We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel with a bit of character”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mayflower Park Hotel
Ranked #21 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A hotel with a bit of character”
Reviewed August 7, 2010

We arrived at 10 am, fresh from an Alaskan Cruise and were delighted to find that our room was ready for us to occupy.

Check-in was quick and efficient, no difficulty finding our reservation, and Reception staff friendly and efficient.

Room was spotless and well equipped , but could really have done with having to bed-side cabinets and reading-lights. this apart the only other minor criticism for a couple of Brits was that there were no tea making facilities other than in a coffee filter-maker. these do produce tea (of a sort) but not what Brits like.

Concierge and Reception were able to answer all queries about "how to get to .... how long does it take .... what buses to catch ... etc".

This Hotel is an older building (c 1920's) and has the character that so many modern "people-processing plants" lack, whilst still giving service for the 2010's.

Location is very good for shops. restaurants, Pike Place Market (an absolute must for any visitor to Seatle), mono-rail to the Space Needle, Museum, Art Gallery.


We would most certainly stay there again if we were to return to Seattle at some future time.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Locky33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,268
    662
    131
    28
    14
See reviews for
373
963
138
305
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (484)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2010

I was on a long road trip from Phoenix to Seattle before flying up to Alaska for 10 days. We'd been driving for some time and were really excited to pull up to the doormen and relax for a while. We like staying in Historic Hotels and places with a little back history so the Mayflower was perfect. The lobby was full of people which is always nice to see and we were able to check in a few hours early. The room was great, very clean, very traditional but with a great view of the city on two sides. Great bathroom! We got several recommendations from the doormen/bellmen on where to go (first time in Seattle) and good places to eat. We parked our car overnight ($20 overnight which is fine) and in the morning it was waiting for us as they said it would be. Overall it was great and we really enjoyed ourselves. No noise from the streets when you are sleeping so that's a bonus. The elevators always have staff in them but they were always nice and we just figured since it' s an older building they don't have a service elevator. Comes with the territory and only a negative if the staff were not outgoing and friendly, which they were. Great trip and highly recommend the hotel!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bohicad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2010

Eight family members, four rooms. Depending on which room you get, you'll love it or be really disappointed. Me and hubby got the tiniest room I've ever stayed in with an even tinier bathroom. Wow, a larger person would have difficulty getting into the shower in this bathroom as the sink blocks the shower entry. The bed was pretty comfy and our room was very quiet.

The other three rooms my relative received were huge! Actually twice the size of our room with a full bath as well. The only thing is all bathrooms have a glass over the back of the sink which makes it challenging to wash your face without hitting your forehead on the glass. Strange.

There is a doorman at both street entrances and they are very friendly and helpful. The front desk staff were helpful and pleasant. The lobby is lovely, we especially enjoyed the mezzanine lobby area which was like we were sitting in a living room. I tend to go for boutique type hotels and this one did not dissapoint even though our room was tiny.

We all agreed that we enjoyed our stay in this lovely hotel. The Mall being "attached" to the hotel made going back and forth so easy. We also enjoyed our breakfast at Andaluca.

We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilacbirman13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
330 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2010

After much searching on TA, I chose this hotel for it's location. We traveled to Seattle from Philadelphia for a one night stay on July 10th before heading to Victoria (Vancouver Island) on the Clipper. I did not want to rent a car in Seattle so this was perfect for us. From Seatac, we took the Light Rail to the last stop and then a short walk to the hotel. Our room was smallish but clean and comfy for $200. We liked walking to Pikes Market, Elliotts on the water for a late lunch in the sun, and the monorail that took us directly to the Space Needle. At the end of the day, we went to the hotel bar (Oliver's) for their signature, award winning martinis. Early the next day we took a cab to pier 69 which was easy enough except we had to wait for a very long train to pass which jacked up the fare considerably!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2010

We stayed 3 nights at the Mayflower and were very pleased by the great location (near to Pike Place) and the very good service of this hotel.The hotel is quiet luxurious.
Although the hotel does not have a parking garage, it offers a valet service for a very honest price.
The staff is very friendly and helpful.
I would definitely stay again at the Mayflower while on vacation in Seattle.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frisbeetje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2010

Lets just start by saying LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION!! This grand little hotel is truly a diamond in a gem of a city. My husband and I arrived to celebrate our 5th wedding anniversary at the Mayflower Park for a stay of 4 days. We were impressed from the moment we set foot in front of the hotel. We were met with a smile by a friendly doorman who welcomed us. We had arrived at 1:00 in the morning very tired and needing a good nights rest. The gentleman at the desk also gave a a very big welcome and proceeded to check us in quickly and afficiently Upon hearing that we were there celebrating our anniversary he gave us a certificate for 2 free cocktails in their wonderful martini cocktail lounge. What a nice way to start our stay! We found our room a mini king size suite to be beautiful, comfortable, very clean and quiet. The next morning we had breakfast in their restaurant Anduluca. The breakfast choices were wonderful as were the wait staff. The breakfast was also included in the price of each night we stayed at the hotel ,which I must say is the best deal in town. Each morning we had a delicious breakfast which was prepared to a tee,(my favorite being the stuffed french toast YUM!!) and some great conversation with the wait staff. They were always helpful with ideas of things we should do or see,and all their recommendations were great. It was a nice way to start our day. The concierge, Sean, was also extremely helpful and knowledgeable. He made reservations at 2 of Seattles finest restaurants for us and we loved them both. Lets get back to LOCATION. This little grand hotel is right in the hub of all that is going on in Seattle.Shopping surrounds you,from Nordstroms, Macys, to the world famous Pikes Market which is only 2 blocks away. Great fun at Pikes and we visited it every day. The hotel is also conveniently located 1 block from the Lite Rail which is a great train ride that takes you to and from Seattles Seatac airport. It costs only $2.50 each way and we found it to be clean and comfortable. What a great perk, as a taxi ride from the airport can cost around $40. We made use of our certificate for our 2 Free cocktails at Olivers their martini cocktail lounge and once again were so happy with the service and genuine friendliness of the staff. The drinks were delish! The Mayflower Park is attached to Westlake center where there is a shuttle that will take you to the Space Needle which is just a short 3 minute ride away. You can't ask for more than this hotel offers. They are truly a great example of what a hotel stay should be like. We would recommend this hotel without hesitation to any one staying in Seattle. P.S. We never experienced a long wait for the elevator which was mentioned in some of the other reviews!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anyexcusetovacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2010

Where do I start? I stayed at the Mayflower Park Hotel for 6 days and 6 nites. I chose the hotel based on the location and the good reviews it got from Tripadvisor. I was not disappointed. The service I experienced was excellent, first class.Everybody at this hotel make you feel special. Everyone was so attentive and so helpful, from the front desk staff to the Concierge, ALL the staff.
My room was a Deluxe Queen and very elegant. After a long day exploring the city it was a pleasure to come to my room to relax and get a good nites sleep. The bed was elegant and very comfy. I also liked the fact that the room had a coffee maker with complimentary coffee and an electronic safe. I was also told at the front desk that if I wanted to a small refrigerator could be brought to my room at no extra charge!
The location of the hotel was also excellent. It is centrally located and within walking distance to many great attractions. There is a shopping center (Westlake Center) very close to the hotel where you can do a lot of shopping or grab a bite to eat at the food court. On the third floor you can buy your tickets to take the monorail that takes you to the Seattle Center area where the Space Needle and other attractions are located. A few block south of the hotel you find the famous Pike Market. I strongly recommend starting your day with breakfast at Lowells Restaurant at the Pike Market. Its very affordable and the three floor restaurant has excellent views of the waterfront. In sum, I had a great stay at the Mayflower Park Hotel and whenever I go back to Seattle I will stay there again. :-)
PS. If you are traveling solo it is more affordable to take the Grey LIne Downtown Airporter that takes you from the airport to many hotels in downtown Seattle. I was dropped off at the Westin Hotel which is less than a block away from the Mayflower Park. I only paid $25 for the round ticket. A taxi would have cost me $35-40 one way.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Byzantine330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Belltown
Hotel Andra
Hotel Andra
#14 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,005 reviews
The Paramount Hotel
#6 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,683 reviews
Belltown
Hotel Max
Hotel Max
#35 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn at the Market
#1 of 100 in Seattle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,589 reviews
Belltown
Kimpton Palladian Hotel
Kimpton Palladian Hotel
#19 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayflower Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayflower Park Hotel

Property: Mayflower Park Hotel
Address: 405 Olive Way, Seattle, WA 98101-1149
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Seattle
#16 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#26 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mayflower Park Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in thriving downtown Seattle, the Historic Mayflower Park Hotel is in the heart of the city. Built in 1927, the classic Mayflower Park Hotel has been lovingly restored with crystal chandeliers, gleaming brass and period antiques that offer an inviting European elegance to this historic Seattle hotel. The hotel is ideally located steps away from Seattle’s most exciting attractions, including the famous Pike Place Market, Seattle Waterfront, and Space Needle. A full array of museums, theaters, shops and restaurants are at our doorstep while Washington State Convention and Trade Center is only 4 short blocks away. The hotel opens directly into Westlake Center, with 80 specialty shops and direct access to the Monorail, which means you are just a 2 minute ride away from the Space Needle, Seattle Center and Experience Music Project. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mayflower Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayflower Park Hotel Seattle
Mayflower Park Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing