We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close..but no sigar.”
Review of MarQueen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
MarQueen Hotel
Ranked #52 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Close..but no sigar.”
Reviewed August 4, 2007

Stayed at Marqueen for a week. Expensive. Different experience than staying at the typical hotel-chains. More "charming". Variable service from front-desk, but mostly positive and helpfull staff. Room (211) was spacius and quite (asked for quite room, and got it), but no view. Window faced a brick wall. Probably better in 3 floor.

Cleaning could have been better, and the hotel in general should soon have a general clean-up.

Close location to space needle and Belltown.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank thomasl_no
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    405
    162
    73
    67
See reviews for
298
428
79
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Garden Grove, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2007

This hotel has great service, and most rooms have a full kitchen which was great since there is no breakfast at the hotel. Across the street, Pesos, serves great breakfasts for $6 M-F. Pesos is also a great night spot every night of the week, so if you go to sleep early, don't get a room on Queen Anne. Up the hill on Queen Anne is a great area for breakfast and shopping boutiques. The hotel is also on the 18 bus route, which takes you to Belltown, Ballard and downtown.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tb1travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
Reviewed June 28, 2007

At first I was a little hesitant about staying at the hotel. The hotel itself is fine, but the people at the bar outside can be a little loud. In retrospect, I am so glad I chose to stay. This hotel has some of the nicest front desk people I have ever met. One person, Kris, in particular was fantastic. He always greeted us when we passed by. Even if it was 3 or 4 times in 15 minutes. He was personable and professional and always had a smile on his face. Each night when we walked through the lobby he offered to set up a wake up call for us, instead of waiting for us to ask for one.

The rest of the staff was just as good. Plus the location is perfect. Try to get a quiet room because of the noise from accross the street, but if one isn't available, remember that the bar closes at 2am, so it should be quiet after that. I highly recommend you stay at the Mar Queen Hotel.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — The noise
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MrManUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2007

The Marqueen is in an old building with a long and illustrious history. At various times it's been a Ford worker complex (turn of the century), an apartment building and an opium den. : )

Now it has been restored as a old world feel hotel which definitely lacks the lustre and shine of the new and the modern but still has it's charm.

The suites are spacious with tall ceilings, original hardwood floors, new bathrooms and original kitchens with massive cupboards. Not all the suites are flawless - some still have carpeting over the hardwood for instance, and there is some must in the air, but it's not unexpected or bad, and the work is not finished.

The furnishings have an antique feel to them, there is free wi-fi, robes and the best, most helpful staff I have ever seen. They were truly outstanding ensuring the stay was a great experience.

You can't beat the value for the price for a downtown Seattle hotel. All the great things downtown are within walking distance and the one cab ride we felt was required was only ten dollars. If you're not the kind of person to be put off by an older feeling room it's great value, but if you need shiny surfaces and modern furnishings this is not the place for you.

  • Liked — Great location, price, charm, staff.
  • Disliked — Dimness
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tatiana131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2007

We used the Marqueen and its sister hotel the Inn at Queen Anne as recommendations for our out-of-town guests at our October 2006 wedding. Our bridal party also stayed here, and my husband and I stayed in one of the large suites they use as the bridal suite. The Marqueen is very charming, with an old world feel, and extremely affordable (with or without a wedding discount). We loved the furnishings and the design of the rooms. And the price was just unbeatable! The whole staff was super nice as well. Also Queen Anne is an ideal neighborhood if you are visiting Seattle, cute and charming with easy access to Seattle Center and Downtown. Everyone we spoke to in our wedding party had a good experience there. The suite we stayed in was huge and beautiful, with a kitchenette, eating
area, living room, and huge bed. If you are looking to block rooms for a wedding at an affordable place in Seattle, the good people at the Marqueen are a joy to work with. And if you are just looking for an affordable hotel in a great neighborhood, something more interested than the holiday inn, this is a fantastic choice.

  • Liked — Charming, friendly, affordable
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank genevieveW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2007

I just returned from a fabulous, albeit whirlwind trip to Seattle. I stayed at the Marqueen in Room 202. It is a beautiful, historic, "Boutique" hotel that I found quite charming. As mentioned before, the building used to be apartments, therefore the rooms are HUGE! Ours had a nice bathroom, sitting room, bedroom, and kitchen...and as far as I know it wasn't a suite. Ours was at the front of the hotel, overlooking the street. As mentioned previously, there is a lounge-type restuarant across the way that apparently gets loud on the weekends. We stayed on a Monday and Tuesday night, and there was no noise besides reagular city noise (i.e. bus passes until around midnight). I think on Tuesday I heard some people talking loudly on the street, but it was not enough to wake me out of full slumber. The room itself was immaculate...they must employ an excellent cleaning staff! I have two complaints of a sort... One, like a pp mentioned, the reservations staff are not willing to guarantee you a room in the back. I called and asked that a note would be put on my account about this preference, but I was told when I checked in (early) that I had been assigned a front room, and that the back rooms were filled. She mentioned that it was the only room clean for the moment. So I took it, and it worked out okay. I think they give priority to those who book through the hotel, and not through a travel site. Which is too bad, considering we all pay money for the room. The other thing is that the plumbing in this place is old. Expect the water pressure to a bit off, and there to be a lot of noise when the water comes on. We did receive a letter upon checking in stating that the plumbing was being worked on, so perhaps they are looking to remedy this problem. Also, there is not a great deal of counter space in the bathroom, so you can't really spread out. I think they went for ambience when they chose the pedestal sink over a counter top one. But that's not a huge deal in the long run...

Other tips/advice: This hotel is in a great neighborhood as far as dining options go. We ate at Ten Mercer one night, and it was good, not great. The portions were huge though. The hotel is within walking distance to the Monorail at Seattle Center, which will take you straight downtown. Unless you have money to burn, take this option. It doesn't open until 11am though, which was difficult for me since I was attending a conference at started at 9am each morning. Taxis in town are expensive! I paid close to $8 with tip for a two mile ride! Bring your walking shoes! Otherwise, this is a great city. I don't think I have ever been somewhere so friendly, and I'm from the South! All clerks have a smile for you, and friendly greeting. Even the panhandlers are polite! I guess it comes from living somewhere so beautiful....!

  • Liked — Size of the Room
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank oldhousejunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2007

I stayed at the MarQueen for business the week of March 19th.

Positives: As noted by other reviewers, the room was large, including a kitchenette, large sleeping area, walk-in closet and average sized bathroom. The service was excellent: attentive and efficient. And, the hotel itself is in a good location, with lots of restaurants nearby, and it is just a couple of blocks to attractions like the Space Needle, Key Arena, and others.

Negatives: Again as noted by other reviewers, the place smells. A musty, stale, smell hangs over the lobby, and exists throughout the hotel. The lobby itself has a run-down look, as did my room. Threadbare rugs on floors, worn hardwood, all the polish off the bathtub, bathroom floor tile in desperate need of re-grouting, worn doorhandles, creaky floors....the list goes on. I get that the motif is going for a jazz age atmosphere, but I've been in hotels that manage character without looking, feeling, and smelling worn.

Warnings: A couple of things didn't bother me, but might put off other travellers. First, there's no elevator (the hotel has only 3 floors). Second, my room at the front of the hotel was subject to a good deal of street noise: the street outside seems a busy thoroughfare for cars, and the restaurants/night spots seemed to spit out handfuls of loud (but not rowdy) crowds each night. Not overbearing noise, but noticeable.

Booking through Expedia cost me about $160/night. Not expensive for the location, but given that there were other hotels nearby also in that price range, I have a feeling there's a better option in the neighbourhood than the MarQueen.

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — Run-down and musty.
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Derekmm2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Inn at Queen Anne
#73 of 100 in Seattle
1,050 reviews
Magnolia / Queen Anne
Mediterranean Inn
Mediterranean Inn
#32 of 100 in Seattle
1,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnolia / Queen Anne
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MarQueen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MarQueen Hotel

Property: MarQueen Hotel
Address: 600 Queen Anne Ave N, Seattle, WA 98109-4012
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — MarQueen Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on Queen Anne's main street, and just a short distance to downtown Seattle, the MarQueen Hotel is in the center of a vibrant neighborhood close to local tourist attractions. Enjoy some of Seattle's most popular restaurants, nightlife, boutique shops, Pacific Northwest Ballet, Seattle Opera, and Space Needle, right outside our doors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your MarQueen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing