We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mayflower Park Hotel
Ranked #21 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
ontario
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“wonderful location”
Reviewed September 5, 2006

wonderful location, we walked everywhere
friendly helpful staff
check in was quite late in the afternoon-4o'clock so after arriving by air in the a.m. it was tiresome to have to wait
nice to have free internet

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — late check in, expensive to park car
  • Tips/Secrets — walking location everywhere, we left our car and never used it during our stay
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank amigoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,280
    672
    134
    31
    14
See reviews for
382
975
139
309
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (493)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2006

Very nice hotel, room was a bit small but nicely appointed. Staff was VERY friendly and helpful. One problem which I considered unacceptable was our room was located on the 6th floor, backside of the building, which was right across the alley from the HVAC system of the building next door. It was very loud and made for a terrible night's sleep. The hotel was fully booked, so no relief was available.

If you choose this hotel, make sure you request a room facing 4th or Olive Sts. The traffic noise is to be expected in a downtown hotel, but not the alternative.

Other than that, great place.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank BassMan61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2006

Rooms were comfortable and pretty, with an old-fashioned ambience. In-house restaurant (Andaluca) was excellent. We liked the free wireless internet. Location was good: close enough to the waterfront, without being so close that crowds and noise were a problem.

Helpful?
4 Thank MarylandUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2006

My husband and I stayed 3 nights at the Mayflower Park in July 2006. I chose it for the very central location -- walking distance to the Pikes Market, Space Needle, ferry terminal, monorail, etc.; the price-point -- about $215/night plus tax; and the good reviews here and elsewhere. The biggest problem was that our room's air conditioning was not working. It was close to 80 degrees in the room. An engineer came up twice, but the problem was never fixed. Ultimately, the engineer admitted to us our room had a problem as did another room on our floor. We had to ask to be moved to another room -- no offer was made. The substitute room looked out at a brick wall. It appeared to be a single -- full bed, not queen; one nightstand; no table by the reading chair as in our first room. The room rate was adjusted down, but it was a lesser room, so it just ended up feeling like the hotel didn't care more than the minimum necessary. On Sunday, our room was not made up until 4:30 in the afternoon, after we had been out all day and returned hoping to relax for a while. When our bill was prepared, we were incorrectly double-charged. The hotel provides one computer for free internet access, but it is not easily found and no one told us about it. Not awful problems, just annoying. The Mayflower is a place with lots of brass trim, big flower arrangements in the lobby, and you have to call room service if you want ice. If that's your style, and if the air conditioning in your room is working, I think you'll find the Mayflower to be a fair choice. If you're like me, and favor modern accommodations, no opulent frllls, consistent quality, and a feeling you are a valued customer. . . you may end up deciding the Mayflower Park is a bit underwhelming.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank KeepOnTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eatonton, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2006

Mayflower Park Hotel Review – 6/30/06 – 7/2/06 and 7/9/06

My husband and I visited Seattle for the first time earlier this month, in conjunction with a cruise to Alaska. We always try to stay at historic hotels if possible, instead of the cookie cutter big box hotels where you would be hard-pressed to know what city or state you were in. We read the reviews of the Mayflower Park Hotel on Trip Advisor, then found their website on the Internet. I was hesitant about staying here at first, after reading Trip Advisor reviews about the small rooms and bathrooms.

When I called to get more information, I was told by reservations that the deluxe rooms were about 100 square feet larger then the classic rooms. I knew through my research that all hotel rooms in downtown were very expensive, and I was pleasantly surprised to be told that with an AAA or AARP discount of 30%, the rate for the deluxe room would be $179 instead of $255. I reserved a deluxe room with a queen bed for 2 nights prior to the cruise, and for 1 night after we returned. I then received an immediate confirmation by e-mail.

The Mayflower Park was the best of all the places we have stayed in the Historic Hotels of America group. The restoration/renovation of the hotel is beautiful and everything about our stay was fabulous! We arrived from the airport shortly after noon, and were surprised to find our room ready for an early check-in. Check-in was a breeze and our luggage was quickly brought up to our room. Our room was beautiful and very large! Room 815, which was on the northwest corner, faces Macys to the west and had a view of the Space Needle to the north, although the flagpole atop of the flatiron building next door competed somewhat with the Space Needle view. We also had a small glimpse of the snow covered Cascades between the city’s high-rises. This corner room was bright with 3 sets of windows, very spacious and beautifully decorated. Queen bed, 2 bedside tables, armoire with television, 2 upholstered chairs with a table in-between, and a desk with chair in an extended area that also had a wet bar with granite countertop, a small under counter refrigerator and a coffee maker. The coffee packs that were furnished were without a doubt the best hotel room coffee I have ever had! Bathrobes, hair dryer, ironing board and iron were in the closet (small) and the bathroom was also somewhat small, but beautiful with a new pedestal sink, large tub and a great showerhead. The only drawback here was the close placement of the toilet between the tub and the door. Not much wiggle room there! The toiletries that were furnished were top of the line.

When the bellman brought our luggage, he told us that the rooms that ended in the number 15 (815, 915, 1015, etc.) were all the same large corner rooms. The front desk called a couple of minutes later to ask if we needed anything, and the only thing I requested was to have the same room for the following Sunday night, after we returned from our cruise.

We were able to walk just about everywhere we wanted to go in the downtown area. Pike Place Market was just 3 blocks away. See’s Candies was 1 block. We also walked to Pioneer Square, the Smith building, the new library and the ferry terminal to Bainbridge. We took a city bus up to the Seattle Center, and then walked up to Lake Union for the Wooden Boat show. Weather was gorgeous!

Would I stay at the Mayflower Park again? You bet! Would I recommend it to others? Yes, most highly and without a doubt! Service (front desk, concierge, bellmen and housekeeping) was excellent. Location was great. Room 815 was wonderful. I can’t wait until our next visit to Seattle!

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
14 Thank brerrabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2006

This is a lovely hotel, within walking distance to the shops (a chemist/convenience store is located about 2 minutes walk), Pike Place market, Space Needle etc. We were upgraded to a twin Queen suite which was really nice though the bathroom was a little small considering the room was so big. We were on the 6th floor on the corner of 4th & Olive and had no problem with the noise from the roads. The staff were very friendly and very helpful.
A lovely place to stay and would recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robbo70SouthWales_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2006

My husband and I spent a week in the hotel and loved the location. It was close to shopping, Pike Place Market, the Space Needle, etc. The room was a little small even though we upgraded to a bigger corner unit, but no complaints other than that. The service was fantastic and would definitely stay at the Mayflower again!

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mdavis55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Belltown
Hotel Andra
Hotel Andra
#12 of 100 in Seattle
2,018 reviews
Belltown
Hotel Max
Hotel Max
#33 of 100 in Seattle
2,310 reviews
The Paramount Hotel
#6 of 100 in Seattle
1,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#7 of 100 in Seattle
2,949 reviews
Belltown
Kimpton Palladian Hotel
Kimpton Palladian Hotel
#23 of 100 in Seattle
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayflower Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayflower Park Hotel

Property: Mayflower Park Hotel
Address: 405 Olive Way, Seattle, WA 98101-1149
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Seattle
#16 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#26 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mayflower Park Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in thriving downtown Seattle, the Historic Mayflower Park Hotel is in the heart of the city. Built in 1927, the classic Mayflower Park Hotel has been lovingly restored with crystal chandeliers, gleaming brass and period antiques that offer an inviting European elegance to this historic Seattle hotel. The hotel is ideally located steps away from Seattle’s most exciting attractions, including the famous Pike Place Market, Seattle Waterfront, and Space Needle. A full array of museums, theaters, shops and restaurants are at our doorstep while Washington State Convention and Trade Center is only 4 short blocks away. The hotel opens directly into Westlake Center, with 80 specialty shops and direct access to the Monorail, which means you are just a 2 minute ride away from the Space Needle, Seattle Center and Experience Music Project. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mayflower Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayflower Park Hotel Seattle
Mayflower Park Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing