We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“expensive for what you get. not for biz travellers.”
Review of Inn at the Market

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Inn at the Market
Ranked #1 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“expensive for what you get. not for biz travellers.”
Reviewed July 24, 2007

The simple fact is the hotel's location is simply unbeatable.. a mere stone's throw away from Pike Market. Plenty of great restaurants to go to and it is generally a fun area to be in. That is if you are a tourist. However, the quality of the hotel itself is only so-so. This is not a place for business travellers. I might be a bit hard on them especially since I just returned from a trip to HK where I stayed at the Conrad HK and Wynn Macau. Compared to those the Inn feels like motel 6.
Issues:
1. There is no desks in the rooms to place your laptops on. Even if you have wireless internet, there is no place to work on but your bed.
2. Furniture and coverings are worned and just outdated.
3. Room 409 is a city view room. The last room they had for that date. Avoid at all cost because its window sits right above the bus stop. They claim that the windows are double paned but I could hear the buses' roaring engines. I had to sleep with ear plugs which they had at the front desk.
4. The AC is a standalone unit attached to the wall. This is not part of a central system. The standalone unit made quite a bit of noise. It looks cheap and tacky too.
5. There is no business center. Only a fax machine located in the basement of the hotel.

For the price you pay you are paying for the location only. The staff are extremely friendly though. Folks should check out the fried doughnuts at the Dhalia Lounge.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Rooms. Noise. Needs updating
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank winCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,185
    370
    66
    22
    5
See reviews for
399
1,550
113
216
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (959)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2007

This was my fifth or sixth visit to the Inn at the Market. The property is better than most: the lobby is handsome, the rooms comfortable (though a little tired and ready for renovation, especially in the case of the bathrooms), the sun deck overlooking the harbor is a treat, and the staff is welcoming. The related restaurants, including not only Campagne but the related bistro in the basement and the lively breakfast place located separately within the same building, are really good. But the whole ballgame here is the location. The views, if you are fortunate enough to have a water-view room, are simply stunning -- not only because of the comings and goings of ferry boats, freighters, liners, Coast Guard cutters, fishing boats, and pleasure craft, but also because of the astonishing mountain range visible across Elliott Bay, which catches the sunset in truly glorious ways. It is also a pleasure to be able to walk half a block down the steep hill to the Pike Place Market, with all its produce and its bustle of activity. There are countless restaurants and clubs within walking distance. As gentrification neuters most of downtown Seattle, this area remains edgy, even a little challenging if you go in certain directions at certain times. The area is not for you if you are uncomfortable with street people and occasional strong smells. It is also a little inconvenient for business; and the business services in the hotel are not comparable to those in a Hyatt or a Marriott. But the tradeoff is a real sense of place, something you can't get in other cities or in Seattle's uptown hotels.

  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Pullman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2007

This hotel is in a terrific location half a block from the Pike Place Market and
within walking distance of most downtown attractions. It's located on a steep hill
(see photos) with a courtyard and ocean view patio. Our room faced the patio and
ocean - great for sunsets. The bed was memory foam so my pregnant wife loved it and
slept like a charm. Very comfy. The bathroom was modern and clean. The only
disappointing thing was the TV in the room was beside the bed - not at the end so it
made watching TV challenging. Also, we thought the waterfront was a little closer.
Turns out its a downhill hike under a freeway before you reach the piers. There's a
great little breakfast place in the courtyard to try. If you want to stay near the
waterfront, eat solid seafood nearby, visit the Pike Place Market and downtown for
shopping - this is just fine. Pretty expensive place to stay - but cool.

  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulBz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2007

We were in 706, wiith the taxes it was slightly over $400/night. We had a nice water view. When we had our windows open we got the traffic noises from hwy 99 and the noise and cooking smells from the restaurant Campagne. Location is good for first time tourists.

The staff was helpful and nice, the rooms were clean and the housekeeping staff was excellent. The bathroom was spacious and clean but some what dated. There were limited TV channels -- no HBO, etc.

All and all, a comfortable hotel but on the expensive side.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank marianneNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron,Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2007

Spent two nights with my wife over the 4th. We had a bay view room that was more than we could have hoped for. Great view of the fireworks. This is a world unto itself after walking all day in Seattle. A great place to come back to. Pikes Place market is at your door step so the location is perfect. Try to stay as high ( as in floor height) as you can as the market opens early and there can be some noise. The beds are the posturepedic foam and are everything that they claim. We slept really well. I think if we ever go back to Seattle, this was our second time, we wouldn't stay anywhere else. Room service was right on time and all food we had in the room, and in the restaurants, was quite good.One other thing about the view, you have Mt. Renier to your left, facing the bay, and the snow capped Cascades in frount and to the right , it's postcard great.

  • Liked — The decor, the beds, and the unreal views.
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarDar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2007

I just returned from a wonderful 4 night stay at the Inn at the Market. The most wonderful feature of this boutique hotel is its location which is literally at the Pikes Pier market. It was wonderful to be able to simply step out of our hotel and walk through the market. From our hotel window we watched as the flower booths were setup, we watched cruise ships, ferries, and the bustle of the market activity. Wonderful. When we arrived we found that our room had only 1 queen bed and we expressed that we would prefer 2 queen beds. They made every effort to accommodate this request and we were given a room with a pullout sofa -- it suited us very well. The room was not large but it was very clean and well furnished and suited our needs. We also enjoyed the deck on the 5th floor which is nicely furnished with deck furniture and affords a great view of the water and the market. 4th of July firewords viewed from the deck are spectacular. We also found the staff to be very friendly and competent. All of the desk personnel are concierges. They booked several reservations and cruises for us. The only area which I felt could possibly be improved was the room service menu. The room service is provided by a restaurant which shares the courtyard called Campagne. We found the menu to be too limited and the items too obscure to be appealling. However it was of little matter since the area that the hotel is situated is surrounded by a large number of restaurants and eateries. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend this lovely boutique hotel!

  • Liked — Location, Location, Location
  • Disliked — Room Service Menu
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank widtml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2007

Close to almost everything! I walked everywhere!. It's just a few blocks to Nordstroms, Art Museum, ferries and more. It was fun to walk out the door and be at the market too. We loved the deck, the room was nice and clean and the bed was the best! The chocolates on the turndown were so good! We would definately stay here again. Also we had a wonderful meal at Le Campagne and the waiter was the best.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — price
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Estephania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#4 of 101 in Seattle
2,020 reviews
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 101 in Seattle
3,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at the Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Market

Property: Inn at the Market
Address: 86 Pine St., Seattle, WA 98101-1571
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Seattle
#1 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#1 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#9 Business Hotel in Seattle
#14 Green Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn at the Market 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn at the Market is the only downtown Seattle hotel located directly in the famous Pike Place Market. Inn at the Market's ivy-covered courtyard is a tranquil hideaway, just steps away from the vibrant atmosphere of Pike Place Market and the Seattle waterfront. Inn at the Market offers Pacific Northwest style and comfort surrounded by downtown Seattle's most acclaimed restaurants and iconic landmarks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TravelClick, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn at the Market reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Market Hotel Seattle
Hotel At The Market
At The Market Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing