We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay near medical center”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Seattle Hotel
Ranked #49 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Milton Freewater, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great place to stay near medical center”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I believe this is a great hotel that is about 7 blocks from the water front and 4-5 from Swedish medical. The number 10/12 bus runs on Madison between the medical center to the ferry dock so it is easy to get up and down the hill. The hotel offers several eating choices as well. Also it is one of the few Seattle downtown hotels that has an indoor pool. The rooms are nice and the staff are very professional.

Room Tip: Try for the SW direction and on a good day you can see the mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene N, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us and your great review. Our location in relationship to the hospitals is one of the best in the city for sure, especially with the bus stop being right outside the hotel. I am sorry that I have to contradict you in regards to the pool. We do no longer have a pool as we closed it several years ago. We are indeed one of the few hotels that offer several food and beverage options and thank you for recognizing the professionalism of our staff.
Hope to see you back soon.

Rene Neidhart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,874 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    517
    858
    333
    121
    45
See reviews for
285
563
112
601
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (536)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helena, Montana
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is a great place to stay. I like to walk all over a city when I'm there and I was able to go Pikes Place Market, the downtown shopping area, along the water you name it. I've stayed at the Renaissance several times and the view from the rooms are spectacular. A very classy hotel in a great city.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrMeat9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene N, General Manager at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you very much for your repeat visit and for your great review.
We do appreciate any type of feedback but are of course especially pleased when we hear that our guests had a positive experience.

Again thank you and come back real soon.

Rene Neidhart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 428 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I love the west side rooms with the peekaboo water views along with looks at the distant Olympics and Space Needle. It's a pastel-filled delight to watch the sunset from the 28th floor bar; being enveloped in darkness with the rest of this delightful NW destination.
The big issue is noise from the freeway if you're in any room that's not on the west side. The property has been updated in the last few years, so it has a fresh, hip sense to it. They could have invested a little more on the mattresses but the rooms are clean and comfortable.
Everything is close to the R. World class restaurants, culture, chaos. We were in town during the May Day demonstrations and it was all police, protest and tear gas. Seattle in a party mood. Ha! Not enough disruption to stop us from finding some succulent seafood.
When we got back, the lobby was full of jazz. There must have been eight musician playing classic favorites and it was hopping. One more touch to keep the R ahead of the pack.

Room Tip: Always request a west side room as high up in the tower as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jay r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene N, General Manager at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you very much or staying with us and your nice comments about our hotel.
R View on the 28 floor is indeed a gem worth visiting. As you mentioned we feature live entertainment in the lobby bar every Thursday night. I hope you will e back real soon.

Rene Neidhart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Hills, California
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

I am a loyal Marriott guest so I was able to use my points to stay at this Renaissance property. I have stayed at several Renaissance properties all over the world so my expectations were high. Before you book this hotel know that it is located right off I-5 freeway (I could not sleep the first night due to traffic noise, but they were kind enough to move me to the other side). I know we have ALL noted this in our reviews but it was still shocking when I arrived. We paid for self-parking and both nights there were no spots left in the parking garage when we returned from a late dinner. Sunday we had to park on the street which defeats paying $32+ for an enclosed garage. The rooms were decent and clean. We walked all over downtown Seattle and while the walk "down" to the waterfront was not bad, the walk up the hill was tiresome. Tip: from the waterfront walk up Pike or Pine and turn right on 5th - it is not as steep! We tried the following restaurants in the Post Alley and liked them all - The Pink Door, Steelhead Diner and Cafe Campagne. We also drove to Capitol Hill and went to both a regular Gastropub called Elysian Brewing Company and a new "Nano Brewery" (smaller than a micro brewery) called The Standard. Our favorite area was Ballard (a short drive from downtown Seattle) - cool and trendy shops and restaurants (Noble Fir, Kings, Sexton, Bastille & Kangaroo & Kiwi). They have a bar for whatever mood you are in :>) Our best find in Ballard was a new Nano Brewery called The Peddler - ride your bikes and park in a warehouse and get a growler to put on bike and pedal home! Great casual atmosphere... We also loved the Ballard Farmers Market on Sunday. Glad we were on the go since the hotel was not worth sticking around to hang out or have a drink... next time we will select one of the other Marriott Properties in Seattle.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room on a higher floor that faces the water and not the freeway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBMBZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene N, General Manager at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you very much or staying with us and your comments about our hotel. I am sorry that you were not able to sleep well the first night. I do understand that some of our guests do have a problem with the freeway, but others as mentioned in the many reviews we receive do not. I am glad that we were able to change your room during your stay and as much as possible we will accommodate our guests if necessary to do so. While the parking garage does get full during certain times of the year, we do offer valet parking services off site to insure that all of our guests have parking as they require. I hope that our service made up for the shortcomings of the room and hope that you will return to our hotel on your next visit to Seattle.

Rene Neidhart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

This hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Seattle -- once you navigate the maze of one-way streets and finally locate it. Parking can be a challenge and expensive ($32 + tax nightly to self-park) in a multi-level parking basement under the hotel. Once you arrive to the entry to your room -- which is quite easy with stylish room numbers embossed into the carpeting, you can relax in a comfortable space.
Staff was friendly and helpful, with room furnishings good and adequate. However, the ambient noise from non-stop traffic which went through the night could be especially difficult for light sleepers regardless of what floor you sleep (as could be testified by a business colleague on the 23rd floor.) One notable issue would be exceedingly slow elevator service. For some reason, wait for an elevator (there are four) seemed to average at least 5 minutes each time -- regardless of time of day. Fellow guests on the elevators were making this same observation.

Room Tip: Run the air conditioner on a continuous setting so that the fan drowns out the outside traffic that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene N, General Manager at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you very much for your nice comments about our service. We believe in customer service and are pleased when our guests recognize that. We are a downtown hotel next to the highway. While some of our guests do have a problem with the noise, others as documented on this site do not. We will be replacing the windows later this year as part of our continuing renovation process. In the meantime we will make every effort possible to accommodate guests on the quiet side of the building. We just finished our elevator redo and now all 5 guest floor elevators are back in service. This should speed up the elevators and reduce any unnecessary wait. I do apologize if that inconvenienced you in any way.
I hope that our great service and rooms will bring you back to our hotel.

Rene Neidhart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for one night in February 2013. We booked via an online aggregator.

From a convenience perspective the location is good: walking distance to anything in downtown and right next to the I5. It's located basically on top of a hill, so be prepared to hike up and down a hill (good exercise!) to go anywhere.

From a noise perspective, though, the location is, well, right next to the I5 - almost right on top of it, actually. If you're on the east side of the building you're literally looking down on the freeway, and the noise proofing is poor, so be prepared to listen to the freeway all night.

Rooms are standard issue 3-4 star rooms: clean, modern, big TV, small bathrooms. We were right outside the elevators on a weekend and interior noise was fine throughout the night. Nothing spectacular, but adequate. The website says "luxury", but really they mean "comfortable".

There is not free wifi in the rooms, though there is in the lobby. Note to hotel management: it's 2013. If McDonalds can cut into their margins to give away free wifi, so can you.

The fitness centre is good: not huge, but new equipment that's well maintained, lots of audio-visual and jacks and modern thingamabobs, and lots of towels. It's on an upper floor with an inspiring view of a neighbouring building.

Parking is expensive, but that's true of downtown Seattle generally, and there is actually quite a bit of street parking around the hotel. We arrived on Saturday, parked on the street (lots of space), and it cost us maybe $12 bucks for the evening, and free on Sunday.

The concierge was good. Friendly, relaxed, funny, knew exactly what kind of restaurant we were looking for, recognized us the next day. It takes a special kind of person to be a good concierge, and they managed to find that person at this hotel.

Overall, a pretty standard, reliable, just-below-luxury modern downtown hotel for business travel or tourists. Nothing to really annoy you (except for the wifi), nothing to really excite you, which is fine.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank StocktonToMalone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene N, General Manager at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us and for your feedback. I do understand that some of our guests do have a problem with the freeway, but others as mentioned in the many reviews we receive do not. I do hope that the service you received from our concierge, we do believe that we have the best in the business, and the modern rooms will bring you back to our hotel. We believe in reinvesting in to our building and I can assure you that every six months we will have something new and exciting.
Rene Neidhart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Wa
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We got a decent Priceline rate for this hotel and discovered that the parking was $34..... there is nothing special about the room and the public areas were pleasant, however the smells from the restaurant on the second floor were present all the way to the lobby( good smell none the less but still a bit unprofessional) I don't think we will stay here anytime soon. The walking up and down the hills to and from the hotel alone will keep us away along with the parking fee.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mykidsmomBellevue_Wa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Pioneer Square
Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square
Executive Hotel Pacific
#65 of 101 in Seattle
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton Seattle Hotel
#37 of 101 in Seattle
4,160 reviews
W Seattle
#34 of 101 in Seattle
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Seattle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Seattle Hotel

Property: Renaissance Seattle Hotel
Address: 515 Madison Street, Seattle, WA 98104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#37 Business Hotel in Seattle
#41 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#51 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Seattle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 557
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Renaissance Seattle Hotel, a stylish hotel in downtown Seattle and one of the hotels conveniently located near CenturyLink and Safeco Fields, Pike Place Market, and upscale shopping. Our Seattle, Washington hotel eliminates travel stress thanks to easy access to major freeways and Sea-Tac International Airport. Unwind in spacious, guest rooms with stunning views of Puget Sound, the mountains and city skyline. From colorful paintings by local artists displayed in the lobby to a fully-equipped fitness center and high-speed Internet, our downtown Seattle hotel amenities outshine the rest. Bring a furry travel companion along to keep you company at one of the top pet-friendly hotels Seattle has to offer. Book your next event at our state-of-the-art 28th floor event space, and discover how our Seattle Marriott hotel seamlessly combines style, comfort and technology into an unforgettable urban retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Seattle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seattle Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing