We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,310)
Filter reviews
1,310 results
Traveler rating
512
456
181
88
73
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
512
456
181
88
73
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno elevatortin lizzieseattle centerspace needleseparate kitchenqueen annecontinental breakfastsitting areafull kitchenapartment buildingsmall apartmentold charmfirst flooracross the streetyogurttoulouse petithardwood floors
Filter
Updating list...
1,053 - 1,058 of 1,310 reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2012

10 girlfriends stayed here in June, 2012 after an Alaskan cruise. Although there is no elevator yet, the doorman delivered our luggage quickly, had a cab for us in 5 minutes and answered many of our questions about the neighborhood and beyond. This hotel is handy to the Space Needle attractions, a fabulous grocery and dining options. The old world ambience in the foyer is as lovely as can be, the rooms HUGE with comfortable beds and adorable original kitchens (1920s?) with dining banquettes. All modern ammenities are available. I would recommend this hotel with its modest price for all visitors to the area.

Room Tip: our 3rd floor room on the back had a perfect view of the lighted Space Needle at night!
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PostCruiser2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We love it. It is a great Hotel. There are friendly staffs. They open the door for you and answer all questions you have. They respond to e-mail fast. The room condition is excellent. It is like a mini-apartment! There is a spacious kitchen. It got many cabinets in which there are plenty of glass, cups, forks, dinner-knives, etc,. Of course, there is a coffee-maker, microwave, and a refrigerator. And the dinning area in the kitchen is really great.The bed is clean and huge. There is a comfortable parlor near the door. The room is unbeatable! The only thing that I concern about is its location. There are buses from downtown to there. But if you wanna go to the hotel from the international district, then I will suggest you to take the Sound Transit to downtown area such as Westlake Center and then take the bus to the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EcoTravel_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Our stay at the Marqueen Hotel was depressing and it was kind of our fault.  We had a wedding in Seattle and were looking forward to some city time.  Some family members booked at the Marriott.  Then a niece said she booked the Marqueen as it was cheaper and had free parking.  So, everyone changed reservations. 
If you arrive at this hotel by car, be advised it is on a busy one-way street.  There is valet parking only with two spots out front to leave your car.  You are allowed to return to your car escorted by the valet.
On arrival in the musty smelling lobby, we were told by the very snippy desk clerk that the hotel did not offer free parking but we could self park three blocks away.  She acted like we were trying to cheat her but it was our mistake and the web site says 'fee charged'.  Then she says our room is on the second floor, up the stairs.  They have no elevator.  (Not on the website)  This was OK for us but in our group we have a heart patient and an arthritic.  I mentioned this to the clerk.  She took it to mean we were refusing the second floor and would put us on the first floor with our group.  We  later found out everyone else was on the second floor.
At this point, I would have changed hotels were we alone.  Because everyone was there, we stayed.
The room was strange.  It was dark with a very small bathroom with no bathroom fan; odd little kitchen with a large fridge, a microwave, dishes but no cooking utensils; poor TV; a scary closet; and a view of a muraled brick wall 4 feet away.  The bed was OK but not good enough to make up for the rest.  You could have clean towels if you left your towels on the floor but clean sheets were not an option.
The location of the hotel is good considering Seattle's good bus system. Breakfast was Super 8ish with good coffee (it is Seattle). There was no place for a group of six people to congregate.
It was depressing to be stuck here for three nights of my vacation but we were with our family and made the best of it.  I just would like to help save someone else's trip.

Room Tip: Good luck!
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank M15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 2, 2012

Dear Valued Guest M15,

Thank you for your valuable comments and opinions. I apologize for the experience you encountered while you were here. I do hope you did enjoy the wedding you attended while in Seattle, and had some time to see the city. Further, I apologize you weren't informed ahead of time of the uniqueness of this particular hotel which was built in 1918. Because of the history of this building, it is quite a different experience. At one point it had the largest underground garage in Seattle, but today we require our Valet to take care of this for you as it is highly unusual floor space. We should have made more clear on the stairs which lead to guest rooms being the only option. The kitchens with fridge, microwave and dishes should've had utensils for you, again I apologize. I am glad you found the location to your liking as well as the coffee at breakfast.

I do appreciate your comments as it allows me to personally address these issues with our staff, and again I hope the wedding you attended was pleasant.

Sincerely,

Joe Alberts
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Loved staying at this hotel. We were greeted very warmly by the staff and were wonderfully surprised when they upgraded us to one of their suites. Even though we were a bit disappointed to find out there was not an elevator, the bell hop was very quick to carry our luggage up and did not even wait for a tip (although we gave him one later). The hotel was full of old world charm and was very clean. The staff gave us great suggestions about places to eat and things to see and do. We would definitely stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tammy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

This hotel is unique and beautiful. The room was very spacious, clean and the staff was wonderful. The breakfast was nice and has a nice selection. Location is walking distance to most major attractions in downtown Seattle.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cummingsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews