We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks nicer than it is.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Seattle Hotel
Ranked #51 of 103 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 7, 2011

The hotel has a very nice design and look to it. My husband and I went for a conference at the hotel. Our room didn't have as many cable channels so being alone in the room at night while he was at a meeting, I didn't enjoy the choices. Also the bed was horrible. We had a king sized bed and both of us slept horribly. Our over 20 year old mattress at home was nicer!
The workout room on the top floor was really nice with good equipment.
I ate at their restaurant for breakfast which was good and not too expensive.
They didn't have a shuttle bus to or from the airport, but luckily for us we had a friend drive us.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melissakludois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene N, General Manager at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I apologize that you were not fully satisfied with your stay, but we do appreciate your feedback. It is rare that we receive a complaint about the comfort of our beds, but I am sorry you feel that it was not comfortable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,930)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,525 - 1,531 of 1,930 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2011

I stayed at the Renaissance Seattle during 29 Oct - 2 Nov 2011. It is indeed a great place.

I landed up at the Renaissance with 30 hours of plane on me, and after Virgin had misplaced my bags. At check-in, the helpful lady there gave me a bag of complementary toiletries and told me that I could get a pair of PJs at the gift shop.

The Renaissance has a terrific location in downtown Seattle. The rooms are large and well-equipped. The wireless Internet is available throughout the hotel. The flat-screen TV in the hotel can be used with the laptop as well. However, the TV transmission is analog, and is sometimes blurry. The coffee-maker and iron are handy for the traveller. There is no bathrobe though--could have come in helpful when I had lost my PJs in the luggage...

Did not dine out at the restaurants, as I was there on conference. The Conference rooms--Level B, Level 2 and Level 3 are--are conveniently located and well equipped. We did have a bit of trouble with the PA system in the conference halls. The food quality was excellent.

Overall, a great property, great rooms and a great experience overall...

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SierraBravo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene N, General Manager at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough review of your recent stay with us. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and that we were able to make it comfortable, despite the airline misplacing your luggage. We thank you again for your in-depth review, and for choosing us as your home away from home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

we stayed here for 2 nights. had a corner room with king size bed and separate office area. very nice and clean and comfy. the hotel lounge was very nice, too. it is about a 5 block walk (downhill) to the waterfront area. wear your walking/hiking shoes! i did not expect such steep slopes.

Room Tip: search for room rates with hotwire, kayak, or similar websites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anjiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene N, General Manager at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found your guest room comfortable and clean. We certainly appreciate your feedback and would love to be able to serve you again if you should return to Seattle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

The Seattle Renaissance is a fine hotel for the business traveler. It is clean, comfortable, and centrally located to downtown businesses. However, if you are a tourist, I would suggest finding a hotel that is cheaper, offers free wi-fi and breakfast, and doesn't involve a steep hill. (Although the latter seems to be a given in Seattle -- it feels like everything is uphill both ways!) Overall this hotel is great if someone else (like your company) is footing the bill. If it's your own dime, I am sure you can find clean, comfortable and a central location for less.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrooklynMusician
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene N, General Manager at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We really appreciate your comments, as they help us to better see how our guests view our property and their stays with us; and how we can provide improvements to make every guests' stay memorable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

As people have described, right off the highway in front of a one way street. In terms of hotels, very comparable to the Westin and Sheraton.

Location
Not much around the hotel, except for the highway and a Bartell Drugs 2 blocks down on 4th avenue. This huge store is a great place to get almost anything you need (snacks, toys, toiletries, organic milk!). And yes, it is a steep hill down to the water, so watch out when it's raining because it can get slippery! Pike Market is 15-20 minute walk away, all down hill. The Sheraton is about 10-15 minutes away to Market, so just a tad closer. When you're coming back to the hotel from the Market, definitely go up Pike Street to avoid the steep incline, it's more gradual (turn right on 6th avenue to hit the hotel). It's a pleasant walk through City Center with all its shops and restaurants (Cheesecake Factory, HMV, Ross, etc). Definitely on the outskirts of downtown, it'll be a walk to hit the popular areas. If you want to be right in the middle of the action as soon as you leave the front door, stay at the Sheraton. We didn't mind the location.

Parking
As with all other hotels in Seattle, you pay for it. Self park is in a secure garage (in and out privileges with your room key- all automated) is $30 plus tax ($36 total). One night we overheard that self parking was full and only valet was available. The garage seemed secure enough. Plus, there's one elevator (kind of small) that takes you straight up to the lobby.

Check In
Smooth, accepted my request for a room away from the highway as per other posts suggestions.

Room
Located on the 15th floor, views of the apartment building across from us. Good people watching. They had their blinds open, so we could see them making dinner, watching tv, etc. Nice apartments! Good size, comparable with Westin and Sheraton. Very nice decor, modern dark woods. Flat screen TV. We requested 2 doubles. Bathroom was standard sized, very clean. We liked the Aveda products. Unfortunately no free Wi-Fi. Beds were fine, no major complaints.

Lobby
Live band Friday night in the lounge area. Packed with people. Concierge was nice, let us borrow an umbrella.

Overall
Good hotel. Quality of room and hotel is good, on par with other 4 star hotels in the area. Only thing is that you're a bit far from the action. If you're ok with that, then this place is totally fine. We wouldn't mind staying here again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wanderlost16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene N, General Manager at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough review of your recent stay with us. I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and found the quality of our hotel and services to be good. Thank you again for your in-depth review and for choosing us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2011

The staff is really cordial and polite. If you stay here ask for a room that does not face te highway, because the windows are a single glass and it might be very noisy, specially during week mornings. The rooms are ok, but nothing extraordinary. If you have breakfast, maybe choose of the menu. The buffet has a lack of options and not as well prepared. Maybe choose somewhere else for the same rate.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raphael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

It is what it is. I guess for near $300 a night (after the taxes and valet charges catch up with you) you would at least get some WiFi included with your stay. Not to mention that when you pull up the valet would be there to actually get your car, take your gas and there wouldn't be only two people to check in a crowd of thirty. The rooms are nice, clean, and stocked. There was a mini-fridge that did not charge you each time you opened it. Very easy access to the freeway, so this would be a good stop on your way north to Canada.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TTommy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene N, General Manager at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2011

Thank you for writing a review of your recent stay with us. We do apologize that you experienced a wait for our valet and front desk; this is atypical. We will certainly bring this up with our teams and see how we can better serve our guests going forward. We value each and every review. Thanks again for your informative feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Pioneer Square
Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
W Seattle
#34 of 103 in Seattle
654 reviews
Sheraton Seattle Hotel
#32 of 103 in Seattle
4,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Seattle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Seattle Hotel

Address: 515 Madison Street, Seattle, WA 98104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#37 Business Hotel in Seattle
#41 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#51 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: $180 - $510 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Seattle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 557
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Renaissance Seattle Hotel, a stylish hotel in downtown Seattle and one of the hotels conveniently located near CenturyLink and Safeco Fields, Pike Place Market, and upscale shopping. Our Seattle, Washington hotel eliminates travel stress thanks to easy access to major freeways and Sea-Tac International Airport. Unwind in spacious, guest rooms with stunning views of Puget Sound, the mountains and city skyline. From colorful paintings by local artists displayed in the lobby to a fully-equipped fitness center and high-speed Internet, our downtown Seattle hotel amenities outshine the rest. Bring a furry travel companion along to keep you company at one of the top pet-friendly hotels Seattle has to offer. Book your next event at our state-of-the-art 28th floor event space, and discover how our Seattle Marriott hotel seamlessly combines style, comfort and technology into an unforgettable urban retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Renaissance Seattle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seattle Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing