We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nicely renovated”
Review of MarQueen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
MarQueen Hotel
Ranked #53 of 105 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We love renovated buildings and this one is a beaut. We had a *very* spacious, nicely decorated room complete with separate kitchenette. The fixtures etc were restored but not modernized, so it still its old-fashioned look. Our room looked out onto a brick wall, which would normally have annoyed me no end, but it was cleverly painted with a bright trompe l’oeil garden – a small detail maybe, but attention to detail is what makes a hotel welcoming and comfortable. Location is important to us, since we rely on walking and public transport when we vacation. The Marqueen is situated in a largely residential neighborhood, convenient to the Space Needle, an easy bus ride to anywhere else, and there are good restaurants and a nice upscale grocery just down the block. Valet service was snappy, and the staff in the newly-opened lounge was friendly and ready to please. If I had a suggestion it would be to get more adventurous with the drinks/snacks in the lounge – they were fine but pretty middle of the road for a food-y city like Seattle. No matter, this is a lovely place and we will head back there on our next trip.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marysam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,246)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

963 - 969 of 1,246 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2012

I was searching for a central location at a reasonable price and was absolutely blown away by this place. From the lobby and sweeping staircase to the incredibly friendly staff, this former apartment building has the biggest rooms! Complete with kitchenette or kitchens, dining space, sitting area, huge closets, comfortable beds...and quiet at night. Besides the continental breakfast, there is a fabulous coffee shop literally down the hall, and several good restaurants within a block. Great lounge off the lobby that also serves a snack menu. A 10-minute walk from the Monorail, bus line in front of the hotel...highly recommend and will stay there again soon.

Room Tip: This hotel has it all. It's an old building, though, and with hardwood floors that might creek...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeborahCarrara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

The MarQueen Hotel is a bit too far from downtown, Pike Place, etc for me to stay at, however the rooms are very large with a separate kitchen containing full size fridge, microwave, full size kitchen sink and a cupboard full of dishes. We took a bus for $5 for the two of us into town. There was a free breakfast which we were not told about until after we had eaten across the street and checked out of our hotel! The staff was friendly. The hotel lobby appeared to have new carpet, very clean. The rooms all have what looks like the original hardwood floors. The bathtub/floor area could use a bit of work but it too was clean. If it wasn't for the location I would stay there again but if you tac $10 (round trip) to town, $25 for parking then you may think of adding that $35 to a price of a hotel downtown that has free parking. Ride the Ducks in Seattle! We have seen these tours many times in different cities and never went on them. This time we did! It was the most fun, interesting, beautiful day on the water that we have been on in a long time. Well worth every penny and it wasn't expensive. $28 each for 90 minutes.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AuntieRene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad C, Manager at MarQueen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Thanks so much for your review.

I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, with the exception of the location. While we aren't in what some would consider central downtown, we are only about a 20 minute walk from Pike Place Market, which is right in the heart of downtown. We find our location to be one of our biggest assets, conveniently located from downtown, with lots of great restaurants, shops, and nightlife.

Our complimentary continental breakfast was discontinued for reservations made July 31, 2012 with the opening of our new restaurant/lounge. We do, however, still provide those who reserved prior to that date with a complimentary continental breakfast - I imagine this is the reason you were not informed of the breakfast upon check-in.

I hope that you enjoyed your time in Seattle, and we would love to see you here again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

This is an old building with character. We stayed in a twin room with street view. The windows are doubled glazed and we couldn't hear the traffic despite rush hour. There was a seperate kitchenette in the room equipped with fridge and hob and a seating area. We found the room very comfortable and quiet, and the staff very friendly. It's a 5 minute walk from the Space Needle and Monorail. There is a grocery store around the corner and plenty of cafes and restaurants. I would defenitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Almaenwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Dwight H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We had a great stay at the Marqueen. It was convenient to Seattle Center, cafes/restaurants and grocery stores - this was handy as we ate out during the day and went back and had a meal from produce brought from safeway in our room. The room was a good size for our family - kids on the beds, eating in the kitchenette, and reading/writing in the small parlour. It was clean throughout. The breakfast was ok, but lacked juice. The staff were always cordial and had a smile. Don't forget to take the short walk up to Kerry Park, the views are wonderful

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PBM2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I stayed at this hotel about 10 years ago and liked it this time even better than in the past. I remembered that I had preferred the rooms facing the street for light and view purposes rather than the ones facing the brick wall (mural). The street-side one we had was very quiet due to the noise abatement windows, so I'd opt for one of them over quiet and dark. It also had a view of the sound, a kitchen with a built in dining nook, a sitting room and a deep clawfoot tub. If you're not into old fixtures or hardwood floors with a few scratches here and there, go to the Marriott. I love this kind of place because of its history, huge rooms (apartments, really), and great location in an actual neighborhood inhabited by Seattleites. Downtown has lots of swanky hotels, but if you walk around at night, all you see are tourists and homeless people. I appreciate more of a regular neighborhood vibe to a business center. The Marqueen is only about a mile from downtown and a couple of blocks from the Seattle Center in a really excellent location.

I wouldn't go for the valet because you can get free street parking (not many spaces, but possible) a few blocks down or pay much cheaper rates on the street or in a lot nearby. The Tin Lizzy bar is beautiful and the drinks we had were tasty. Free continental breakfast was the regular bagel and yogurt stuff, but a nice perk nonetheless.

All in all, I would recommend this hotel to anyone who doesn't like cookie cutter hotels and is looking for something homey and a little different.

Room Tip: If you like light and a view, get a 3rd floor room facing Queen Anne Ave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandypdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Magnolia / Queen Anne
Mediterranean Inn
Mediterranean Inn
#30 of 105 in Seattle
1,601 reviews
Magnolia / Queen Anne
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Inn at Queen Anne
#76 of 105 in Seattle
1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
University District
Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MarQueen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MarQueen Hotel

Address: 600 Queen Anne Ave N, Seattle, WA 98109-4012
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 105 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range: $126 - $411 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — MarQueen Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on Queen Anne's main street, and just a short distance to downtown Seattle, the MarQueen Hotel is in the center of a vibrant neighborhood close to local tourist attractions. Enjoy some of Seattle's most popular restaurants, nightlife, boutique shops, Pacific Northwest Ballet, Seattle Opera, and Space Needle, right outside our doors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your MarQueen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing