We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It'll do the job”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Seattle Downtown Area
Ranked #35 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“It'll do the job”
Reviewed January 6, 2012

I stay here numerous times a year and for the location, it's awesome! You are within walking distance of some of Seattle's greatest offerings. From Pike Place Market, the pier, Westlake mall, it's wonderfully located.

What I don't like is how evidently old the building must be. The heating cooling system is ancient, and some rooms have the analog control on the wall which is fine (though I prefer the digital controls like a lot of hotels have) but some rooms have a wall heater that you raise the cover too and it always looks broken, like it either won't close all the way or open all of the way. Some knobs may be missing, hard to turn, etc.

My other gripe is the towels. Can they not afford Downy?! Or any fabric softener?! Those things will rub your skin off.

Food in the bar is pricey late at night. A basket of french fries was $6.95?! $12 burgers don't come with a side? If this was Boston or NY I could understand, but when there are good eats just footsteps from your property, you would expect better pricing.

The beds are comfy though and they use white duvet covers and that's HUGE for me. I need to know that my linens from top to bottom have been washed.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shera T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    542
    622
    202
    67
    24
See reviews for
280
414
114
404
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix AZ
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Standard hotel room. Great mattress on the bed! Staff friendly. Good downtown location. Cabs always available. Concierge stored my luggage for 8 hours after checking out. Restaurant in hotel. Breakfast bar fully stocked. All fresh. Servers extremely accommodating.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank msphx12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vashon Island
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

We have a suite for New Year's Eve. The bedroom is quite small but adequate. The "living room" large but the furniture needs to go. Not worn, but cheap looking. No minibar but it does have a refrig. Flat screen TVs in both rooms and a good view of the Space Needle for excellent fireworks viewing last night.

When we got back from dinner at about 10 last night, we wanted to go for a couple of dances at their bar before popping the champagne in our room for the fireworks show. Well, hip hop isn't my favorite so that was a bust.

Pretty much everything looks a little worn or kind of cheap, from the lobby to the elevators to terrible carpeting to an outdated bathroom. A little noisy as well, surprising on the 19th floor. Also, hall noise, that could be serious in a room other than a suite (we had a bedroom door to close).

Oh, $10 internet and no late checkout. The elevators are woefully inadequate when the hotel is full. Took forever to catch one.

Good price for downtown Seattle though. We cabbed but I believe parking is $30, be careful of that.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zigzagg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crister, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Seattle Downtown Area, responded to this review, January 23, 2012
Dear zigzagg,

Thanks for your feedback on your recent stay at the hotel. Your review of our services, amenities and rooms are very important to help our Management Team determine what areas need improvement and addressing. New Years Eve is an extremely busy time for the hotel as our guests return each year for the wonderful views of the city and fireworks. The hotel can be noisier and elevators slower than usual due to the increased occupancy and enthusiastic guests celebrating New Years. We are sorry you experienced noise. The hotel has plans for upgrades soon and would love to have you back for your thoughts…. We can even look into different music for future celebrations. Thanks again!

Regards,

Cristy Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

We had a room on the 29th floor and loved the view. You could see the Space Needle, the Pike Place Market sign and the sound. Our suite had plenty of room and the service was great.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rogers488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2011

Loved our stay here.. Staff were friendly and always ready to help. Nice rooms.

Room Tip: BEST location!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tasha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2011

I would like to start off by recognizing Dante at the front desk. We booked our room last minute through Hotwire. From my experience, hotels treat Hotwire guests like bottom feeders since the rate is so low. In this case, Dante treated us like we were VIPs. From the moment he greeted us, he was very accommodating, courteous, and professional. He gave us a complimentary upgrade to one of the Parlor Suites on the 30th floor. The room was gorgeous, well appointed, and very clean and spacious. The bed was to die for! The restaurant was very comfortable, very lounge like and a great place to grab a bite and drink after a long day. Our server was great, and very personable. We took advantage of the breakfast buffet the restaurant offered the next morning. The arrangement of food was of good quality and very good! I would recommend Crown Plaza to anyone who cares about getting 5 star treatment at a more affordable price. It is clear that this property values its guests and loves to make a memorable impression.

Room Tip: Sign up for the rewards program when you check in! It is free and you get free perks right away! Fre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lovesthenorthwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aloha, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2011

I've stayed at the Seattle Crowne Plaza a couple of times in the past year or so.

Very friendly staff, clean rooms, and loads of stuff to do near the hotel. The convention center is a few blocks away, as are a lot of dining options. The Pike Street Market is within easy walking distance too.

4pm checkin time (however I've been able to get an early checkin by just asking), and a noon checkout time is pretty typical. I've never actually ate at the hotel restaurant, as there's so many options nearby.

I'd stay there again anytime.

Room Tip: I had a room on the 19th floor right next to the elevators. Normally this would have sent alarm bel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Udoggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
0.1 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Seattle
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Seattle Hotel
Sheraton Seattle Hotel
#37 of 101 in Seattle
4,143 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Seattle
Hilton Seattle
#55 of 101 in Seattle
1,000 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hyatt Seattle
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 101 in Seattle
3,017 reviews
0.2 mi away
Motif Seattle
Motif Seattle
#41 of 101 in Seattle
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Seattle Downtown Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Seattle Downtown Area

Property: Crowne Plaza Seattle Downtown Area
Address: 1113 6th Ave, Seattle, WA 98101-3002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#30 Business Hotel in Seattle
#33 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#35 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Seattle Downtown Area 4*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Hotel - Seattle offers a superb location in Downtown Seattle, close to everything great in the Pacific Northwest. A few blocks from the Crowne Plaza Hotel - Seattle, you can explore the historic Pike Place Market or the new Seattle Central Library; catch a Mariners game at Safeco Field or a Seahawks game at Qwest Field in Pioneer Square. Walk two blocks from the Crowne Plaza Hotel - Seattle to your meeting at the Washington Convention & Trade Center, then indulge yourself at hundreds of downtown stores, including Westlake Center and Pacific Place shopping malls. Explore the local waterways on an Argosy Cruise or on any of the major cruise lines. Click on the Packages tab for some great options to help you see it all!The Crowne Plaza Hotel - Seattle also puts you in the heart of the city s amazing arts scene, including the beautiful 5th Avenue and Paramount Theatres, Seattle Art Museum, and Benaroya Hall. The Space Needle stands just minutes away, casting its long shadow over Key Arena, the Pacific Science Center, the Experience Music Project and McCaw Hall, home of the Seattle Opera and the Pacific Northwest Ballet. Plus, the Crowne Plaza Hotel - Seattle is just four miles from the University of Washington with its Meany Hall and Husky Stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Seattle Downtown Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Seattle Downtown Area Hotel Seattle
Seattle Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing