We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Buy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inn at Virginia Mason
Ranked #76 of 104 Hotels in Seattle
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed for 11 days and had a great stay. The price was great and close to University of Seattle where we were getting our son ready to attend. We stayed in a Q/Q Suite and it was roomy and the beds very comfortable. I loved the location of the hotel, a couple of blocks from Pine Street, Pike Street and a few blocks from the center of downtown Seattle, easy to walk to places, restaurants, pubs, shopping and things to do in general. There is a rooftop area and you can see all of dowtown. We sat there a few nights and just enjoyed the evening. I was a little disappointed with the bathroom, they really need to be updated. The staff was very helpful, friendly and accomidating, can't say enough. The cleaning staff not so good, a few days we would come back to our room and the beds had not been made, no fresh towels. Overall our stay was really great, great location and great price. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: I think all rooms all locations would be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol G, General Manager at Inn at Virginia Mason, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Thank you for your recent review of our Inn. We will always be your affordable hotel option in Seattle. I have shared your feedback on the inconsistent housekeeping service with our team - it certainly was not our intention to provide you less then stellar service. University of Washington is a great school. . .thank you for letting us be your home away from home as you got your son settled for the coming school year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (246)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 246 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2013

I stayed at the inn when I went back to the Hospital for a post op visit. Customer service is great. The room has lots of storage and the bed was so comfy that I didn't want to get up! The food is delicious at the restaurant . Be sure to check out the courtyard.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank onthemovenurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol G, General Manager at Inn at Virginia Mason, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Good morning and thank you for your review. Comfy and cozy. . .that's our goal. And we are very honored to be part of the Virginia Mason Medical Center campus. We hope you'll stay again when your travels bring you back to Seattle!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

A friend and I stayed here for three nights on a girls weekend. It’s tough to find a decently priced place in Seattle during the summer so we were pretty happy we found this place. Here is a rundown of the place…in a way I like to read reviews!

Rooms: We had two single beds which were really comfy. There was a TV that we never turned on but I’m sure it worked. The room was nice and chilly and I believe you have full control over the temperature. We asked for a quieter room and thankfully we got one because they were doing drilling on Spring Street and we didn’t hear a thing! Our room faced a small courtyard and windows into the hospital (opposite side of Spring St.) It’s a bit odd seeing patients through the window, but just don’t look! The bathroom is a bit out-dated with some peeling paint, but the shower was nice, the toilet flushed and the water was clean…don’t be a snob about it!

Price: It was decently priced in comparison to other places. We spent about $400 for three nights and we paid online ahead of time.

Wifi: The wireless was strong and both of us used it constantly. It expires after 24 hours but you just type in your code again.

Parking: There isn’t parking which is certainly a drag. There’s a garage across the street that’s about $20/day but they don’t let you come and go during the day. There’s a place two streets down, Spring/8th, which is about $22/day and you can come and go as you please. We parked there and suffered up the VERY steep hill between 8th and 10th to get up to the hotel. Seriously, it’s steep. Luckily we only did it once as we took cabs from downtown on the other days. Cabs were between $6-10 and it’s worth it! I felt that the parking garage was very safe as well.

Location: walking to downtown from the hotel is wonderful. It’s downhill, you pass the amazing library and within 10 minutes you’re at Pike Place Market. There is nothing open on Sundays on the streets as you walk down, so you’ll have to find breakfast closer to Pike.

I think the only negative was the lack of free parking…it added an extra $44 to the trip. The service at the front desk was very kind and we really didn’t have any problems.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room facing the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GlobalGirl98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol G, General Manager at Inn at Virginia Mason, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Good morning and thank you for your review! We will always be your "affordable" Seattle hotel so please come stay with us again. Regarding parking, the bad news is that there is probably no free parking in Seattle (but if you find some, please tell me so I can share it with our guests!). The overnight parking rate that Virginia Mason offers our guests is pretty good for the city. We enjoy our Canadian visitors so please spread the word about our little Inn. Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

The Inn at Virginia Mason is not the greatest hotel but it's very reasonably priced. The beds were comfortable and the personnel nice and useful. The only drawback was the fact that there isn't that many restaurants close by.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol G, General Manager at Inn at Virginia Mason, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Good Morning Michel - Thank you for your review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back. The restaurant choices around the hotel are more "neighborhood" like but the great restaurants Seattle has are only a short taxi ride away. Thanks again and safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The hotel advertises itself as being like an English Inn. I don't know about that; it was typical hotel except for some faded prints of pastoral scenes on the wall. Never mind that, it was quiet and comfortable. More than adequate air conditioning except hallways were suffocating. Obviously over decades of wear and tear the fine details have been diminished a bit, and its evident that not a lot of money has gone into refinishing with fine craftsmanship (quite the opposite in fact). So it's a little shabby, but as we had an appointment in the adjoining hospital, we found the location to be absolutely phenomenal and will return to this Inn time and again whenever we need hospital services.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor; there are only two suites up there so no noise from the neighbors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALS200858736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol G, General Manager at Inn at Virginia Mason, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Good morning and thank you for your recent review of your stay with us. We're glad the location was right for your stay and plan to return to us in the future. We do have some renovation plans in the works (new hallway carpeting and guest room lighting). Hopefully you'll continue to see improvements on each visit. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Spent 5 days in Seattle and The Inn at Virginia Mason was the most reasonably priced hotel we found. The hotel itself is located/connected to the Virginia Mason Hospital. That was no problem, but the location of the hotel to all the attractions we wanted to see was quite far...and the walk is a tough one. The hotel is 10-12 blocks from the activities on Alaskan Way ( main "tourist attraction" street) and about 12-14 blocks from Pike Street Market area. The walk to the areas of our interest was easy getting there (all down hill) but coming back is a killer. Literally 10-15 blocks of straight uphill walking! Elderly people and small children would never make it!

The hotel was clean, but had no microwave, no fridge, minimal TV stations, and there are not many places to eat/buy munchie food nearby. Once you're back at your room, it should be to sleep only. The vending machine has no typical munchie foods, only "organic" selections and I never could even figure out what they were. There's a small cafe inside the hotel, but the selection is more of the "finger food" variety.

Our next trip to Seattle we'll spend more to get a place closer to activities. Felt very secluded. The staff is so nice, friendly, rooms ok but not conducive to the Seattle experience we were looking for.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 825TheresaF825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol G, General Manager at Inn at Virginia Mason, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Good Morning Theresa. Thank you for your recent review of your stay withus. It sounds like we offered you the right price but the wrong location. Yes, Seattle is very hilly and this sometimes takes visitors by surprise. The majority of our guests are staying with us for medical related visits so the convenience of the location near the world-class medical facilities here on First Hill trumps the trek to the tourist attractions. We appreciate your nice comments regarding the team. Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Rooms are spacious and pleasant. Personnel is most gracious. Outstanding room service with incredibly reasonable prices for a large variety of items. This stay was for a hospital visit and the choice of the Inn proved most convenient.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foredeckchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol G, General Manager at Inn at Virginia Mason, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Nice to hear from you and thank you for your comments! We are very proud to be part of the Virgina Mason Medical Center campus and work hard to serve all of the world-class medical facilities here on First Hill. Please come back and see us again soon. Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Baroness Hotel
#77 of 104 in Seattle
106 reviews
Executive Hotel Pacific
#63 of 104 in Seattle
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Panama Hotel
Panama Hotel
#88 of 104 in Seattle
191 reviews
Northgate
Comfort Inn & Suites Seattle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Virginia Mason? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Virginia Mason

Address: 1006 Spring St, Seattle, WA 98104-1216
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 104 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range: $126 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn at Virginia Mason 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Inn at Virginia Mason welcomes you with style and warm hospitality. Nestled in the quiet residential neighborhood of First Hill, not only is the Inn at Virginia Mason convenient to First Hill medical facilities it is just a short walk from downtown Seattle shopping, the financial district and the Convention Center. Tastefully designed and reasonably priced rooms await your arrival. Select Suites feature wood burning fireplaces, whirlpool baths and city views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Inn at Virginia Mason reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Virginia Mason Hotel Seattle
Hotel At Virginia Mason
Virginia Mason Inn
At Virginia Mason Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing