facing the Interstate. Noisy but spacious. Once again the carpets were dirty. The restaurant was overpriced and unappealing.

Room Tip: Always ask for a corner suite. Do NOT get a room on the floor below the gym. Do not plan on eating...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cory S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHLovell, Director of Sales at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
First of all thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your recent experience. The week of June 9th was exceptionally busy in the city and we were running a full house. I checked on the rates offered on line and as of June 3, we were selling $239 on June 9 and the 10th and 11th were closed, meaning there were no more rooms available. Please know the $190 rate you referenced was definitely a special rate!

I am sorry you were not pleased with the gym but I am pleased to report, as part of our continuous improvements, we will be relocating the gym and expanding it later this year! The hallway carpets and wallpaper have been replaced on every floor over the past 4 months so we are looking into why your floor was not perfect for your stay. I sincerely apologize for this.

Thank you again for your feedback. We hope you will try us again if your travels ever bring you back to Seattle.

Sincerely,

Nancy Helms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Stayed at the Renaissance over the weekend. Had two rooms reserved. They were able to give us connecting rooms at check-in and upgraded one of the rooms to a corner junior suite.
Nice clean and modern rooms. There is some freeway noise, but it is hard to have a quiet room in the city.
Beds were comfortable, my only request would be better pillows and towels.
We were able to walk downtown fairly quickly and easily.
Valet parking was great, they were always pretty quick to get us the car.
Next time though we might try staying somewhere closer to the market area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebYlikestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHLovell, Director of Sales at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at the Renaissance. We are delighted we were able to play a significant role in ensuring you had a "Great time in Seattle"!

Thank you also for your comments about our Valet parking services. We are pleased that you found their service to be quick and efficient.

We appreciate your understanding that it is difficult to have a quiet room in the city but that the accommodations and location were comfortable and convenient.

We hope you will come back and see us again.

Sincerely,

Nancy Helms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

This hotel is in a great location for most things in the city, I didn't have to get a cab anywhere, all walking distance, if you have a car it could be tough and expensive for parking.

The staff are all very friendly and willing to help.

The rooms are a nice size and comfortable, the AC works well and the bathroom has a good shower over the bath.

The Internet is a good speed although not free, the curtains are poor with limited blackout ability, and although the tv has enough channels to entertain the reception is poor so the picture constantly freezes making it almost Impossible to watch some channels, also, request a high floor away from the freeway, otherwise it could be very noisy? Aside from this the room was acceptable.

The room service was on time and the food nice, the breakfast buffet was very limited in what it had to offer, more choice is needed, the food on offer was of an average standard, I did not try the other available restaurants.

The gym was good with a great view, it was quiet when I went and is available 24hrs.

Check out was quick and easy, with no surprises.

Overall a nice average hotel, but I'd say a somewhat oberpriced experience. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor around the back, away from the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GBSDO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHLovell, Director of Sales at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us! We are glad you found our staff to be friendly and the accommodations comfortable. We are also pleased you found our location to be central to all of Seattle's major attractions.

I am sorry the TV reception was not so good and will message you privately to find out which room you were in so we can remedy that immediately for future guests!

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back.

Sincerely,
Nancy Helms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

We opted for the Renaissance Seattle as part of a recent conference and couldn't have been more pleased. The property is lovely, located conveniently and the staff (especially the bellmen/valets) are top-notch. The rooms are spacious, well-maintained and the view from the 28th floor (RView) is not to be missed. Definitely recommend this gem (complete with a concierge who left Paris for Seattle 24 years ago and hasn't looked back) in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kittydoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHLovell, Director of Sales at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of the Renaissance Seattle! We really appreciate the time you took to highlight your recent experience at our hotel. I will personally pass on your compliments to our bellman/valets and Jean-Paul, our French concierge or "Navigator Guide" as we refer to him in the world of Renaissance! We feel very lucky to have these individuals on our team.

I'm so glad you enjoyed RView on the 28th floor. We are preparing to launch our new seasonal menu and there are some delicious additions to be enjoyed! We hope you will come back and see us really soon.

Sincerely,

Nancy Helms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed at the Renaissance Seattle Hotel for 1 night before leaving for a cruise the following day. We usually stay in Marriott related establishments because of the quality, amenities and customer service that we receive. This was a different experience for us because of the freeway noise.
When we checked into our room, the air conditioner was going, which isn't unusually from our experience in hotels. We were only in our room long enough to drop off our luggage and then left to find some place to eat. Our goal was the Pike Market Place near the pier. Note: It's a LONG walk to the market place (and steep streets in some areas), so unless your mobility is good, I would suggest taking a taxi. After several hours we went back to our room.
Ready to relax for the evening, we decided to turn off the air conditioner. To our surprise, the noise from the freeway was really loud. We checked the window (10th floor) and it would not seal completely. There was no way I was going to get any sleep with this noise. We called the front desk and reported our problem. I was informed that there were no other rooms available (Memorial Day weekend), but they would see if they could accommodate us. Finally, we were switched to a room on the 5th floor. Unfortunately, the same freeway noise problem existed. We kept the air conditioner on all night to drown out the noise. Would I stay here again? Don't know. Double pane windows, that seal tightly, would be nice to avoid this situation.

Room Tip: IF, you even decide to stay here, I would request a room away from the freeway side of the building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k2d2California
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHLovell, Director of Sales at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for your review and for your loyalty to Marriott and Marriott related brands. We agree that the benefit of staying in a Marriott brand is that you know what you can expect.

I am sorry you were inconvenienced by the freeway noise and that we were unable to relocate you to a more suitable room due to our sold out status. There are some who find the highway noise unpleasant and there are plans to replace the windows at the end of the year as part as our continuous improvement efforts.

As far as location is concerned, we are right in the middle of downtown - situated between Pioneer Square/Century Link Field to the south of us and Pike Place Market to the North of us. For those who find walking back to the hotel after a day of shopping and sightseeing a little strenuous, there is a number 12 bus that conveniently stops in front of Pike Place Market and drops you off right in front of the hotel.

We hope if your travels bring you back to Seattle you will give us another try. We would love to welcome you back.

Sincerely,

Nancy Helms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pahrump, Nevada
Level Contributor
179 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Finding a parking spot in downtown Seattle is impossible. We parked in the structure under the hotel and took the parking ticket to the front desk thinking that they would validate it. Instead they charged us a huge parking fee. Importantly, be careful and check for extra charges. They charge for items you use in the room and they charged us for bottled water that we didn't use. Wi-Fi is not complimentary. In fact, not much of anything is complimentary. The lady at the front desk was very friendly and she put us in a high room overlooking the Sound so the view was wonderful. The concierge service is excellent.
The location of the hotel is convenient to a lot of city attractions. We walked just a few blocks to a nice restaurant. The Pike Place Market is less than a mile away.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krauser848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHLovell, Director of Sales at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at the Renaissance Seattle. We are pleased you enjoyed the beautiful view of the Puget Sound from your guestroom and that our Front Desk and Concierge gave you a warm welcome and provided excellent service. We love to hear such positive comments about our staff.

Regarding parking, I'm afraid parking in downtown Seattle is expensive but our pricing is in line with other properties downtown. I trust the charge for bottled water was removed from your folio at checkout and apologize for this mistake. If that is not the case, please let me know and we will be sure to reverse the charge.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to see you again!

Sincerely,

Nancy Helms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Pioneer Square
Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square
W Seattle
#38 of 100 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Executive Hotel Pacific
#67 of 100 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Seattle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Seattle Hotel

Property: Renaissance Seattle Hotel
Address: 515 Madison Street, Seattle, WA 98104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#37 Business Hotel in Seattle
#41 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#51 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Seattle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 557
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Renaissance Seattle Hotel, a stylish hotel in downtown Seattle and one of the hotels conveniently located near CenturyLink and Safeco Fields, Pike Place Market, and upscale shopping. Our Seattle, Washington hotel eliminates travel stress thanks to easy access to major freeways and Sea-Tac International Airport. Unwind in spacious, guest rooms with stunning views of Puget Sound, the mountains and city skyline. From colorful paintings by local artists displayed in the lobby to a fully-equipped fitness center and high-speed Internet, our downtown Seattle hotel amenities outshine the rest. Bring a furry travel companion along to keep you company at one of the top pet-friendly hotels Seattle has to offer. Book your next event at our state-of-the-art 28th floor event space, and discover how our Seattle Marriott hotel seamlessly combines style, comfort and technology into an unforgettable urban retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Seattle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seattle Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing