We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love it!”
Review of Moore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Moore Hotel
Ranked #52 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
toronto
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Love it!”
Reviewed March 27, 2006

I love the Moore Hotel! I have stayed there 3 times in the last 6 years and everytime was an great experience! The staff is friendly and is always willing to give you suggestions on places to go. It's just up the street from the Pike Place market which you have to visit even if you are only there for the day. Also very close to capital hill, the space needle, crocodile cafe, etc. All this and at an incredible price too. I will only stay at the Moore!

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sleater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,058 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    500
    150
    48
    32
See reviews for
163
401
111
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lynnwood, WA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2006

This old hotel is in a 7 story building built in 1907 that includes the Moore Theatre, a busy concert hall. Not sure how much of the fixtures, including granite shower enclosures, glavanized pipe and cast iron radiators are original, but they take you back, in a good way. Clean and functional. We paid $79 for a high ceiling-ed suite, two rooms, each with a queen bed and cable TV, and a bathroom between. On the 6th floor, we had a view of Elliot Bay. $15 for 24 hours at the parking garage directly across the street. Cheapest overnight parking in Seattle. All no smoking, great location, friendly staff, good value.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jiffxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2006

i must say that i was a little skeptical on such a place due to the price, in comparison with other hotels in the downtown area. man, was i wrong. very friendly staff, very helpful, and accomodating. building was very old, but very well upkept. only two blocks away from pike place market, four or five blocks from the shopping district, and the start of belltown (great restaurants and bars). would definitely encourage anyone looking for a great deal, and on a budget. will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JEArnold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
117 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2006

I stayed at the Moore Hotel in 1996 and returned last year to find that not a lot had changed. It is very well placed in central Seattle and pretty much everything is walking distance. the rooms are clean, well sized and en-suites are available. when we stayed there the staff were very helpful and introduced us to the local shops and some great restaurants. the moore is excellent value for money.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Rob0018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 16, 2006

My fiance and I stayed here over Thanksgiving weekend. He wasn't sure that I had found a "deal" and teased me all the way from Portland that I had found a dump. I have used trip advisor for work though, and most the reviews were good, so I went with it. We are young, and even if it was a total flop, it would have been a good experience. When we got to the hotel, the clerk, was quite the expert on the local night life, and gave us a map that he marked with all the local bars and walking distance. We had a great night on the town, and were able to leave our car next door since we had checked in around 7pm the night before ($15.00 for a full 24 hours!)this allowed us to venture out to Pikes Market, and walk down to Pioneer Square after check out. The area is not Posh by anymeans, and neither is the hotel, but it is a bargain, with some unexpected charm, such as marble stairs, red wood doors, clawfoot bath tubs, and thin, but decoratively folded towels. But if poor lighting can be seen as romantic "mood lighting" and you like a clean tub to bathe in with a bottle of wine and enjoy a lively night life without having to seem pretentious to fit in, then this is the place. For a poor young couple trying to pay for a wedding, and a newer car, this is the kind of place we can afford to go to every few months!

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2006

I stayed at the Moore for two nights in the end of December. From outside, the Moore looks like an aged Grand-Hotel which probably had it’s grandeur a long time ago. The worst about the hotel is the lobby, making a run-down and cold impression. Nevertheless, the staff behind the front desk is very friendly and tries to help you whenever possible. The room was large (and heated very well in winter) and even with two queen size beds, you’ll have enough space to walk around without bumping your legs. Although the furniture is modern and functional, there are some interesting details: A spacious old closet with a gloomy light where you could easily place a cot instead of hanging your coat. A bathroom with a ancient clawfoot tub. And a historical ceiling light reminding of past times. The very best about this place is it’s location (5 minutes to Pike Place Market, 10 Minutes to Waterfront) and it’s unbeatable rates. I doubt you’ll find another hotel in Seattle in such a central location for less than 80 US$ (Off-Season). There is a WiFi internet connection you can use for free in the Lobby. Sometimes it even works in your room. Other travellers were not sure if the neighbourhood was safe. I walked there in the evening when it was dark and I never had any doubts. If you prefer places telling a story, places that don't need to be tiptop in every detail, the Moore is a Hotel you definitely should consider staying at.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Lars N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, AB
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2006

This was the first trip for two students outside Canadian borders where I was in charge of planning flight details, lodging and daily activities. The main focus of our trip was to take in a football game, so we wanted a place in the downtown core, central to all the attractions this wonderful city had to offer. Many of the hotels in the core were pricey, but the Moore had a cheaper nightly rate, as well as a 10% off coupon i had found online. Considering the price, discount, location and numerous recommendations, we had no option than to give the Moore a shot, and we were certainly not disappointed! We took full advantage of the shuttle bus (route 194) almost directly to the Moore, and can't imagine how much money we saved between two trips!

We booked a 2 Queen bedroom with a view of the sound (as was recommended, and is pictured below) on the top floor. The hotel itself is very basic in regards to provided amenities. Make sure to bring your own shampoo and pack your own mints! The wireless internet was a great perk for minors unable to fully enjoy the nightlife Seattle has to offer. The location of the hotel, while very convienent, manages to make you feel very safe in a somewhat shadier area of downtown.

The staff on hand were incredibly helpful in aiding us with transportation tips, sights and attractions, and dining options! In fact, everyone in the city is VERY courteous, pleasant and accomodating!

GO SEAHAWKS!

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank AndrewJ411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Belltown
Kimpton Palladian Hotel
Kimpton Palladian Hotel
#19 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Thompson Seattle
#22 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Belltown
Hotel Andra
Hotel Andra
#14 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayflower Park Hotel
#21 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,103 reviews
Inn at the Market
#1 of 100 in Seattle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,589 reviews
Belltown
Ace Hotel
Ace Hotel
#58 of 100 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moore Hotel

Property: Moore Hotel
Address: 1926 2nd Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Seattle
#39 Family Hotel in Seattle
#44 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Moore Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central location, historical. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Moore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moore Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing