We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful view, close to Pike's, Great Staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Seattle Downtown Area
Ranked #38 of 103 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza before and after our Alaska cruise. We found the views wonderful! It was my husband and my anniversary, and we had our two teens along. The rooms were very spacious and clean. The hotel may not be as new as some of the others around, but I found the price, and everything else about the hotel very nice. They are very used to dealing with the cruise crowds, and handle them very well. When they found out it was our anniversary, they upgraded us to a suite! It included free wifi, comp breakfast in the morning evening snacks in the private lounge. It was more than we could have imagined. The staff were ALL very pleasant. We did dine in the hotel restaurant, and found it to be good, and John the waiter, very nice, and always mindful of our likes.
The concierge was also very helpful, and remembered our names and needs as well.
Everyone couldn't have been nicer, and we would definitely stay again on our next trip to Seattle!

Room Tip: We asked for a room facing the Space Needle/water...and they did give us one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,499)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

977 - 983 of 1,499 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2012

Decided to view a few highlights of Seattle before a cruise. The customer service women Terry could not have been more helpful or patient. She was a great resource and helped organize our tours. Our hotel room was spacious and the bed was comfortable,we had a fantastic view of the Space needle from our room, We loved seattle it made our vacation !

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mcd931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 7, 2012

Thank you for providing feedback about your recent stay at the Crown Plaza Hotel. Terry takes a lot of pride in the service levels she provides and will be very pleased that she was a great resource during your visit to Seattle. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff’s efforts. It was great to read you found the room spacious, bed comfortable and enjoyed the view of the Space Needle from your guestroom. We value your business and hope you will come back and visit the next time you are traveling to Seattle.
Regards,
Cristy Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We stayed in June 2012 for 4 nights. In order to get a King bed, we were assigned a "accessible room". I don't like these rooms, but it was in decent shape. Linens were clean and bed comfortable. Nice flat screen TV and small fridge (unexpected surprise). We were in a corner room which seemed spacious. Not sure if all the other rooms are like that or not. The rooms are very quiet from outside noises. The restaurant/lounge was very relaxing and fun. They offered free pizza and wings to guests in the lounge between 5 and 7. Their outside courtyard area is nice for a small party or get together. Our get together lacked chairs, but still a nice area to do it. Staff was all very pleasant and helpful. We would stay again if the price is right. I would not pay more than $100 to $120 a night.

Room Tip: Our corner room was spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GunsandHosesTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 7, 2012

Thank you so much for staying at the Crowne Plaza Hotel during your recent visit to downtown Seattle. We are grateful for your feedback and we thank you for taking the time to review your experience on Trip Advisor. We were pleased to read we were able to accommodate your king bed request and you found the room quiet & spacious, linens clean and bed comfortable. Our staff take a lot of pride in the level of service they provide, and truly appreciate whenever feedback is received. Thank you again for your business and we hope to serve you again if your travels bring you to Seattle.
Kind Regards,
Cristy Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012 via mobile

Expected better rooms but the location and views were great. Seems like older hotel, very slow elevators, great service

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kjsiex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2012

Thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Hotel during your visit to Seattle. We are within walking distance to many restaurants, world class shopping and popular Seattle attractions. We apologize that we did not fully meet your expectations. The hotel experiences a high volume of guests in the summer months that occasionally slow the elevator service during peak times. The hotel is in the design phase for a complete renovation that will begin soon and hope you will stay with us again to enjoy our improvements.
Regards,
Cristy Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

This hotel stay came at the end of our two week tour of the northern Pacific Coast followed by an Alaskan cruise. It was a great way to end our trip! We arrived early after disembarking from the ship. Luckily we were allowed to check in a little early, so we had almost a full day of sightseeing.
The concierge was extremely helpful in telling us which streets were the easiest to walk to get to the monorail. We told her where we wanted to go, and she pulled out a map and told us exactly how to get there. After several hours of taking in the Space Needle and Pikes Market, we came back to our room to relax. The rooms are spacious and well appointed. Since we had a mid day flight back to the east coast the next day, we were able to enjoy a delicious breakfast in the hotel restaurant. I would highly recommend this mid priced hotel if you are taking a cruise out of Seattle. We stayed near SeaTac airport before the cruise, but definitely preferred being downtown at the Crown Plaza post cruise. It is well worth any extra money to be downtown.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PBFla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2012

Thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza after your Alaskan Cruise and for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. We were pleased to read the concierge provided you with excellent service and you enjoyed your stay with us. Seattle has so many wonderful things to do and see and it was great you were able to visit the Space Needle all decorated in the original orange paint for the 50th anniversary celebration of the 1962 World’s fair. We are delighted you would recommend our hotel and hope to serve you again if your travels bring you back to Seattle.
Kind Regards,
Cristy Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

I spent three nights at the Crowne Plaza in downtown Seattle in June of 2012. For a downtown hotel, it was "inexpensive". The room was pretty typical for a 20+ year old hotel, but was very clean and did have a decent-sized flat screen TV as well as a dorm-sized fridge. Because of a Seattle (or perhaps Washington) law, hotels are not responsible for lost or stolen items if they provide a safe for guest use, so it's common for hotels to provide them, and the Crowne Plaza is no different.

Despite having a room directly across the hall from one of the four elevators, noise was minimal. I slept well every night I was there.

The hotel is within walking distance of several downtown attractions, and is very close to a light rail station and moderately close to the ferries. The neighborhood is generally businesses and office buildings and feels quite safe. There are quite a few restaurants within walking distance. There is a restaurant in the hotel, which I did not try. There's also a gift/convenience shop.

The staff were universally friendly and helpful.

My only complaint is that the hotel dings you for any of the things that would be included at a hotel that's not downtown. Wifi is not complementary (it's $9.00+ a day), parking is by valet only and is $41.00 a day. I can understand that parking downtown is expensive and that it's not going to be free at very many downtown hotels, but coupled with the other things that were "extra", it just seems like the hotel is gouging the customer a bit. Note that breakfast also is not complimentary, which doesn't matter to me but might to someone else.

While I would certainly consider staying at the Crowne Plaza again, I would definitely shop around for some of the other hotels in the area (and there are a lot of them) to see if I can get a comparable deal at a hotel that includes at least Wifi.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed on a two night stopover pre Alaskan Cruise.
We found the all the staff very pleasant, helpful and courteous, the rooms very clean and spacious, and the bed and linen very comfortable. The breakfast in the morning was delicious and omelettes cooked to order was a def. bonus. The concierge was extremely helpful when our shuttle was very late and did everything she could for us. Bar food was great and the drinks were also reasonably priced. I even requested a 'stange' Brandy Alexander' made with coconut milk and was pleasantly surprised when the request was delivered.
Overall - a great stay and well done to the staff and management.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank diamondaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
0.1 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Seattle
0.1 mi away
Hilton Seattle
Hilton Seattle
#59 of 103 in Seattle
1,089 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Seattle Hotel
Sheraton Seattle Hotel
#32 of 103 in Seattle
4,558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle
0.1 mi away
W Seattle
W Seattle
#34 of 103 in Seattle
657 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hyatt Seattle
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 103 in Seattle
3,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Seattle Downtown Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Seattle Downtown Area

Address: 1113 6th Ave, Seattle, WA 98101-3002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#30 Business Hotel in Seattle
#33 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#35 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: $151 - $380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Seattle Downtown Area 4*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Hotel - Seattle offers a superb location in Downtown Seattle, close to everything great in the Pacific Northwest. A few blocks from the Crowne Plaza Hotel - Seattle, you can explore the historic Pike Place Market or the new Seattle Central Library; catch a Mariners game at Safeco Field or a Seahawks game at Qwest Field in Pioneer Square. Walk two blocks from the Crowne Plaza Hotel - Seattle to your meeting at the Washington Convention & Trade Center, then indulge yourself at hundreds of downtown stores, including Westlake Center and Pacific Place shopping malls. Explore the local waterways on an Argosy Cruise or on any of the major cruise lines. Click on the Packages tab for some great options to help you see it all!The Crowne Plaza Hotel - Seattle also puts you in the heart of the city s amazing arts scene, including the beautiful 5th Avenue and Paramount Theatres, Seattle Art Museum, and Benaroya Hall. The Space Needle stands just minutes away, casting its long shadow over Key Arena, the Pacific Science Center, the Experience Music Project and McCaw Hall, home of the Seattle Opera and the Pacific Northwest Ballet. Plus, the Crowne Plaza Hotel - Seattle is just four miles from the University of Washington with its Meany Hall and Husky Stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Seattle Downtown Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Seattle Downtown Area Hotel Seattle
Seattle Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing