We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“beautiful older hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Virginia Mason

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inn at Virginia Mason
Ranked #73 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“beautiful older hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Recently we had the pleasure of staying at this inn in Seattle. We had a very nice room at a reasonable price. We had room service for our evening meal and could not believe the prices, we both had a very nice meal ( one course each) for under fourteen dollars total, what a deal !!! The staff were wonderful. We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank obanitevancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol G, General Manager at Inn at Virginia Mason, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Hello travelers! Thank you for your review. We're happy you enjoyed our older hotel. If you were able to walk around the neighborhood at all, you'll still see many of the original 1900's mansions and apartment buildings. . .very charming indeed. We know you have lots of choices in Seattle and we're glad you chose us. We hope to see you back again soon. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    88
    40
    15
    8
See reviews for
36
53
15
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Port Townsend, Washington
Level Contributor
81 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This hotel meets the needs of those who are on a budget or simply don't want to pay the high prices of a Seattle hotel. Within minutes to medical facilities and within walking distance to downtown Seattle. Do your research before booking so that you are not disappointed. Remember Seattle is built on 'hills' you are staying in the First Hill District - 'Hill' means just that. Returning to the hotel is a walk up a short 'hill'. 2 parking places. In/Out privileges in the hospital lot. No In/Out privileges in lot across the way of hotel. Parking in a big city any where you go can be problematic. Hotel is basic offering a clean room with a good bed, good shower,and flat screen TV.. Bistro cafe opens at 6:30 am BUT, not included in your room rate. Exceptionally friendly staff at reception desk. This is not a 3 or 4 star hotel. A solid 2 star. Definitely would stay here again.

Room Tip: Do your homework and ask about the parking. Know that you are staying in the 'First Hill' d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Taupa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol G, General Manager at Inn at Virginia Mason, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for your review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to be your Seattle hotel of choice on future visits to the area. Hallway carpets, paint and new light fixtures are underway to give each floor a fresh appearance. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Until then, safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chehalis
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Had to spend one night at the Inn due to early AM appointment for medical tests. For the price, and type of hotel was sorely disappointed. Carpets in hallways are worn and dirty. Carpets in room were worn and DIRTY, fast food chips on the floor from previous Inn guests. Window leaked of cold air. Coffee maker only had one cup, had to ask lobby staff for extra cup. No breakfast. Parking was horrible. There is an open pay lot 1/2 block away, $24 for 24 hours, with no in/out privilege, in other words once you park you have to leave your car for the 24 hours or pay again as you are in an assigned parking space. Another parking garage about a block away that is covered and has in/out privileges for $22 per night, access is through the hospital proper or outside via a very steep hill. Access to the Hospital is very convenient, one does not have to venture outside at all to go from the Inn to the Hospital. Staff was nothing exceptional.

Room Tip: If we have to go again I think we will try the Baroness Hotel which is across the street, and is a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChehalisMasterChief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol G, General Manager at Inn at Virginia Mason, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for your review. I'm sorry you were dissapointed in your stay with us. You will find that our room rates are competitive to other lodging options in the First Hill vicinity. Our older-style accommodations are not for everyone. I appreciate your feedback regarding room cleanliness and I have shared your comments with all team members. Parking is a premium everywhere in Seattle and can be challenging. I am proud of our staff at the Inn and Baroness Hotel which is also owned by the medical center - most of our feedback indicates they go above and beyond in serving our guests. I apologize if you felt they didn't exhibit great service to you during your stay. Good luck in your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
65 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Inn at Virginia Mason is on First Hill, near Capitol Hill, in Seattle; a bit of a climb from the downtown area, but if you're going to be taking walks in Seattle, you'll be climbing hills. It's is a very pleasant, lushly-vegetated area that seems to be the location for several hospitals, including of course, the Virginia Mason. The hotel is kind of a boutique property, but perhaps not as delicate and elegant as that label sometimes suggests. However, it was very clean, orderly, comfortable, and the building itself is old and stately. Pleasant, responsive staff. A good choice for under $200/night rooms.

Room Tip: Upper floors offer beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol G, General Manager at Inn at Virginia Mason, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for your review. We're glad we were able to make your stay comfortable and that our team was pleasant to work with during your visit. We're really not trying to be a boutique hotel. . .just a nice, comfortable affordable option for visitors to Virginia Mason Medical Center and travelers looking for an inexpensive downtown hotel option. Please come back and see us again. . .safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I liked the old building, very spacious room and great location. The beds were super comfortable, with no bed bugs. The staff were friendly and efficient. It's close to an incredible Vietnamese restaurant, Starbucks and pharmacy. Was a great stay, close to downtown. It is beside a hospital but I never woke up to sirens but I assume that this could be an issue. However I was there for the weekend and didn't hear one.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bratford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol G, General Manager at Inn at Virginia Mason, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for your review. We're glad you gave us a try. Most of our guests (or their family members) are visiting one of the three world-class medical facilities here on First Hill - Virginia Mason Medical Center, Harborview Medical Center or Swedish Medical Center - but we are always happy to welcome our leisure visitors looking for an affordable Seattle option. Please come back and stay with us again. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I stayed at the Inn at Virginia Mason on a Friday night. I arrived in Seattle early Friday morning though...from Sea-Tac I headed to the hotel, hoping to just check my luggage as it was 8 a.m. I took the Link (light rail = $2.75 from SeaTac to University stop) and then walked about 15 minutes. Get ready for a glutes workout on the hill up to Virginia Mason! Anyhow, after arriving I was happy to find out I was able to be checked in! My friend and I got the room with twin beds...so that may be why...but I got right into my room before 9 a.m.! The decor and carpet are nothing to talk about, the room is just fine. Clean and simple. No hairdryer in our room, so had to borrow from front desk. The space and accommodations were just fine for the short amount of time we were there. The rooftop patio is AWESOME! We drink a bottle of wine before heading out and really enjoyed the view and ambiance up there! If you need a cheap, easy place to stay, this is just fine!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amandi34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol G, General Manager at Inn at Virginia Mason, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Hi Traveler - thank you for your review! Clean, simple and affordable that's our motto! We will be updating our hallways, light fixtures and adding hairdryers before the end of the year but plan to keep our old-style charm. Seattle is made up of hills (First, Capitol, Queen Anne, Denny and Beacon) so happy to help the daily exercise plan! Please come back and see us again. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This was the cheapest hotel with decent reviews I could find in the downtown area. The hotel is old and dated with a slightly depressing air to it. But it was clean, affordable and the beds were comfortable. I pulled the sheets off to check for bed bugs and didn't see any evidence of them. The mattresses looked new too. The couch was threadbare and looked very old, it appeared to be clean but we couldn't bring ourselves to sit on it. Our room with 2 queens was massive. I think it was designed for people in wheelchairs based on the size and layout of the bathroom. I was pleasantly surprised to find a small fridge in the room. Hair dryers and irons are not supplied in the rooms but can be requested from the front desk. The staff were pleasant.
The hotel is affiliated with the hospital and there are medical offices on the second floor of the hotel. We stayed 2 nights, Thurs and Fri. The guests staying at the hotel seemed to be a mix of tourists and medical patients.
We were tourists visiting Seattle for the first time and this hotel was the right mix of affordable and conveniently located. There is a steep hill to get down to the waterfront, tourist attractions and the transit tunnel. It was a hike on the way back up but it wasn't too bad. The area around the hotel seemed safe when we walked around at night. The rooftop deck was neat.
They stored our luggage for us after checkout so we didn't have to lug it around before our flight. If you are looking for an affordable clean hotel downtown and don't mind it being old and dated this is a an excellent option.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jlrva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol G, General Manager at Inn at Virginia Mason, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for your review. Clean, affordable and right location, we can't ask for a better description than that! Our couches in the room type you were in are scheduled for replacement next year. . .with an older hotel the list is endless of items to update. Please come back and visit us again in the future. . .we will always be your affordable option in Seattle. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Baroness Hotel
#79 of 101 in Seattle
3.0 of 5 stars 70 reviews
Hotel Sorrento
#28 of 101 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 stars 760 reviews
Executive Hotel Pacific
#68 of 101 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 stars 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pioneer Square
BEST WESTERN PLUS Pioneer Square Hotel
Downtown
Panama Hotel
Panama Hotel
#85 of 101 in Seattle
3.0 of 5 stars 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Virginia Mason? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Virginia Mason

Property: Inn at Virginia Mason
Address: 1006 Spring St, Seattle, WA 98104-1216
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn at Virginia Mason 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Inn at Virginia Mason welcomes you with style and warm hospitality. Nestled in the quiet residential neighborhood of First Hill, not only is the Inn at Virginia Mason convenient to First Hill medical facilities it is just a short walk from downtown Seattle shopping, the financial district and the Convention Center. Tastefully designed and reasonably priced rooms await your arrival. Select Suites feature wood burning fireplaces, whirlpool baths and city views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Inn at Virginia Mason reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Virginia Mason Hotel Seattle
Hotel At Virginia Mason
Virginia Mason Inn
At Virginia Mason Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing