We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Seattle Hotel
Ranked #48 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is average. Definitely not the best hotel we ever stayed at in Seattle. Very surprised Hotwire considered this a 4 star hotel, I would rate it a 3 at best.

Don't waste your money on getting the upgraded room, the only difference is a better view, however the room size is smaller.


Would not go back.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashtin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,862 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    513
    852
    331
    121
    45
See reviews for
279
559
111
600
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (533)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chino Hills
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Can't wait to stay here again. The hotel staff at check-in were so very accommodating. They went out of their way to welcome me and suggest things to do when I told them I was only in town for a 3 day vacation.

Room Tip: High floors with a west facing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MICHAEL G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
170 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Hotel is in a good location, parking is a rip off, over $35! Internet is also paid for as well yet is free in nearly every public building in the US! There is a lot of noise that transfers between the rooms and I was able to hear the next room on the skype through the connecting door. AC/Heating was also very noisy. There is a gym on the top floor, pool is closed down, gym was too small and full of people waiting to get on a treadmill in the mornings.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank speedbird1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I must have been on the other side of the hall from the people who wrote the review below. We were there on the same weekend and, like them, upgraded to a higher, quieter floor for $30/night. We were put next to this inconsiderate group of people who had visitors all night long. At one point, yes, 3 am, they had loud discussions in the hall. One of them laying down on the hallway floor enjoying his music.

We called to the desk for help, and nothing happened. If they had real hotel security, they would have smelled the weed in the hallway at 7 pm when the fun started. And if they had real security they would have knocked on the door at midnight, 3 am, 5 am and 7 am and done something. So now that I see another similar review ended up on tripadvisor, I wonder how many calls they got that night and what they did about the situation. Nothing as the guests were in the Club Room the next evening.

We're staying somewhere else next time in Seattle.

Room Tip: The side facing the highway is way noisier than the Crowne Plaza down the street. Even getting a roo...
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mac m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Recently stayed for 2 nights at Renaissance hotel on a city break. Location was great and easy to find (we drove down from Vancouver). You have to pay for overnight parking(which I think was around $38? - which personally I think is a bit rich, especially when it's not a budget hotel you are staying at! But valet was only $2 more, so we chose that option and it was handy. And they had our car back to us fast when we needed. We walked everywhere. Down to Pike market and the surrounding areas. The walk down is easy, but it's quite a hill coming back. The library is literally across the st. Super cool looking building.
We were told the bar at the top of the hotel has the 'best view'. It's ok, not the 'best' of Seattle. But handy for a nightcap.
We had a king room. Very spacious, and comfy bed. Overall, it was a good spot, good room, nice service.... but.... and I understand this was not the doing of the hotel, however, perhaps they could have done more... a room near us, was smoking ALOT of weed, to the point that the hallway was smoky, and the smell was coming into our room. Also, at 3am Sat morning they decided to have a party - in the hall! So, waiting a while, I called the front desk. The party moved into a room.But the noise didn't, so called again, and this time it stopped. The next day however... the weed remained. So my grip with the hotel is, they don't act on their no smoking policy! oh, and you get free wifi in the lobby...but if you are a guest, you have to pay $13.95 in your room! WTF?
Advice to future travellers - ask for a quiet and non smoking floor

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jettsgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
223 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I spent three nights here and found everyone friendly and helpful, from the front end to the back. The valet men were superb and held the door for us every time we came and went. Now, the hotel is by the I-5, so lets face it, there will be some noise. Having always enjoyed large cities, I did not find it overbearing. ( try New York if you want noise)
The beds are firm, be warned! If you want soft beds, try the Sheraton down the street. However, the king size beds were just right for us. The restaurant needs some work...perhaps a change in chefs? The pool is gone...great, who used one these days anymore? Workout room was adequate and had a great view. Have a drink on the top floor at night...great views!
Is it a 4- star? Perhaps not yet, but if they keep at it, they will be there soon.

Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I have stayed in this location more than once, and this time had a room that faced the highway. I do not think the road noise was loud, as some did.

I have found the R-View restaurant, room service, valet, concierge, and front desk staff all to be very professional. Also, rooms are very clean and when refreshed as needed very well done. In December I stayed at this location for two weeks and many members of the staff remembered me and personally welcomed me back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BucklesTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Pioneer Square
Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square
W Seattle
#36 of 100 in Seattle
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Executive Hotel Pacific
#65 of 100 in Seattle
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Seattle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Seattle Hotel

Property: Renaissance Seattle Hotel
Address: 515 Madison Street, Seattle, WA 98104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#37 Business Hotel in Seattle
#41 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#51 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Seattle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 557
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Renaissance Seattle Hotel, a stylish hotel in downtown Seattle and one of the hotels conveniently located near CenturyLink and Safeco Fields, Pike Place Market, and upscale shopping. Our Seattle, Washington hotel eliminates travel stress thanks to easy access to major freeways and Sea-Tac International Airport. Unwind in spacious, guest rooms with stunning views of Puget Sound, the mountains and city skyline. From colorful paintings by local artists displayed in the lobby to a fully-equipped fitness center and high-speed Internet, our downtown Seattle hotel amenities outshine the rest. Bring a furry travel companion along to keep you company at one of the top pet-friendly hotels Seattle has to offer. Book your next event at our state-of-the-art 28th floor event space, and discover how our Seattle Marriott hotel seamlessly combines style, comfort and technology into an unforgettable urban retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Renaissance Seattle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seattle Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing