We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Bother Complaining”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Seattle Downtown Area
Ranked #38 of 103 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed at this hotel about two years ago as part of a Victoria Clipper package and found that, despite having several dozen tv channels, not one of them was Canadian. We complained to the front desk and at best their attitude was indifferent. They seemed puzzled that that would be of interest to us. We subsequently discussed this with the manager and were assurred that it would be rectified. Stayed there again last week and nothing has changed. So much for follow up.

Wifi was available at an extra cost.

Restaurant food and service were excellent but otherwise, this is a typical downtown hotel and we'll not be back.

Room Tip: If you're coming from Canada and hope to keep up with things at home, try another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crister, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Seattle Downtown Area, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Dear Dennis F,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. It was good to read you found the restaurant food and service excellent. We apologize we did not meet your expectations. We appreciate when guests take the time to provide feedback and try very hard to make improvements to our product and services when we can. We upgraded our channel selection to include HD programming in 2012. At that time we inquired about added a Canadian station however our cable provider does not have access to Canadian channels. We value your feedback and appreciate your business.
Regards,
Cristy Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,499)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

854 - 860 of 1,499 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2013

Top notch service! Very attentive and helpful staff. Rooms were immaculate. Room service was prompt. Attention to detail was off the charts. Management is obviously focused on the customer experience.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I went out of my way to deliver a package for a convention host. I checked in the next day and received my welcome package. My brochure was not in the package??Two days later he still had not received it. I asked for it at the front desk and after 15 minutes it was located AT THE FRONT DESK.. The convention organizer said he got a message about a package at 11PM 4 hours after I dropped it off. When he came to get it, it could not be found?? IT WAS AT THE FRONT DESK PEOPLE.
Yes I am a little upset. Brochures that cost me money are useless now, I did get a sorry from the front desk BUT still upset. Ruined my visit to Seattle.

The next day I was to meet a friend, he said he had left a message at the front desk for. I never got it.

Strike three was that I booked;
The Club Floor which states that guests will be treated to:
Club Lounge access (Lounge was dark and all refreshments were locked up in the afternoon and evening)
Complimentary continental breakfast (this was decent)
Complimentary evening hors d' oeuvres (This was only on Thursday night, not on Friday and Saturday night)
Mini Refrigerator (did not use)

On the plus side, comfortable rooms and decent meals.

Room Tip: Do not expect Club Floor service on Friday or Saturday. Great views from the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanViking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crister, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Seattle Downtown Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Dear CanViking,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your experience at Crowne Plaza Seattle. Please allow me to apologize for the incident that took place at our Front Desk as well as the experience in the Club Lounge. I'm sure it was very frustrating taking the time to deliver a package to the hotel for a guest and to find out this was not followed up on. We have reviewed our procedures with our Front Desk and entire Guest Services team to ensure this does not happen again. Our Guest Services team is committed to ensuring guest packages are delivered in a timely fashion and it was disappointing to hear we did not live up to our high customer service expectations. Thank you again for your feedback as it allows us to ensure we our offering the best possible service for our valued guests.

Kind Regards,

Russ McCarthy
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

So far I'm a little disappointed in small things with the hotel - especially being here on business. The in-room wifi speed is very poor. We are getting a solid connection signal but slow bandwidth. Also the desk chair is not height adjustable, this is shocking.

On a side note, it is surprising that despite offering 8 or so sports channels, they don't have Comedy Central as an available TV channel. Why?

Room Tip: You can hear the highway many floors, up - ask for a room facing West.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roamingtex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crister, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Seattle Downtown Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Dear Roamingtex,
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your stay. We do apologize that our internet speed and TV channel programming did not meet your expectations. Our bandwidth is affected by the number of users and the type of content they are viewing. We try to manage the upload and download bandwidth to allow for the most efficient usage so that the most number of guests might benefit at the same time. We will work with our provider to make improvements to the bandwidth speed. We regret you experienced issues with adjusting the height of the desk chair. Our guestrooms are scheduled for renovation soon which will include all new furniture. Thank you again for your comments and we hope to serve you again.
Regards,
Cristy Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

This hotel was absolutely the BEST! We took the light rail from the airport and just walked a few blocks up the street to the hotel, super easy. As soon as we walked in we knew we made the right choice, the lobby is modern and beautiful with a large number of free computers (with a printer) off to the side. Russ greeted us at the front desk and could not have been more charming. Even though check-in was not until late afternoon, he immediately gave us our keys and we could not have been more delighted. Russ was so welcoming and personable, made the whole experience a breeze! Honestly, we didn't even want to leave out room in this fabulous city because it was so beautiful and the beds we're incredibly comfortable. We could have just slept and slept! The room was equipped with a nice big flat screen TV along with a mini frig and even a safe. What more could you ask for? Again, modern and beautiful. We could not have been more pleased and hope to be back for a future stay!

Room Tip: We stayed up on the 25th floor and it was extremely quiet. Gorgeous view of the city!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

From Booking, to having to change a few details, and to check in I received excellent service. They were very polite and accommodating. The room was very nice and comfortable. I will be coming back to Seattle and will be definitely staying at The Crowne Plaza again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fashionwilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Our room had a good view of the city and the hotel had just been remodeled. It was "modern" as in some of the European hotels, but without the top quality. It was adequate, just not quality. IE, elevators were awful. Could never tell which one was coming. Recessed so arrows not visible. The buffet breakfast had the normal stuff and a cook for eggs to order which was nice. Very attentive waiter, but one of those you wanted to tell to "go away". My husband and I never have time together and we worked really hard to end up at the same place at the same time. I had been in Olympia on Business and had to rent another car in order to drive to where he would arrive. The waiter interrupted us several times with his bigger than life personality. :) Nice guy, but you know what I mean? They had valet parking for a MERE 45 buck a night! More than the car rental. Easy walk to the Pike Place market. When you come off the expressway it is IMMEDIATELY on your left. The sign is hard to see. I had to go around the blocks several times to find it. Stopped at the Hyatt just down the street (who's parking is cheaper) and asked them where it was. All in all not a bad hotel, just not exceptional in any way.

Room Tip: Rooms on North side have nice view of city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crister, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Seattle Downtown Area, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Dear Jan A,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us. It was great to read you enjoyed the view from your guestroom. We are sorry we did not meet your expectations. Due to limited parking in the downtown corridor, all facilities with in and out privileges are priced competitively. It was disappointing to read the waiter was bothersome during your time with your husband at breakfast. We appreciate your comments regarding the elevator arrow lanterns and have plans to make changes to this during our guestroom renovations later this year. We use all guest feedback as a tool to make improvements to our services, amenities and staff training. Thank you again for your comments. We appreciate your business and hope to serve you again.

Regards,

Cristy Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
0.1 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Seattle
0.1 mi away
Hilton Seattle
Hilton Seattle
#59 of 103 in Seattle
1,089 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Seattle Hotel
Sheraton Seattle Hotel
#32 of 103 in Seattle
4,558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle
0.1 mi away
W Seattle
W Seattle
#34 of 103 in Seattle
657 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hyatt Seattle
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 103 in Seattle
3,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Seattle Downtown Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Seattle Downtown Area

Address: 1113 6th Ave, Seattle, WA 98101-3002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#30 Business Hotel in Seattle
#33 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#35 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: $151 - $380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Seattle Downtown Area 4*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Hotel - Seattle offers a superb location in Downtown Seattle, close to everything great in the Pacific Northwest. A few blocks from the Crowne Plaza Hotel - Seattle, you can explore the historic Pike Place Market or the new Seattle Central Library; catch a Mariners game at Safeco Field or a Seahawks game at Qwest Field in Pioneer Square. Walk two blocks from the Crowne Plaza Hotel - Seattle to your meeting at the Washington Convention & Trade Center, then indulge yourself at hundreds of downtown stores, including Westlake Center and Pacific Place shopping malls. Explore the local waterways on an Argosy Cruise or on any of the major cruise lines. Click on the Packages tab for some great options to help you see it all!The Crowne Plaza Hotel - Seattle also puts you in the heart of the city s amazing arts scene, including the beautiful 5th Avenue and Paramount Theatres, Seattle Art Museum, and Benaroya Hall. The Space Needle stands just minutes away, casting its long shadow over Key Arena, the Pacific Science Center, the Experience Music Project and McCaw Hall, home of the Seattle Opera and the Pacific Northwest Ballet. Plus, the Crowne Plaza Hotel - Seattle is just four miles from the University of Washington with its Meany Hall and Husky Stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Seattle Downtown Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Seattle Downtown Area Hotel Seattle
Seattle Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing