We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lucy was especially nice” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn at Virginia Mason

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Inn at Virginia Mason
Ranked #75 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    95
    49
    21
    9
See reviews for
42
60
15
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Level Contributor
116 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

My teenage son and I stayed 2 nights here. Frankly we booked the room (junior suite - queen bed and pull out sofa bed) because it was affordable at $149 vs over $250 for everything else downtown. The "hotel" is located on Pill Hill (or First Hill) about 4 blocks uphill from I5 and is attached to a hospital. It was a little weird seeing patients in the elevators and noting Dr's offices down the hall from our room. Surprisingly quiet room and area.

Our room was large and comfortable. Not very fancy and clearly is an old property. Bathroom was basic as was TV. Internet was good. Bed comfy but son complained about the sofa bed. Staff were very friendly and helpful. There is a great rooftop deck on the 9th floor with a view of downtown and the waterfront.

If you don't mind a steep climb - its a nice walk to downtown. The area seems pretty safe and we saw lots of dog walkers in the evening. Great patio for happy hour kitty corner a the at upscale Sorrento hotel.

Downsides - parking is off site and +$20/day. Slow elevator (only 1). Our biggest complaint was we hit Seattle in a rare heat wave and the hotel has no air conditioning. Don't expect lots of amenities or a fancy room (more like staying with family) but the value for dollar is great and you feel part of the community rather than a tourist.

Room Tip: South side and higher is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebiLovestoTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol G, General Manager at Inn at Virginia Mason, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Good morning and thank you for your kind review. We're happy you and your son enjoyed your visit with us and your review was spot on. . .we are an older property much like "staying with family". Please come back and visit your Seattle Inn at Virginia Mason family again soon! Safe travels, Carol Gallagher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

This hotel is older, but well kept-up and very clean. The beds were comfortable, and our room had a HUGE closet! Free Wi-fi, too.

It's attached to the Virginia Mason hospital, so is perfect for family of patients, but I stayed there while attending a convention at the Convention Center. It's about 6 blocks from there (pretty steep hills coming back) so was very convenient.

The food at the restaurant was quite good, and reasonably priced. There are also several restaurants within 2 blocks, as well.

I was worried about the noise, being so close to the hospital, but I didn't find it overly noisy, at all.

The rates were very good! Much lower-priced than other nearby places, downtown. Ask for the AAA rate, if you're a member.

The only downside was the parking - there is a surface lot a half-block away for $20/day, and the hospital parking, 2 blocks away, also $20/day.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KrisRudin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol G, General Manager at Inn at Virginia Mason, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Good afternoon and thank you for your review! Seattle is such a great place for a convention. . .I hope you enjoyed your visit to our city. It's a nice walk to the convention center from the Inn and we're happy you found us to be an affordable option.Please come back and visit us again. . .many improvements are planned for the next few months (comforters, bedskirts, drapes, televisions, etc.). Safe travels! Carol Gallagher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sequim, Washington
Level Contributor
362 reviews
216 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 312 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

The Inn at Virginia Mason is the only hotel connected to the hospital complex. The rates are lower than most city hotels. The best part is the wide variety of high quality food from room service and the onsite restaurant that are very reasonable in price.

Because my honey had surgery scheduled the second day of our stay I booked a junior suite. The hotel is a converted apartment building and our room was very generous for an older facility. Be careful not to stay on the end of the hotel near the service elevator. We were in room 806 and the noise from the elevator was obvious and went late into the night.

Overall the Inn is perfectly located if you are using the services at Virginia Mason Hospital. WiFi is included in the hotel rate, but parking at $20 per day is extra. The staff is very pleasant and as they say “location, location, location” is the most important element of choosing a place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms near the service elevator are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ronvoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol G, General Manager at Inn at Virginia Mason, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you, Thank you, Thank you. . .for your review! We are glad you found the Inn to be a great value. We take great pride in the service our team members provide our guests. And for a small property, its nice to have four food options available (restaurant, room service, nearby cafeteria and lobby grab & go). Parking is a challenge throughout Seattle and we are working with the lot managers to allow billing privileges for our guests (which we hope we relieve some of the stress). We hope you'll stay with us again on your next visit to Seattle, and until then, safe travels! Carol Gallagher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melfort, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Hotel was basic but very clean. Very comfortable beds. Only negative is the fact it is at the top of a very steep hill.We did lots of walking and that was always the toughest block to walk up.Would not recomend to people will physical limitations that want to walk the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol G, General Manager at Inn at Virginia Mason, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Good Afternoon and thank you for your review! We're happy you found us to be a good value for your visit to Seattle. Being affordable is our long term commitment as part of the Virginia Mason Medical Center family. Seattle is much hillier than people imagine it to be (I think we rival San Francisco on some streets). Because so many of our guests are staying with us for medical related visits, we always encourage the use of local taxis to get around. And we are always amazed at how many still choose to walk, both up and down our steep hills! I guess Seattle just brings out the exercise bug in everyone! We hope you'll be our guest again the future. . .safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Olmsted, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

Inn at Virgina Mason was enjoyable with great service. While travel re-scheduling shortened our stay a bit, we enjoyed this smaller hotel. The desk and restaurant service were excellent. The breakfast at The Rhododendron in the morning was superb. Best French Toast in a long long time.

Neighborhood looks interesting for walks, wish we had more time.

Parking in the area is relatively limited and moderately expensive where you find it. There is a loading/unloading area in front of the hotel and across the street at a sister property.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mpgivens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol G, Manager at Inn at Virginia Mason, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Good Afternoon and thank you for your kind review of your recent stay with us! Seattle is such a vibrant city but after a busy day of sightseeing, our guests enjoy escaping back to our little neighborhood here on First Hill. We're glad you enjoyed the Rhododendron Restaurant. The restaurant team has just added a new "express" outlet featuring organic sandwiches and snacks. So since your visit to Seattle was shortened, we hope you'll return for another stay in the near future. Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed at the Inn at Virginia Mason as part of a larger group for one night en route to our "ultimate" vacation. We had difficulty finding affordable accommodation in the downtown because it was a Mariner's home-game weekend and peak holiday season. The Inn had availability but was so suspiciously under-priced that I held out little hope. Our group was very pleasantly surprised by the Inn and I will certainly stay again.

The staff was helpful and courteous. The rooms (we had a "junior suite") were huge and comfortable, very clean and in good repair. The menu in the room (as a group, we were travelling with a swarm of small, hungry children) was affordable and the food was hot and good.

I would happily recommend this hotel to anyone. Then again, maybe I should not recommend it at all because there will be less room for me when next I want to visit the city on a whim. That's right. Stay away :) Good job everyone!

Room Tip: Junior suites were large, open and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank familyonthego128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol G, General Manager at Inn at Virginia Mason, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Hello Canada! Thank you for your nice review. We were glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us enroute to your ultimate vacation destination. Yes, we think we have a great location at a great value, and we hope we exceeded your expectations. Please tell a few of your friends to come stay with us. . .we will take good care of them too. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Baroness Hotel
#78 of 100 in Seattle
3.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Belltown
Ace Hotel
Ace Hotel
#57 of 100 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Hotel Sorrento
#25 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Executive Hotel Pacific
#66 of 100 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Virginia Mason? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Virginia Mason

Property: Inn at Virginia Mason
Address: 1006 Spring St, Seattle, WA 98104-1216
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn at Virginia Mason 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Inn at Virginia Mason welcomes you with style and warm hospitality. Nestled in the quiet residential neighborhood of First Hill, not only is the Inn at Virginia Mason convenient to First Hill medical facilities it is just a short walk from downtown Seattle shopping, the financial district and the Convention Center. Tastefully designed and reasonably priced rooms await your arrival. Select Suites feature wood burning fireplaces, whirlpool baths and city views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Inn at Virginia Mason reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Virginia Mason Hotel Seattle
Hotel At Virginia Mason
Virginia Mason Inn
At Virginia Mason Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing