We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient bargain in Seattle”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn at Virginia Mason
Ranked #76 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Convenient bargain in Seattle”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

I stayed here for a couple of nights last weekend, and I have stayed here before. For the price, this is a great bargain! The location is walking distance to downtown Seattle, the waterfront, Belltown, and Capitol Hill...if you don't mind big hills, and if you are in good shape. Otherwise, you are a short, inexpensive cab ride to just about anywhere in the city. The Inn is an older building, so the rooms are not what you'd find in a Hilton (i.e., exactly the same anywhere in the world), and the bathrooms are not the luxurious palaces you'd find in a Vegas hotel. On the other hand, there is a lot of "old world charm" and the rooms are perfectly comfortable. The beds are very comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. As other reviewers have commented, don't expect a lot of amenities, however, for the price, this is the best bargain I've found in Seattle. I will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol G, General Manager at Inn at Virginia Mason, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Good Afternoon David - Thank you so much for your kind review! Yes, we are convenient and a bargain and we are glad we were a good fit for your visit to Seattle. We look forward to welcoming you again on a future visit. The weather is still perfect and the fall is a particularly beautiful time of the year here in the Northwest. Safe travels! Carol Gallagher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    96
    49
    22
    9
See reviews for
42
60
15
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed at this hotel last night while my grandfather was hospitalized because it was attatched to the Virginia Mason Hospital. The floors were so dirty that u could see the dirt sitting on top of the carpet, the mirrors were covered in dirty streaks, and the tub was full of leftover residue from recently removed no-skid strips! I have never been in a dirtier hotel room and am absolutely appalled that it is attatched to such an amazing hospital. The front counter staff was very kind and helpful but the state of the room was unbelievable. The toilet seat nearly slid off when I sat down and the wall plugs look like they're from the 1940s as we couldn't keep a single charger from falling out of the wall. It was an absolute waste of money I have spent nights in rooms that were half the price and twice as nice. Don't waste your money here - spend the night at one of the nicer hotels that are only 5 minutes down the road for less money and a better experience.

Room Tip: I was in such a hurry to find a place for my grandmother that this is the first time I haven't c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Courtney P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol G, General Manager at Inn at Virginia Mason, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Good morning. Thank you for your comments. As you can tell from previous trip advisor reviews, your stay is not the typical experience our guests enjoy. I have shared your comments with our housekeeping team - while the rooms are older, our staff works very hard to ensure rooms are thoroughly cleaned. It was a very busy weekend in Seattle and we are proud we are able to offer an affordable alternative for guests and family members seeking medical care. We hope your grandfather is feeling better. Good luck in your future travels, Carol Gallagher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Seattle hotels

Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

Midway hotel, some assets as it is close to the city center and the Alamo/National pick up location, it is in downtown and very clean. Liabilities: old-fashioned and with centralized heating/conditioning system which means you cannot turn it off! we arrived in the room and we were literally freezing! The staff apologies for the inconvenience and gave us more blankets.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberto G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol G, General Manager at Inn at Virginia Mason, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Good morning and thank you for sharing your stay with us. I apologize that our older central air cooling system was inconvenient during stay. The entire building can be cooled or heated but unfortunately not both on the same day and not individually controlled. Extra blankets are the option for cool evenings and our warm days. We hope you'll visit us again on your next trip to the Pacific Northwest. Safe travels, Carol Gallagher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
116 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

My teenage son and I stayed 2 nights here. Frankly we booked the room (junior suite - queen bed and pull out sofa bed) because it was affordable at $149 vs over $250 for everything else downtown. The "hotel" is located on Pill Hill (or First Hill) about 4 blocks uphill from I5 and is attached to a hospital. It was a little weird seeing patients in the elevators and noting Dr's offices down the hall from our room. Surprisingly quiet room and area.

Our room was large and comfortable. Not very fancy and clearly is an old property. Bathroom was basic as was TV. Internet was good. Bed comfy but son complained about the sofa bed. Staff were very friendly and helpful. There is a great rooftop deck on the 9th floor with a view of downtown and the waterfront.

If you don't mind a steep climb - its a nice walk to downtown. The area seems pretty safe and we saw lots of dog walkers in the evening. Great patio for happy hour kitty corner a the at upscale Sorrento hotel.

Downsides - parking is off site and +$20/day. Slow elevator (only 1). Our biggest complaint was we hit Seattle in a rare heat wave and the hotel has no air conditioning. Don't expect lots of amenities or a fancy room (more like staying with family) but the value for dollar is great and you feel part of the community rather than a tourist.

Room Tip: South side and higher is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebiLovestoTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol G, General Manager at Inn at Virginia Mason, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Good morning and thank you for your kind review. We're happy you and your son enjoyed your visit with us and your review was spot on. . .we are an older property much like "staying with family". Please come back and visit your Seattle Inn at Virginia Mason family again soon! Safe travels, Carol Gallagher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

This hotel is older, but well kept-up and very clean. The beds were comfortable, and our room had a HUGE closet! Free Wi-fi, too.

It's attached to the Virginia Mason hospital, so is perfect for family of patients, but I stayed there while attending a convention at the Convention Center. It's about 6 blocks from there (pretty steep hills coming back) so was very convenient.

The food at the restaurant was quite good, and reasonably priced. There are also several restaurants within 2 blocks, as well.

I was worried about the noise, being so close to the hospital, but I didn't find it overly noisy, at all.

The rates were very good! Much lower-priced than other nearby places, downtown. Ask for the AAA rate, if you're a member.

The only downside was the parking - there is a surface lot a half-block away for $20/day, and the hospital parking, 2 blocks away, also $20/day.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KrisRudin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol G, General Manager at Inn at Virginia Mason, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Good afternoon and thank you for your review! Seattle is such a great place for a convention. . .I hope you enjoyed your visit to our city. It's a nice walk to the convention center from the Inn and we're happy you found us to be an affordable option.Please come back and visit us again. . .many improvements are planned for the next few months (comforters, bedskirts, drapes, televisions, etc.). Safe travels! Carol Gallagher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sequim, Washington
Level Contributor
374 reviews
220 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 315 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

The Inn at Virginia Mason is the only hotel connected to the hospital complex. The rates are lower than most city hotels. The best part is the wide variety of high quality food from room service and the onsite restaurant that are very reasonable in price.

Because my honey had surgery scheduled the second day of our stay I booked a junior suite. The hotel is a converted apartment building and our room was very generous for an older facility. Be careful not to stay on the end of the hotel near the service elevator. We were in room 806 and the noise from the elevator was obvious and went late into the night.

Overall the Inn is perfectly located if you are using the services at Virginia Mason Hospital. WiFi is included in the hotel rate, but parking at $20 per day is extra. The staff is very pleasant and as they say “location, location, location” is the most important element of choosing a place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms near the service elevator are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronvoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol G, General Manager at Inn at Virginia Mason, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you, Thank you, Thank you. . .for your review! We are glad you found the Inn to be a great value. We take great pride in the service our team members provide our guests. And for a small property, its nice to have four food options available (restaurant, room service, nearby cafeteria and lobby grab & go). Parking is a challenge throughout Seattle and we are working with the lot managers to allow billing privileges for our guests (which we hope we relieve some of the stress). We hope you'll stay with us again on your next visit to Seattle, and until then, safe travels! Carol Gallagher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Baroness Hotel
#78 of 100 in Seattle
3.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Hotel Sorrento
#25 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
Belltown
Ace Hotel
Ace Hotel
#57 of 100 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Executive Hotel Pacific
#66 of 100 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Virginia Mason? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Virginia Mason

Property: Inn at Virginia Mason
Address: 1006 Spring St, Seattle, WA 98104-1216
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn at Virginia Mason 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Inn at Virginia Mason welcomes you with style and warm hospitality. Nestled in the quiet residential neighborhood of First Hill, not only is the Inn at Virginia Mason convenient to First Hill medical facilities it is just a short walk from downtown Seattle shopping, the financial district and the Convention Center. Tastefully designed and reasonably priced rooms await your arrival. Select Suites feature wood burning fireplaces, whirlpool baths and city views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inn at Virginia Mason reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Virginia Mason Hotel Seattle
Hotel At Virginia Mason
Virginia Mason Inn
At Virginia Mason Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing