We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Historic Hotel at a Very LOW Price-Many Rooms with Shared Bath”
Review of Moore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Moore Hotel
Ranked #48 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Excellent Historic Hotel at a Very LOW Price-Many Rooms with Shared Bath”
Reviewed April 21, 2005

Historic Hotel just blocks from Pikes Market. The hotel offers very clean rooms, each with a sink, as well as a telephone, cable TV, Comfortable Queen size bed, several lamps, night stand, desk and several chairs. The room I had was very large and clean. The room's outside wall was all large windows with a great view of the Sound. I chose a room with a shared bath. I found the bathrooms down the hall were always kept clean, and I never had to wait to use one. The maids fold the towels and wash cloths into animal designs, such as a swan, which offers a nice welcoming touch to the room. Overall, I found the staff to be very friendly, and the location was tops. Only drawback if you are visiting in the middle of the summer is that they do not have air-conditioning. For the price you can't go wrong. They do not have parking, which you really don't need, as the downtown busses are free from 6:00am to 7:00pm (provided that you stay within the free bus zone). If you do need parking, there is a parking lot just across the street. Right next door to the Hotel is "The Moore Theater". It is the oldest theater in Seattle, and is still in operation. The hotel's web site is: ------------

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,073 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    505
    152
    48
    32
See reviews for
165
409
112
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 16, 2005

If you are looking for a hotel that is close to the action and will have some money left over for fun, this is the place. Service was great, from booking to checking in etc. Very friendly staff. The room, which was a suite on the 7th floor, was fantastic! Okay sure the towels were a bit wimpy, but the arrangements they were put in daily was terrific. The view was great, fun to watch the ferries and cargo ships go by. We ended up just leaving our car on the street overnight. It was intact every morning. A great bargain, don't make the mistake of staying somewhere else to save a few dollars. Granted it is not new, but it does have old charm and they have done a lot to spice it up. Thumbs up Moore hotel.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2005

A friend and I went out to Seattle in October specifically to see Queensryche (a rock band from Seattle for those who don't know who they are). We were spending 5 nights there and wanted to stay close to the venue. Well the venue was the Moore Theatre, so we stayed at the Moore Hotel right next door. It was a great stay. The staff got on my nerves at first with check in, but that was quickly forgotten. Our room was very roomy and clean, if we left the room in the morning, it was cleaned, clean linen was put on the beds etc... before we returned in the afternoon. The hotel has a great view, I would recommend one of the upper floors, as most people recommend. We walked everywhere, the Monorail wasn't running while we were there, but that was ok, the walking was great because the weather was wonderful. I would recommend anyone staying there, it's a great hotel for a great price and close to everything you would need. Whenever I return to Seattle, which I am hoping is at least once a year if not more, I will stay at the Moore again.

  • Stayed October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KeyDreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2005

What a great find and what a great price! Thank you TripAdvisor! I stayed at the Moore for two nights before moving to the Grand Hyatt for a conference I had to attend. In my humble opinion, the Moore's location was infinitely better than the Hyatt's. Although it's 100 years old, the Moore glows - the restoration was done well and the rooms are quite comfortable.

Downtown Seattle, in all its splendor, is just a couple of short blocks away. The restaurants and nightlife of Belltown are right there too. I loved having Starbucks on the next block for my morning coffee, and Pike Place is just a few blocks away for breakfast The young man who worked at the front desk each evening was also fascinating to talk to. I can't wait for my next visit. The Moore is a jewel!

Helpful?
5 Thank 5catkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2005

Great views, high ceilings, vintage charm. Indie bar called the Nightlight? is attached to lobby. Close to everything. I stay here when attending tradeshows or rock shows. Price range is from $39 - $129 depending on whether you want dorm style shared bathroom/private room or all the way up to a multi-room suite. Very clean, would stay here again. Close to great restaurants, Belltown, shopping. Can't say enough good things about this place.

Helpful?
3 Thank irene_holmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2005

If you are on a tight budget and don't feel like spending much time in your room---this is the place. The rooms are very dated and sparce with thin towels and no ameneties(blow dryers-shampoo-irons) All of the linens, however, were very clean. When I plugged in my blowdryer in the morning---the lights dimmed from the power drain...the windows were very thin and you can hear the sirens going down 2nd and Virginia through the night..Luky for me---my visit to the Liquid lounge by the Space Neddle provided me with a little extra sleeping power.

The location can not be beat---Walk to Pikes and the waterfront as well as the mall and the Monorail. The Rail stops at 7pm and the taxi ride back from the Space Needle was only $4.50 exc. tip.

The front desk was very friendly----What the Moore lacks in sparkle--it makes up for in service.

If old means "charming"and peeling paint means "vintage"---you will like the Moore---The price and location can not be beat---just don't expect a mint on your pillow :)

Helpful?
3 Thank barbique00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2005

You will not find a better place to stay at comparable prices in Seattle. Staff are very helpful, rooms are very clean and the hotel itself is charming and interesting. Very close to Downtown Seattle, bus lines, the ferries and only a few short blocks north of Pike Place Market. If you are looking for plush towels and jacuzzi's, stay elsewhere. If you are looking for historical ambience, a staff that cares and to save yourself some money, the Moore cannot be beat. You can tell they are really trying to make this a well loved place to stay and at the rates charged, it's hard not to love this old beauty of a hotel.

  • Stayed June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank djangobibby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Belltown
Kimpton Palladian Hotel
Kimpton Palladian Hotel
#22 of 101 in Seattle
451 reviews
Thompson Seattle
#19 of 101 in Seattle
655 reviews
Belltown
Hotel Andra
Hotel Andra
#10 of 101 in Seattle
2,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayflower Park Hotel
#20 of 101 in Seattle
2,181 reviews
Belltown
Belltown Inn
Belltown Inn
#50 of 101 in Seattle
1,002 reviews
Motif Seattle
#40 of 101 in Seattle
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moore Hotel

Property: Moore Hotel
Address: 1926 2nd Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Seattle
#39 Family Hotel in Seattle
#44 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Moore Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central location, historical. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Moore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moore Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing