We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We absolutely loved our stay at Inn at the Market!”
Review of Inn at the Market

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn at the Market
Ranked #1 of 104 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 27, 2009

After reading many, many reviews on this website, I contacted the manager directly to see if he could assist me in making plans for a short 2 night stay in Seattle for our wedding anniversary. He promptly responded with an offer that I couldn't pass up!
This past weekend my husband and I stayed at the Inn in one of the town house city view suites. The hotel & staff were amazing! We absolutely loved this hotel and will for sure be back in the future! I have already told many friends and family that next time they're in Seattle, this is "the" place to stay!
When we first arrived, there was an anniversary card and a special dessert for two waiting in our room! It was delicious and such a nice gesture! Typically we would go out for a nice anniversary dinner where ever we happen to be. At the Inn, there was a set of dishes for two in our room, so both nights we decided to get takeout and bring it back. Fixed up our plates and headed to the deck on the 5th floor. Amazing view and plenty of space! Even though there were other guests out there, everyone had their own space and it was wonderful!
The room was very spacious and super clean! Two big flat screen tv's... bay windows that look out on two different streets, one with partial market/water view. The location couldn't be more ideal! Steps from Pike Place Market which is always one of our favs when in town for a visit.
Thank you Mr. Watkins & thank you to your staff! We really enjoyed our stay at your hotel and can't wait to come back! This was definitely an anniversary to remember!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SeasideJenni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marketcaptain, General Manager at Inn at the Market, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2009

Dear Guest:

I am very pleased you had a great time visiting Seattle and thank you for staying with us. For other trip advisor readers if you are celebrating something special be sure to mention it during your reservation.

Best

David Watkins
dwatkinsgm@innatthemarket.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,755)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,519 - 2,525 of 2,755 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2009

We stayed here for a few days a couple of weeks ago and found the service to be very prompt, the bed comfortable and room clean. The location was great but I was harassed one night by a persistant homeless man looking for a handout, while walking near the market after dark. When I did some internet research I learned that Seattle has lax laws toward panhandling, and that the panhandling is sometimes "aggressive". I also learned that that some of Seattle's services for the homeless are located in the market area. That being known, we avoided walking back through that area in the evenings and were were not harassed again there. This has nothing to do with the hotel but I think it's important to let people know to exercise caution in the market place after dark, especially since the hotel is adjacent to the Pike Market.

We thought the rooftop outdoor sitting area would have benefitted by a fireplace or at least a few heat lamps.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whisperingpalms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marketcaptain, General Manager at Inn at the Market, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2009

Dear Guest:

Thank you for your comments and I am sorry that you experienced the pan handling. The Hotel and Downtown Association are working with the City of Seattle to try and address the situation.

Best

David Watkins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2009

Where do I start? Service? Great! Rooms? Amazing! Location? Can't beat it. Right across the street is the Pike Place Market (which overlooks the bay), full of fresh flowers, vegetables, and art cultivated by locals. Haggled for an fantastic glass-blown vase and got a great deal. Walking distance to many restaurants, though admittedly, they do close a little early. If you get room service, try the fresh squeeze orange juice.

When I asked at the front desk for recommendations on where to go/what to do, the lady cheerfully gave me a map and gave me a few points of interest; she even outlined the free public transportation routes for me! Then, when it was time to go, the valet retrieved my car quickly and with pep, even at 4 in the morning, and he offered me tips on the safest places to get gas on the way back. They really take care of their patrons. If I ever go back to Seattle, this is definitely where I will stay again!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TraverseTheUniverse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2009

I'm mystified by the couple of terrible reviews. The staff at Inn at the Market was very professional with us and the accomodations were very nice. I had booked a Town House City-View Suite for my wife and I as the last stop on a 10-day trip. We both were impressed with the spaciousness of the room(s) and quality of the little touches. Huge flat-csreen TV's upstairs and downstairs, small safe in the room, quiet even with the large windows facing the city streets. The 5th floor deck is wonderful, it would be even nicer if there was more space (impossible) and if the hotel would prohibit smoking (possible). The hotel itself is non-smoking and Seattle is a healthy city. C'mon management...go all the way and make the rooftop no-smoking too! Easy access to Pike Place Market, the first Starbucks and not that far from Safeco and Qwest Fields...great location. We also had them arrange for a town car to SEA and it was ontime and had us at the airport less than 30 minutes later. Granted, it was not a "bargain", but you can't expect Fairmont style for La Quinta prices! All in all, we very much enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oilguy57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2009

This place is fantastic, yes it's pricey but you are within walking distance of everything you need for your stay. Fine food, the aquarium, shopping, the public market, the Grey Line Bus Tours, the trolley, the city buses, the underground, the monorail and the ferry system. Between 8 am and 7 pm the buses are free if you stay withing the downtown area. Pioneer Square is 9 blocks away. Our room was HUGE (get got the room with two double beds) we had a sink, microwave and refrigerator. Ask for a room above the third floor, we were on the 6th floor and had a spectacular view of Elliot Bay, on the Stewart side of the hotel. The roof top terrace is to die for, we spent about half of our trip just watching the busy habor activities. The staff was fantastic, we will definitely stay there again. We loved this hotel and Seattle. Make sure you ask about the Pike Street Hill Climb and using the elevators in the parking garages to get down to the wharf area easily, this is a must for people with strollers, wheelchairs, the elderly etc.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RhonnaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2009

The best location possible, in my opinion. Right on the marketplace. a short walk to the waterfront and the ferry terminal. Restaurants are close by and the bus system downtown is free! You just can't beat the location. The staff was attentive and professional and he room was spotless with a bed that was fantastic. I would recommend the Inn to any one traveling to Seattle for the first time.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelingangler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2009

Super location in Pike Street Market. Fabulous views of harbor and market. Watch the vendors set up the market or the action in the harbor. You are in the heart of Seattle. What you can't walk to, you can ride the free city bus. Clean, beautiful rooms. Get your coffee at the original Starbucks, your french pastry at Le Panier and then head to the patio on the 5th floor for breakfast! Or sip a glass of wine in the evening from the patio as you watch the sun set over the harbor. Great place for a romantic escape.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bumpkin13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#4 of 104 in Seattle
2,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Paramount Hotel
#3 of 104 in Seattle
1,864 reviews
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 104 in Seattle
3,276 reviews
Belltown
The Edgewater, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at the Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Market

Address: 86 Pine St., Seattle, WA 98101-1571
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#1 Family Hotel in Seattle
#1 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#9 Business Hotel in Seattle
#14 Green Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: $228 - $492 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn at the Market 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn at the Market is the only downtown Seattle hotel located directly in the famous Pike Place Market. Inn at the Market's ivy-covered courtyard is a tranquil hideaway, just steps away from the vibrant atmosphere of Pike Place Market and the Seattle waterfront. Inn at the Market offers Pacific Northwest style and comfort surrounded by downtown Seattle's most acclaimed restaurants and iconic landmarks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn at the Market reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Market Hotel Seattle
Hotel At The Market
At The Market Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing