We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pro's and Con's”
Review of Moore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Moore Hotel
Ranked #47 of 102 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2013

I came up with a lot of both but when I weighted the score the pro's won.

Pro's....Location its an easy walk down to Pike Place Mkt and an easy walk from there to all the Harbor attractions. It's also only a long two blocks to the light rail station that goes all the way south to the airport. It's also only 3 blocks to the monorail which gives you access to all of Seattle Center and the Space Needle. The rooms are dated, but with new beds and furniture and all this didn't affect my sleep at all. The halls are eerie but in another era way, I liked them. I heard the elevator called slow, but it was as fast as any we stayed in this trip. The staff went out of their way to help us get a page printed that assured us of getting our CitiPasses to work.

The con's .... Somewhat sketchy neighborhood, but nothing that ever really worried me. Small rooms but we got a suite out of two small rooms with a small bathroom in between. The shower was very tiny. No coffee and the coffee shop didn't open til 8:00 am. Opened windows to cool off the room and listened to city noises all night. But we were tired from running around all day and none of this kept us awake very long...

This place worked for us. We were able to fly in, get on the light rail and be in our hotel in less than an hour. We didn't have a car but we spent three days walking and riding and saw so very much. This is not a boutique but if you're looking for a convenient place and can take a little discomfort, this is it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank recorder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,094)
There are newer reviews for Moore Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

456 - 462 of 1,095 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2013

I reserved a private queen bed and ended up getting 2 doubles instead. The front desk was not very helpful as to give an explanation for the change and at times came off as rude. We also happened to be next to a loud arguing couple, though that was quickly taken care of when we brought it up. The halls are kind of creepy and no light really comes in. The wifi is very iffy and you might as well not have a tv for the quality of the channels. One plus is we did have a sink in the room, which was helpful. The other plus is of course the location. A nice central location to Pike's Place, Seattle Center, etc. We were able to walk to all the sites from here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

what more could i have asked for, some air conditioning. thats about it. the staff were great, rooms were comfy,other than no a/c. we found the location was pretty central.very close to pikes place market.the hotel has a great cafe in the lobby, tasty sandwiches,and coffee.we were also really suprised with the "nite lite" bar located beside the hotel lobby.looks a little sketchy from the outside, and a little inside,they are in the middle of sprucing up the interior.we spent a few hours there and shut er down. the staff were friendly,and put up with us and our large group till closing.we and our group will definately return next year.thanks for a great stay.

Room Tip: if traveling in summer months, try to get the north side of hotel ,less sun, cooler room.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ride0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Enjoyed my stay at the Moore Hotel. It was clean, quite and great value. Loved the old bath tub. Only problem was no place to put shampoo or soap when in the shower.

The staff at the front desk were ok,. but not very helpful. It seemed like i was putting them out if I asked a question.

Not in the best of neighbourhoods, 2nd Avenue can be very scary after dark as there were a lot of homeless people hanging around, bumming money or cigarettes.

Give yourself plenty of time if using a cab to get to your bus or plain. Waited over 1/2 an hour for a cab and almost missed my bus.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 600 which was nice and also in 605 which was a suite. Both rooms were very quite an...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We recently spent 2 nights at the Moore and thoroughly enjoyed our time there. The location of the hotel as others have mentioned is absolutely fantastic for exploring downtown Seattle. We really liked the Moore's slightly offbeat and old-fashioned, quirky style but can understand that this isn't for everyone. Those looking for the amenities of an upscale(ish) hotel chain should avoid the Moore. Our room was large and comfortable. The only issue we had was that it was very difficult to open and close the room with the first key we were given but that was quickly remedied by a second key which fit much better. I can understand that street noise could be an issue for some -- it is an old building located downtown in a busy city! This was not a problem for us though and in fact added to the charm and quirkiness of the place (we even got to "listen" to a concert playing next door -- these apparently do not go beyond 10:30pm though).

It also has to be said that the Moore's staff is probably the best hotel staff I've ever encountered -- extremely friendly and helpful and willing to go out of their way. The Moore Cafe attached to the lobby was also a convenient option for breakfast or a quick coffee.

For atmosphere, price, and location I do not think you could find a better hotel in Seattle.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saturdayedition
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

The Moore Hotel offers affordable accommodations in downtown Seattle just steps away from Pike Place Market. That's the extent of the upside. While the rooms are clean, they are dated and either face the noisy street or the dark, dirty courtyard. The property used to have better views but new builds have obstructed this. This is the perfect hotel if you have no more than 1 or 2 nights in Seattle on business/quick getaway or are using the city as a gate-way to go somewhere else in the state. I would not make this my base for any longer than 2 nights as the immediate area gets old fast and is inundated with vagrants. Even being from NYC, we were surprised to see so many junkies roaming the area asking for change. This is not the hotels fault, but nevertheless be warned that this is what the neighborhood is like.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeachvsMountains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

My wife and I and son in adjoining room had a very pleasant stay. Well maintained and refurbished old world hotel , clean, good location and very helpful staff. I left some important items behind in a draw in my room and contacted Tracey at reception who very kindly arranged for a parcel which she put together to be dropped at the ferry terminal after which it made its way safely to me (with the help of the Clipper steward Michael who in turn passed it on to our host at our B+B at San Juan who went down to the ferry on arrival to collect it - all while we were on a scheduled kayaking trip which meant we could only hope it all worked out !) We were very greatful to everyone ! Thank you again Tracey and the Moore reception staff, your help beyond the call of duty was very much appreciated.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hainesak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Belltown
Kimpton Palladian Hotel
Kimpton Palladian Hotel
#21 of 102 in Seattle
483 reviews
Inn at the Market
#1 of 102 in Seattle
2,700 reviews
Thompson Seattle
#20 of 102 in Seattle
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belltown
Hotel Andra
Hotel Andra
#10 of 102 in Seattle
2,066 reviews
Mayflower Park Hotel
#18 of 102 in Seattle
2,247 reviews
Belltown
Belltown Inn
Belltown Inn
#49 of 102 in Seattle
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moore Hotel

Address: 1926 2nd Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Seattle
#39 Family Hotel in Seattle
#44 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: $67 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Moore Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central location, historical. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your Moore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moore Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing