We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect! Location, small and friendly, great price”
Review of Inn at the Market

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Inn at the Market
Ranked #1 of 102 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed February 9, 2014

I was in Seattle for a conference in the central downtown area but chose Inn at the Market rather than the major hotel (part of a global chain) where the conference was held because of IATM's location so close to the harbour front and the Pike Street market area, yet within 15 minutes walking distance to my conference venue.
It was absolutely the right choice on every count: while freezing outside, entering the hotel lobby provided immediate relief, warmed by a roaring fire, comfy lounge chairs, even chocolate chip cookies; the desk staff were professional and exceptionally helpful; my room on the 4th floor was far beyond what I expected for the (very reasonable) tariff - it was spacious, spotlessly clean, had beautiful linen and fittings, a very comfortable bed, classy toiletries, free excellent w-ifi and a view over the sound to Bainbridge Island and the snow-covered Olympic mountains. When next in Seattle I will definitely be returning to this gem.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view towards the sound.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marketcaptain, General Manager at Inn at the Market, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear Guest:
Thank you for visiting Seattle all the way from New Zealand, I am glad you found our hotel to be comfortable and well situated. We will look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Go All Blacks
David Watkins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,704)
There are newer reviews for Inn at the Market
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,235 - 1,241 of 2,704 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2014

Spent 2 nights in Seattle at hotel. Great location right next to Public Market. Nice hotel, very comfortable beds. Had full water view first night. Room overlooked their rooftop deck so not a lot of privacy, on the fifth floor. An part of the hotel was blocking the bay view. Next time I would try to avoid rooms in the lower 500's.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christiebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

If you are looking for a reasonably-priced hotel near Pike Place Market, then the Inn is ideal. My sister and I stayed there for 3 nights last week and were upgraded to room 419, which is a higher corner room with 2 windows facing Pine Street and 2 windows & french doors looking down on the entrance to Pike Place Market and a sweeping view of the harbour westwards. We had their Museum Package, which includes valet parking and museum tickets. The area is quiet at night, the staff friendly and professional, and the rooms clean and classic. The two double beds were extremely comfortable. Our only gripe was that, since the Inn doesn't have a breakfast restaurant, their suggested venue - Bacco, which provides in-room dining - was a walk around the block (in the rain) and at which one cannot put the bill on the room. But there are several wonderful eateries nearby.

Room Tip: Recommending a higher room facing the sea.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sateasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We travel allot, a great deal, a whole bunch. In Seattle specifically, we've stayed in some of the nicest hotels, including the Grand Hyatt, Hotel 1,000, etc., all beautiful hotels. But part of the reason we love to travel is to EXPERIENCE THE LOCATION. If that is what you're looking for, I think you'll love this Boutique Hotel.

We loved our room on the fourth floor, looking out over Pike's Market and the waterfront. We had a Jr. Suite, with views out over the water and also out onto Post Alley, which is resplendent with restaurants and nightlife and activity.

We were inspired by the strategically placed lounge chair right in front of the glass windows overlooking the waterfront. SO....we decided to secure a bottle of wine & watch the sun set from our room before dinner.

Out the door, exactly half a block, and we saw them making fresh cheese! Grabbed some cheese to go with our wine. Another half a block, we saw the smoked salmon shop. Yup, got some of that to go with. Then the wine shop, a nice local vintage. Then the deli, some crackers to go with all of the above.

"Home" to The Inn at the Market to watch the sun go down, the waterfront light up and come to life.....really, how many places can you do that???

So we loved the place! We enjoyed the fact that the sliders opened up (not so common) to the air and the city at night. The restaurant (The Pink Door ~ a different review!) was a short stroll down that interesting alleyway, and completed our amazing evening. Lots of great restaurant choices, though, all within walking distance.

The in-room coffee service the next morning was nice, coffee was excellent while I soaked in my tub...And Pike's Market is, literally, right across the street. We had breakfast there, then purchased fresh produce and flowers for the trip home.

Staff was helpful, professional.

What more do you want??? If it's a Seattle Experience that you are looking for then ~ this just might be the right choice for you!

We can't wait to return.....

Room Tip: Something with a view is definitely worth it!
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PassportEnvyTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marketcaptain, General Manager at Inn at the Market, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear Guest from the Islands:
Thank you for your kind words and brief summary of your visit here at the Inn at The Market, our location does put you in the heart of Pike Place Market. When you do plan on returning, feel free to contact me at dwatkins@innatthemarket.com and I will be happy to assist with arrangements.
Mahalo
David Watkins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

This was the perfect location for me and my two friends to be able to wander around Pike Place Market. The room we had was great because it was a corner room that had two big windows and we could see the large ferris wheel and Pike Place Market. There is a lovely courtyard and the view from the top floor/roof top is beautiful! The staff were wonderful as well and the rooms were clean and well kept! If I had one "bad" thing to say, it would be that it was a bit noisy from the street traffic/crowds - but we were also there the weekend of the Seattle/San Fran playoff game...probably a little more rowdy crowds than normal I would think.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KAMLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marketcaptain, General Manager at Inn at the Market, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear Guest:
Thank you for staying with us here in Pike Place Market, we are in the heart of the market with lots of activity, I do apologize for the discomfort. We are planning to upgrade our windows during our next phase of renovations, will make a few notes for the readers of Tripadvisor as details come in.
Best
David Watkins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

If you request a room with a view of the water it's kind of the only way to go.
The hotel is dubbed a fantastic boutique hotel, but its really the location that is the reason to stay and that's pretty much where it ends. The rooms are very basic and a lot of them need updating. I stayed here with my children and didn't want the hassle of changing hotels once we arrived, so it was just good enough that you didn't absolutely HAVE to leave. The cleanliness of the rooms, carpet, bathrooms, etc was barely over par. I thought maybe I just had a room that was run down so I requested to see others, they were all pretty much the same. We upgraded to the highest room available and it was nicer but then not really worth the money. For a few dollars more we eventually moved to the four seasons. Room service is extremely limited both on choices and on times when it's available and you need to call down WAY in advance of needing your car. They keep the hotel fairly understaffed and you can really feel it. The great news is you can walk to lots of fantastic things!! Great restaurants, good shopping & charming attractions. The hotel itself was more than a little underwhelming

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PleasantPalate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marketcaptain, General Manager at Inn at the Market, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear Guest:
I appreciate you taking a moment to share a few shortfalls and highlights of your visit here for the readers of Tripadvisor, I am sorry that you did leave with the concerns you pointed out which will be addressed in our renovation beginning latter in February. Please take a moment to contact me at dwatkins@innatthemarket.com when you might be returning to Seattle.
Best
David Watkins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

For many, many months travel companies have encouraged hotels to include all taxes, fees and charges when they disclose their nightly rate. Inn at the Market, in some ways delightfully retro, is still retro in refusing to offer this small accommodation. Thus, a room confirmation gives a base rate. You are not told whether it includes the additional $24 per day + in taxes or the $2 tourism assessment. It does not include them. You get to discover them the hard way: on the bill summary slid silently under your door on your last night.

Otherwise Inn at the Market is still a fine hotel. True, the phone message light continues to blink even though when you check you are told there are no messages. True also that the hair dryer will not work, no matter what buttons you push or in what combination. Is it the wall mounting? Hard to tell. No spells or incantations avail. And that reddish stain on the white lapel of the complimentary bathrobe that has resisted all the dry cleaner's arts - blood or drool? Either way, it is not appetizing.

"At the Market" means there is truck traffic, all night. It may be very loud. That's tough. Hotels today think a little free Wifi is the answer to everything. But it will not get you a good night's rest.

The room is spacious and clean. Bathroom likewise, with abundant soap, towels and so on. And the staff at the front desk is bright and very helpful. Too bad they did not tell you about the taxes.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice but you will pay to see the water.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Apodictic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marketcaptain, General Manager at Inn at the Market, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear Guest:
Thank you for taking a moment to share a few shortfalls and highlights of your visit to the Inn at The Market. I would like to reach out to you further, if you could please contact me at dwatkins@innatthemarket.com I would like to learn a more of your experience.
Best
David Watkins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#4 of 102 in Seattle
2,067 reviews
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 102 in Seattle
3,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Paramount Hotel
#5 of 102 in Seattle
1,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at the Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Market

Address: 86 Pine St., Seattle, WA 98101-1571
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Seattle
#1 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#1 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#9 Business Hotel in Seattle
#14 Green Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: $272 - $462 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn at the Market 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn at the Market is the only downtown Seattle hotel located directly in the famous Pike Place Market. Inn at the Market's ivy-covered courtyard is a tranquil hideaway, just steps away from the vibrant atmosphere of Pike Place Market and the Seattle waterfront. Inn at the Market offers Pacific Northwest style and comfort surrounded by downtown Seattle's most acclaimed restaurants and iconic landmarks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn at the Market reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Market Hotel Seattle
Hotel At The Market
At The Market Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing