We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Read description carefully”
Review of Inn at Queen Anne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn at Queen Anne
Ranked #73 of 104 Hotels in Seattle
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Reviews, if read more carefully, should have warned us. This is a hostel accommodation, for travelers who have no expectations of comfort and are happy with clean sheets and a good location to be able to walk to tourist attractions. It certainly does not have "all of the convenience of a full service hotel" as quoted on their site.
There is no elevator, as stated, no one to help carry bags upstairs, no fly screens on bedroom windows, no views from the rooms.
The staff were very pleasant and helpful, registering our dismay with the accommodations and understood that we would not be staying for the 5 nights we had booked. We went for a walk and upon our return were greeted with the sight of a busload of Canadians camped out in the lobby, their rooms were not ready, dragging out clothing and changing in the lobby, there is no waiting space in the lobby so we had to pick our way over and around their suitcases. We will read descriptions and reviews much more carefully in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MargaretM4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad C, General Manager at Inn at Queen Anne, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Thanks so much for your review. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed our location, our clean rooms, and our staff. For that reason, I'm a bit perplexed as to what is is we could have done better to meet your expectations. Given the fact that our rooms are all equipped with private bathrooms, I'm also slightly puzzled by the comparison to a hostel; we are most definitely a hotel. I absolutely agree with your sentiment to "read description carefully", as this would provide details of our historic property's lack of an elevator, as well as no promises of specific views or bell staff to assist with luggage. For future reference, we are always happy to accommodate (based on availability) specific room location requests - whether it be a specific view (city or courtyard), or a first floor requests if the lack of an elevator provides a mobility concern. I truly hope that you enjoyed your time in Seattle, and I wish you the best of luck in your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,084)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

775 - 781 of 1,084 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed at the Inn at Queen Anne when we came to Seattle to see the Eagles at Key Arena, The hotel is right across the street from "The Key" and there are a number of great restaurants within a block or two (note: DO make a dinner reservation on concert nights). The hotel is an old apartment building, and the staff are friendly and helpful. There is parking close-by for $20, so this is a great deal if you are coming to the Seattle Center for an event. That said, the hotel is well worn, despite updates. Bathrooms and tiny kitchens have many of the original fixtures, and "funky" is a kind description. But it was clean and the bed was comfortable. There is a nice garden sitting area, too.The coffee was good, but that's it for snacks--plus, I believe bad coffee is a capital offense in Seattle. Would we stay again? You bet.

Room Tip: No elevator. Ground floor for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank poetsrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

as others have said, not the place for everyone. I travel a lot and am not too particular, as long as it is clean and quiet. This place was both clean and quiet, and also was very close to the McCaw centre for Wagner's Ring Cycle. The courtyard was an added bonus as many opera goers were staying there and would meet before and after. Handy to grocery store and bars/restaurants as well.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RESK2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Location is great. Hotel is old and shows its age but that added to the fun of it for myself and my guest. The check in is at 3 and we could not check in any earlier but they did take our luggage and hold it for us until check in time. You can pay for parking through the hotel for $20 a night which isn't bad but you don't pay until you check out and when I checked out they charged me $24.92 for the night for parking and said the extra amount was tax. I don't think you should have to pay tax on parking and I think they should tell you that ahead of time since it makes it $25 a night for parking.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MitchyLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

My husband and I wanted to spend our anniversary in Seattle, seeing the sights. The pictures on the webiste are very, very decieving. The hotel is extremely old and run down. Our room smelled teriible and we had to go to the store and grab a gel airfreshner to put by the air conditioning fan to circulate. Parking is a block away in an alley which was kind of scary to leave the car there, Run down bars and taverns on the block so was pretty scared walking back after dinner. Just a warning...can't believe everything you see on their webiste.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tammy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad C, General Manager at Inn at Queen Anne, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Hi, Tammy. Thanks so much for your review. I sincerely hope that your time spent in Seattle was enjoyable despite your seemingly unpleasant stay with us. While our property is full of historic charm, it is most definitely clean and well maintained. Our history and character are two of the things that we pride ourselves on the most, and you'll see from countless other reviewers that our location/neighborhood is one of our biggest assets. I understand that some guests may require a more modern "cookie cutter" hotel experience, and I wish your the best of luck in your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I decided to do research on this hotel, after reading a very positive review on trip advisor.

We spent three night there and were very satisfied.
Comfy beds, neat little kitchen, laundry, and very close to a 24 hour market.
Within walking distance to the Seattle Center, Space Needle, buses, etc.

Very friendly staff, as well.

It would have rated five stars, except for the tub, which was hard for me to get out of. But the shower worked just fine.

Room Tip: No elevator, so ask for a room on the first level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ruthlesskoenig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

These kinds of places are not for everyone, hence some of the harsh reviews. Upscale - No. Great customer service - Nope. Beautiful rooms? No again. What was it then? It was an excellent value for an average place in a great location. The rooms while dreary were acceptable. The bathroom was nice. If you have a car you can venture up the hill to some great neighborhood spots in Queen Anne or visit the Freemont Troll and Gas Works Parks. The Space Needle is a short walk away and the immediate environs leaned toward trendy rather than tired. Overall, if you are from Europe or a budget traveler, this place is the bee's knees. In other words, these types of places don't survive by catering to the wants of a sophisticated guest, but thrive in meeting the needs of a savvy traveler.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BeachvsMountains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Northgate
Comfort Inn & Suites Seattle
Magnolia / Queen Anne
Mediterranean Inn
Mediterranean Inn
#31 of 104 in Seattle
1,577 reviews
MarQueen Hotel
#53 of 104 in Seattle
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Nexus Seattle
#70 of 104 in Seattle
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Queen Anne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Queen Anne

Address: 505 1st Ave N, Seattle, WA 98109-4523
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 104 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range: $88 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Inn at Queen Anne 2*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This quaint, historic hotel is in the center of the vibrant Queen Anne neighborhood, near downtown Seattle. Located directly across from the Key Arena and within walking distance to the Space Needle, Pacific Science Center, Olympic Sculpture Park, monorail and close to both cruise ship terminals. Our small Seattle hotel features fully equipped kitchenettes in every room, free WiFi, a beautiful garden courtyard, and friendly personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Inn at Queen Anne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Queen Anne Hotel Seattle
Hotel At Queen Anne
At Queen Anne Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing