We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Get Ready to Cook!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Moore Hotel
Ranked #49 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Salem, Utah
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Get Ready to Cook!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Yes, this is the best deal in downtown Seattle, the location was fabulous BUT get ready to cook. There is no air conditioning and no window screen. Only one side of the window opens and they have a small fan you can put in front of the window, but it isn't sufficient to ventilate the room. The rooms are old, basic accommodations but the beds were good enough. I couldn't sleep because of the stuffiness and heat in the room. It's noisy out there in the street, so having an open window lets in the noise but the fan dampens the noise a bit. We were high enough up (4th floor) that it seemed to be safe to sleep with an open window (unless spiderman turns thief). So, stay here if you don't mind sleeping with heat. Would be fine in cooler weather, I suppose. They allowed us to leave our luggage in a luggage room for free even after we checked out, which was nice. The location is all this hotel really has going for it, and the price, which was considerably less than any other hotel downtown.

Room Tip: If you want a room with two beds and a bathroom, you have to face the noisy street, just for your in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SueSuitcase1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,050 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    499
    150
    47
    32
See reviews for
162
396
110
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bass Harbor, Maine
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

A very pleasant and helpful staff. Location is central to many activities. Hotel has a charm to it and has been recently updated to some extent. Very clean. Can't beat it for the price. Windows open and the rooms are a nice size.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Coldflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joplin, Montana, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

The Moore is a some what unknown hotel in Seattle. We found the staff very friendly and helpful, rooms were clean and vintage like. Only negative to our room was it was so dark in the bathroom. Made for putting on makeup and such kind of tricky. It is so close to Pikes Market and downtown shopping. Enjoyed our stay :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hunie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Very cool old hotel. Nothing fancy, but the rooms were clean, somewhat updated, and you are just steps away from Pike place market, restaurants and bars.

Great stay if your on a budget. Would not hesitate to stay again!

Room Tip: In the European style room you share a common bathroom with about 6 other rooms on the floor. We had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adamlp08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wind Gap, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
74 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

This was the cheapest hotel that I could find in the heart of Seattle - walking distance from Pike Place Market, Space Needle, and Downtown. With that in mind, I thought it was fantastic - comfortable beds, large rooms, and modern furnishings. The only things I felt could be improved were the inability to adjust the temperature - the two days we were there, it was 85 degrees, and at night, I needed some cool air. Without an air conditioner or a fan, I decided to open the windows but the street noise was very loud and no wind came through them anyway, so I shut them to get a peaceful night's sleep. I was still hot, so I could only fall asleep by taking a cool shower. Also, there wasn't a tub in our room, just a shower stall.
Also, the neighborhood had a lot of bums, but we saw that all over Seattle.

Room Tip: Room 420 was fine with a private bath- some rooms have a private bathroom and I think some have a sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank catladyfromPA18055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

2nd visit to this hotel - and again - a wonderful visit. Upon arrival I was greated by "Well, we have a little problem ... but also a solution..." it turns out that the main elevator was broken but we were quickly made aware of the location for the service elevator and were advised to use it any time we needed.

Rooms are clean (even the railing around the tub - which I ALWAYS check and have found down right disgusting in MUCH pricier hotels)! Linens on bed and in bathroom are fresh and crisp. Bed it very comfortable.

First visit was in fall ... this time I was concerned about lack of A/C, but the little fan they have in the room, when placed on the bedside table and blowing across the bed, with the window open, made for an EXTREMELY comfortable night.

This will NOT be my last time at this hotel ... next trip to Seattle - I'll be there again!

Oh yeah - if you want a hair dryer - be sure to bring your own - there's not one in the rooms ... but with the savings - you can always go to the City Target and buy one for WAY less than paying the rate for another hotel in downtown Seattle!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blb6601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
158 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Hotel is old, having been built in 1907. Is well-maintained. Lobby has been up-graded. Rooms are large with a very comfortable bed with 3 plush pillows. There is NO A/C, but is really not needed in the "Arctic chill" of Seattle. You can open the window for circulation. In the winter, it appears that there is steam heat. The room had a wash basin while toilet and shower were in the hall. No problems there. Housekeeping was efficient and HONEST. Check in was pleasant with people like BON who care. Another employee at the front desk is a "foodie" for helpful dining tips. The Pike St market is 5 minutes away. A walk to Safeco field is about 30 minutes. The only problems in the neighborhood are the aggressive street people begging and the total lack of police presence. I saw one cop in a week! I'd recommend this hotel for budget-conscious travelers.

Room Tip: The top floor is quiet, but can become a hassle near check out time as the elevator is quite small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardMello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Belltown
Kimpton Palladian Hotel
Kimpton Palladian Hotel
#23 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Thompson Seattle
#17 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Belltown
Hotel Andra
Hotel Andra
#13 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayflower Park Hotel
#22 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,048 reviews
Belltown
Ace Hotel
Ace Hotel
#57 of 100 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Inn at the Market
#1 of 100 in Seattle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moore Hotel

Property: Moore Hotel
Address: 1926 2nd Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Seattle
#39 Family Hotel in Seattle
#44 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Moore Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central location, historical. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Moore Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing