We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Marqueen - simply fantastic”
Review of MarQueen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
MarQueen Hotel
Ranked #55 of 102 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2010

My lady and I are from Seattle but travel a lot out of town. We were having our house painted and needed to stay in a hotel for a week locally so we decided to stay at the Marqueen as it is close to our neighborhood. The staff at the Marqueen are so helpful, the valet is friendly, housekeeping is very tidy and clean, the kitchens are small but functional, and our stay there was perfect. We didn't mind going back home to a freshly painted house but we could have stayed there another week.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gener8rhayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,216)
There are newer reviews for MarQueen Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,084 - 1,090 of 1,217 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2010

Absolutely the best place to travel with a family. Each room has a kitchenette and the store is a block away. Within walking distance of the Seattle Center, so everything is easy to get to. The staff is very helpful and courteous. The rooms are HUGE and very comfortable. I would stay here every time--no problem!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leemo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2010

We are a family of 5 and stayed in a large room with a small kitchen It was quiet and good value If you are looking for somewhere away from downtown but well located this is a good choice The Needle and monorail are less than 10 minutes away on foot and you can be in downtown in under 20 minutes. There are some interesting shops and a great supermarket (can't remember the name but is is just across the road from Easy Street Records) as well as good restaurants nearby including Ten Mercer which is attached to the hotel A short but fairly strenuous walk up hill (we took the easier option of a two minute cab ride and walk back downhill) takes you to a number of other good value eating places The staff are very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gillmob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2010

The MarQueen Hotel is The hotel in the Lower Queen Anne district. I love the area because of its bohemian up-market flair and walking distance to the Seattle Center and performing arts district. I often select hotels like the MarQueen for their unique style, history and charm. I have stayed before and had a pleasant visit. This time, when I walked into my room, I immediately went to open a window, taking advantage of the clear Seattle fresh air. Of the several windows in my room, none were functional. The windows have been covered up with a clear storm window, providing excellent insulation and noise abatement, but making it impossible to open any window. When I enquired at the front desk, I was told that all windows in the hotel had received this treatment. No where does the hotel say that they have "hermatically sealed" every window. Old, charming hotels like the MarQueen need fresh air. Otherwise, we are back to the tall highrise hotels that I avoid for this very reason. If having the window open when you sleep is an important facet of your hotel selection and stay, then, regretfully, the MarQueen is not the place. I hope management reconsiders this decision and makes a few rooms accessible to the fresh air, which Seattle has in unlimitted supply.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theaestheticone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kdotto, Manager at MarQueen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2010

Thank you for your feedback! We're happy to hear you enjoy the unique style and location of the MarQueen Hotel. We also understand and appreciate your concern regarding the nature of our new noise abatement windows. We, in fact, do still have several guest rooms that have windows that open to the fresh Seattle air . We apologize if that information was not relayed accurately. Noise abatement windows were recently installed only on street facing guest rooms, based on the high volume of guest feedback we received regarding street noise. If windows that open are your preference, please let us know when making a reservation, or at check in, and we will be happy to accommodate you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2010

A friend of ours from Seattle found this hotel for us. It is located on Queen Anne neighborhood and within walking distance of Space Needle and some of the museums nearby as well as the "Ride the Ducks". You can also take the monorail from there to downtown for $2. There is a bus that stops near the hotel. There were several good restaurants within a block or two, including a great bakery and a block away was a24 hour grocery market and a drugstore.

The hotel is in an older rennovated building. The room had 2 queen beds, a kitchen with bench, a sitting area with internet connection, and a bathroom. The beds were fairly comfortable but they squeaked whenever you moved. The wooden floor also squeaked when you walked on them. It was hard for the doors not to slam shut, so you could hear other doors slam, just the way they were built.

It was not a problem for us, but there is no elevator. If you have any problems with older stairs, you want to be sure to get a room on the first floor.

Do not count on the continental breakfast. It was only tea and coffee with croissants and oatmeal/breakfast bars. I wouldn't even have minded having croissants, except these were not very good ones. There wasn't anything to my son's liking for breakfast, so we ended up buying cereal and milk at the market.

This is a boutique motel, so there is no swimming pool, hot tub, etc. There is a nice coffee shop attached to the building. There is only valet parking, which will add to your hotel bill.

I believe there is room service from nearby restaurants, but we didn't use it.

If you want to stay in this location, this is a good choice. I believe there is only one other hotel in this area.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaxBoris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2010

Nothing particularly WRONG with this hotel, but not as quaint as we expected. Big room with separate kitchenette which included a frifge and a table and chairs. Bathroom ok but will soon need some maintenance. Location quite some way from the city centre, but good bus service and excellent directions and help from hotel staff.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1Wgtn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2010

This hotel used to be an apartment building and is very old. Pro's: My room was more like a suite, with kitchen, bedroom, bath, and sitting room. Bed was comfortable. Rooms were cleaned every day. Staff was very friendly. Interesting area with many restaurants and a lot going on. Bus stop only a block away. I was not bothered by late-night noise, as some people have written they were. There is a coffee maker in the kitchen of the apartment/ room, and a full-size refrigerator. Microwave, no stove; Iron and ironing board. Free Wi-Fi. Con's: The lobby looks a little tired, and had the smell of an OLD building. There is NO ELEVATOR, and so either you need to carry your bag to the 2nd or 3rd floor, or you need the bellhop to do this. Going up and down the stairs several times each day was wearing. For many people, the hotel is perceived as charming and quaint - I saw many positive, even raving, comments in the guest book at checkout. I found it too old and drab for my taste. The breakfast was not good - croissants that looked as though they came from a discount supermarket, apples, and coffee/tea. No business center with computers, though the gracious staff are willing to print out boarding passes for guests, if that is all you need a computer for.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Inn at Queen Anne
#74 of 102 in Seattle
1,080 reviews
Magnolia / Queen Anne
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnolia / Queen Anne
Mediterranean Inn
Mediterranean Inn
#30 of 102 in Seattle
1,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MarQueen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MarQueen Hotel

Address: 600 Queen Anne Ave N, Seattle, WA 98109-4012
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 102 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range: $141 - $353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — MarQueen Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on Queen Anne's main street, and just a short distance to downtown Seattle, the MarQueen Hotel is in the center of a vibrant neighborhood close to local tourist attractions. Enjoy some of Seattle's most popular restaurants, nightlife, boutique shops, Pacific Northwest Ballet, Seattle Opera, and Space Needle, right outside our doors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your MarQueen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing